We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I still dream of their Crab Curry”

Htay Htay's Kitchen
Ranked #19 of 69 Restaurants in Ngapali
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Burmese
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“I still dream of their Crab Curry”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at Bayview resort and when you turn left as you exit, you will find a lot of restaurants so its hard to make a choice. The menu items are pretty simliar from one restaurant to another (fish curry, chicken curry, tea salad, etc etc). The difference is the quality and taste and this restaurant did not disappoint. Everything that we ordered were good and it was consistent, we went to this place 3x. We love the fish and especially the crab curry. The crab curry we didnt find in other restaurants and this dish was my favorite in all the dishes I had in Ngapali beach. We also ordered the coconut rice so yummy. It was a bit chilly that evening and I was feeling it and maybe even looking it while we were having dinner. Out of the blue the owner approached our table took off her shawl and put it around me. We ordered our lunch here to go and they failed to include the coconut rice in the bag which we realized when we got back in the resort. Out of nowhere, someone from the restaurant came running to our beach bed with our coconut rice. That's just the kind of service you will get from this establishment. Good food but even better service that comes with a low price tag. Who says good things dont come cheap!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexisRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    33
    11
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very sociable”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The restaurant did not look promising, but we took a chance-given the good reviews on tripadvisor. The service was good and friendly and the fish was delicious. It was fun to be in a restaurant that had mostly local people as patrons along with a few foreigners. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tuncockroach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngapali, Myanmar
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Free Wi-Fi good connection”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

the owner is helpful, friendly and very sufficient. Nice atmosphere, service is absolutely perfect. The crab and squids were superb. Once we took lobster and it was a dream! You can try any variants they cook seafood and you will not be dissapointed

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sdfewfgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nice, friendly place”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Friendly restaurant, with nice ambience and decent food. Ordered tempura squid and my family had Tom Yam and pork noodle soup. The Thai soup with seafood and the tempura squid were quite good, however, the noodle soup had mixed reviews with the broth being tasty but noodles being weird?!. Next to the restaurant was a small convenience store that sells packaged snacks, alcohol and souvenirs In addition, free wifi is available at the restaurant. Enjoyable experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AwesomeSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Friendly Service”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Some of the best dinners we had in Ngapali Beach were at Htay Htay's Kitchen. Everything we ordered was delicious and the staff was fun and friendly. We tended to go later in the evenings when it wasn't so busy. There's a lot of seafood restaurants serving similar food in Ngapali, but I thought Htay Htay's flavours stood out from the rest. The Avocado Salad with Black Sesame Seeds and the Stuffed Crab were especially good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LGW_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Htay Htay's Kitchen also viewed

Ngapali, Rakhine State
Ngapali, Rakhine State
 

Been to Htay Htay's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing