We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ngapali Bay Villas & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$380
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$368
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Laguna Lodge(Ngapali)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (416)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveller rating
346
56
10
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
346
56
10
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolfrench managerred flaglocal restaurantsgeneral manageroverlooking the beachwhole teamthe hotel's restaurantfellow guestsaye ayeareas for improvementrestaurant menudressing areasun loungersindividual villasnoisy at nightlunch and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 416 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This was a welcome and well needed relaxing end to our Myanmar holiday! We spent 3 weeks on a fascinating and well organised tour around Myanmar in Nov 2013 with Dragon travel ( who I would definitely recommend for value and personalised service, and will use them again when I next travel in Asia). This was the best accommodation and beach resort I have ever stayed at ( and I have travelled extensively )! It was peaceful, beautiful, natural, and very comfortable. Also the staff were fantastic and the food really good (which wasn't the case in Myanmar in general). The location is unique, in that there are enough amenities without many tourists there at all, nor did you get pestered. The sea was clean, warm, calm and had no seaweed, whilst the sand was pristine. I was pleased the hotel was so small and there were no children there whatsoever! Thanks for an amazing 3 days1

Room Tip: villa 2 was magnificent, good location and view, very private!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ynp-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This is a boutique property perfectly situated in the middle of Nagapali beach. The hotel is only 3 years old. The resort is beautiful and private. The beach is clean and the sand is fine. It is a perfect beach for swimming with a gentle grade into the clear turquoise water. The surf is not overpowering and there are no strong currents or undertow. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. There are some shortcomings. The pool is not even close to the beach so there is absolutely no view from the pool except into the surrounding villas. There is no pool attendant to remove service items or used towels so the clutter just sits all day. The same is true of service items in the covered sitting areas in front of some of the villas. Villas with individual plunge pools have absolutely no privacy. The plunge pools are right in front of the villa and the common pathways to the villas are right next to the plunge pools. Also, these rooms do not have a view of the ocean from the room or the plunge pool. The spa is currently under renovation. The food in the restaurant is excellent; however, the meal service is utter chaos which I attribute to a staff that is not adequately trained. The staff are welcoming and service oriented but are language challenged. The hotel recently changed management and it seems that they are inept at running this hotel. The hotel has all the pieces to make it an outstanding boutique experience but at this time the pieces do not all come together. Regardless, I think that you will enjoy your stay here. Also, this is not a hotel for families or children.

Room Tip: Select a villa with a beach front location.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luxetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We ended our 12-day Myanmar vacation with 4 nights at Ngapali Bay Villas. After the sightseeing and hopping around Yangon, Bagan and Inle Lake, it was nice to end our trip doing nothing except sitting on the beach and listening to/swimming in the ocean. The sand is powdery soft, and the beach in front of the hotel has no rocks and in our opinion is the best of all the hotels at Ngapali Bay. You can body surf in the waves, or wade/swim out beyond the breakers and enjoy floating in the calm clean water, and then return to your dedicated beach loungers and palm umbrella to dry off, read and people watch before doing it again.

The hotel was very well managed by Marcel, Eddie and Aye Aye, all of whom were responsive and personable. The benefit of staying at this smaller resort (32 rooms/villas?) vs the larger competitors was the personalized service and daily interactions, especially Marcel the Guest Relations mgr who would stop by our breakfast table each day to chat, check how things were, etc.

Our room was perfect, with beautiful teak woodwork throughout, and a very modern feel (the resort is only 2 years old); brass sinks, big windows with a view of the beach, a nice old fashioned tub which we never used, and good bedside reading lights which were a pleasure after all the dark poorly-lit rooms in our previous Myanmar hotels. The bathroom layout was a little funky, a little too "open" for my wife's taste, but airy with plenty of towels for showers and beach. We particuarly enjoyed the covered outside seating area, where we enjoyed morning coffee and evening cocktails, which had a great ocean view but still felt very private thanks to the design and surrouding plants.

The grounds were well kept and bright, with spaced palm trees rather than the shaded, darker feel of adjacent resorts with dense frangipannier trees. The pool felt a little bit enclosed, but to be honest, we didn't use it once since the beach was so nice. The dining room was also open and airy with more teak woodwork, and the breakfast was fine with good choices and quick turn-around on the inclusive a la carte items. The lunch and dinner choices were limited and expensive in our view, but we did have a great burger our first day; otherwise, we enjoyed walking north or south along the beach to either neighboring resorts with better food options, or small local restaurants on the beach or across the street within walking distance.

This small quiet town and relatively small beach with soft sand and beautiful views, combined with the boutique feel of Ngapali Bay Villas, makes us feel like this is one of the best small beach resorts in Southeast Asia. Get there while it's still off the beaten path!

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 8, which we thought was one of the best located rooms; good beach view, but still a relatively private feel. Like others, we don't think the plunge pools are necessary, and preferred our room with the covered seating area just outside.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HurdyGurdeyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We spent the last couple of days of our trip at Ngapali Bay Villas and Spa and absolutely loved it! They collected us from the airport in their 'Ferrari'. The hotel is located in the middle of the main beach, making it an ideal location to explore (and have lunch and dinner) at one of the places north and south on the beach.

We stayed in room 7, a room with plunge pool. These aren't directly next to the beach (next line), but all rooms have windows that look out over the water. Even from the shower. We loved the little pool that came with our room; we'd lounge at the beach, swim in the Bay of Bengalen, and rinse of in our own pool. The room (as well as all the other ares) are well maintained, clean and beautifully decorated. Apparently the owners made their money in teak, so there's teak furniture everywhere. Including the sun lounger, but there is staff on hand to help you move those. BTW, it seemed Ngapali Bay is the only hotel on the strip with thick and comfy 'mattresses' on their sun loungers. Wifi is flakey, as it is everywhere else in Myanmar.

We ate at the hotel a few times, and it was DELICIOUS. The tartare was very delicate and tasty, the club sandwich really good, and they serve good bread too. The chef even made me a dish that wasn't on the menu without any problems. Breakfast has plenty of options. There are other places to eat on the beach as well as the road and we tried a load of them. So plenty of options.

There isn't much else to do, except read, swim and eat. We made a snorkelling trip, which was fine but don't expect spectacular corals or fish, the boat trip was the best part of the trip. During our stay, they were expanding the spa. So all ingredients to enjoy a very relaxing and carefree stay are there. A perfect end to a great trip through Myanmar.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 7. It's a bit further away from the spa and restaurant so no noise and less traffic from other guests. It's second in line from the beach, so good views, but not as nice as the first row. They have a shaded seating area to enjoy sunset and an early morning coffee or tea. However, the second line has a plunge pool which was really refreshing.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

As a traveler in Myanmar you can only get so many curries and than you want to go back to the kind of food we foodies truly enjoy, Nice Cheese Plates, Good Carpaccios, Smoked Meats done on site by Chef Chris, this Australian young man has a long carrier in the culinary scene of Yangon being the Executive chef at Strand Hotel, he has brought Gourmet Cuisine to Ngapali, there are only two places truly offering gourmet cuisine Ngapali Bay Hotel and its Neighbor the Italian place. Why eat Italian Food or Cheese in Ngapali? Because I simply love it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GunterO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews