We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ngapali Bay Villas & Spa
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Ngapali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed here after a two week cycling trip round Myanmar where we stayed in some pretty basic hotels. To come to this resort was such a treat. From the moment you arrive at the airport everything is taken care of - seamless baggage pickup and transfer to the resort. Our room was stunning with a beautiful sea view. You have your own designated sunbeds and umbrella on a clean, quiet beach with no hawkers, just the odd friendly fruit seller. The food in the restaurant is great although pricey. We did try some of the local beach bars and restaurants but to be honest none matched the hotel. Having drinks at sunset on the deck was a real treat. Fantastic choice at breakfast which again can be taken on the deck. A minor quibble was that sometimes the breakfast service was a little erratic - they could do with a front of house manager at breakfast to ensure consistency of food quality and service. The staff are wonderful and anxious to please but some have little English and occasionally can't work out what's required. We thought this place was a little slice of paradise and was the perfect end to our visit to Myanmar.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

Great rooms, level of good is good for Myanmar. Apart from a rather blunt Guest Relationship manager who could use a little bit more of tact when facing guests that are tired with their travel and expecting a double bed as opposed to two singles!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelscud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Beautifully kept grounds and high standards of accomodation on a lovely beach. Large villas, kept spotlessly clean with the quietest air conditioning I've come across, you can actually hear the waves on the beach. The TV has a good range of channels. Mini bar and fridge. A massive 'picture window' that looks out over the grass down to the sea. The turn-down service timing is a bit irratic, time-wise, but the army of cleaners will return later if requested and they leave you a nightly treat. Each room has dedicated sun beds, a great idea. Breakfast is fine, staff will take your order for tea/coffe, fruit juice and the main cooked course, from their menu. Other normal breakfast items cereals, breads, ham, cheese, Myanmar type breakfasts, etc. are inside for you to help-yourself to. We were offered a complimentary dinner on the first night which was a nice touch. The restaurant menu runs from lunch to the end of evening service and we found the choice a bit limited for our taste. There are a mass of local restaurants along the road outside the hotel and to the right. The Two Brothers was recommended by T.A. and Lonely Planet, this proved to be 'spot on', great food, good menu (try prawns in tempura batter) and a lady who spook good English. It is very popular and we had to wait until a table became available, worth waiting though. One thing we did find unsual in the hotel was that there was no information book in the room,for example, there was a Spa but nothing about what they offered, their dirty towel policy, assembly point in case of an emergeny, money changing (which the hotel doesn't do) and many other things that are normally included in hotel's information book. We had a very relaxing eight days there and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is a place unlike others in Ngapali. It's luxury and private, friendly and serene.
Food is amazing. Chef Chris is the soul of this place, who's creativeness, friendliness and passion makes this place so unique. Surrounding of the hotel are beautiful and the whole atmosphere feels very relaxing.

Room Tip: Go for suite, it's worth the money with amazing teak wood bath and room filled with antiques!
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vavavoom007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This was a welcome and well needed relaxing end to our Myanmar holiday! We spent 3 weeks on a fascinating and well organised tour around Myanmar in Nov 2013 with Dragon travel ( who I would definitely recommend for value and personalised service, and will use them again when I next travel in Asia). This was the best accommodation and beach resort I have ever stayed at ( and I have travelled extensively )! It was peaceful, beautiful, natural, and very comfortable. Also the staff were fantastic and the food really good (which wasn't the case in Myanmar in general). The location is unique, in that there are enough amenities without many tourists there at all, nor did you get pestered. The sea was clean, warm, calm and had no seaweed, whilst the sand was pristine. I was pleased the hotel was so small and there were no children there whatsoever! Thanks for an amazing 3 days1

Room Tip: villa 2 was magnificent, good location and view, very private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ynp-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This is a boutique property perfectly situated in the middle of Nagapali beach. The hotel is only 3 years old. The resort is beautiful and private. The beach is clean and the sand is fine. It is a perfect beach for swimming with a gentle grade into the clear turquoise water. The surf is not overpowering and there are no strong currents or undertow. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. There are some shortcomings. The pool is not even close to the beach so there is absolutely no view from the pool except into the surrounding villas. There is no pool attendant to remove service items or used towels so the clutter just sits all day. The same is true of service items in the covered sitting areas in front of some of the villas. Villas with individual plunge pools have absolutely no privacy. The plunge pools are right in front of the villa and the common pathways to the villas are right next to the plunge pools. Also, these rooms do not have a view of the ocean from the room or the plunge pool. The spa is currently under renovation. The food in the restaurant is excellent; however, the meal service is utter chaos which I attribute to a staff that is not adequately trained. The staff are welcoming and service oriented but are language challenged. The hotel recently changed management and it seems that they are inept at running this hotel. The hotel has all the pieces to make it an outstanding boutique experience but at this time the pieces do not all come together. Regardless, I think that you will enjoy your stay here. Also, this is not a hotel for families or children.

Room Tip: Select a villa with a beach front location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luxetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We ended our 12-day Myanmar vacation with 4 nights at Ngapali Bay Villas. After the sightseeing and hopping around Yangon, Bagan and Inle Lake, it was nice to end our trip doing nothing except sitting on the beach and listening to/swimming in the ocean. The sand is powdery soft, and the beach in front of the hotel has no rocks and in our opinion is the best of all the hotels at Ngapali Bay. You can body surf in the waves, or wade/swim out beyond the breakers and enjoy floating in the calm clean water, and then return to your dedicated beach loungers and palm umbrella to dry off, read and people watch before doing it again.

The hotel was very well managed by Marcel, Eddie and Aye Aye, all of whom were responsive and personable. The benefit of staying at this smaller resort (32 rooms/villas?) vs the larger competitors was the personalized service and daily interactions, especially Marcel the Guest Relations mgr who would stop by our breakfast table each day to chat, check how things were, etc.

Our room was perfect, with beautiful teak woodwork throughout, and a very modern feel (the resort is only 2 years old); brass sinks, big windows with a view of the beach, a nice old fashioned tub which we never used, and good bedside reading lights which were a pleasure after all the dark poorly-lit rooms in our previous Myanmar hotels. The bathroom layout was a little funky, a little too "open" for my wife's taste, but airy with plenty of towels for showers and beach. We particuarly enjoyed the covered outside seating area, where we enjoyed morning coffee and evening cocktails, which had a great ocean view but still felt very private thanks to the design and surrouding plants.

The grounds were well kept and bright, with spaced palm trees rather than the shaded, darker feel of adjacent resorts with dense frangipannier trees. The pool felt a little bit enclosed, but to be honest, we didn't use it once since the beach was so nice. The dining room was also open and airy with more teak woodwork, and the breakfast was fine with good choices and quick turn-around on the inclusive a la carte items. The lunch and dinner choices were limited and expensive in our view, but we did have a great burger our first day; otherwise, we enjoyed walking north or south along the beach to either neighboring resorts with better food options, or small local restaurants on the beach or across the street within walking distance.

This small quiet town and relatively small beach with soft sand and beautiful views, combined with the boutique feel of Ngapali Bay Villas, makes us feel like this is one of the best small beach resorts in Southeast Asia. Get there while it's still off the beaten path!

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 8, which we thought was one of the best located rooms; good beach view, but still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HurdyGurdeyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ngapali hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandoway Resort
Sandoway Resort
#4 of 19 in Ngapali
506 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Ngapali Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Aureum Palace Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bayview - The Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Yoma Cherry Lodge
Yoma Cherry Lodge
#3 of 19 in Ngapali
241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jade Marina Resort Hotel
Jade Marina Resort Hotel
#12 of 19 in Ngapali
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngapali Bay Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngapali Bay Villas & Spa

Address: Mya Pyin Village | Thandwe, Ngapali 043, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Ngapali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Ngapali
Price Range: £142 - £467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ngapali Bay Villas & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngapali Bay Villas & Spa, located at Myanmar's premier beach destination on Ngapali Beach. With 32 individually fitted beachfront villas with plunge pool's, all boasting views of the pristine waters of the Bay of Bengal. Ngapali Bay Villas & Spa is not just any hotel or resort. With an emphasis on individuality, we cater to those looking for an exclusive and unique experience - one that cannot be found anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ngapali Bay Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing