We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place in Myanmar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yoma Cherry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yoma Cherry Lodge
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Ngapali
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best place in Myanmar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed for three nights in january and it was absolutely marvelous. It is such a beautiful hotel with a lovely garden. IT is also nice to see the local fishermen on the beach. The staff is so nice and Sue the manager is extremely friendly and helpful. One afternoon we visited the school she had started and it was impressing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne-Marie302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    24
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
120
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

At the end of a fascinating and strenuous 8 week trip in SE Asia, we stayed for 4 nights at the Yoma Cherry Lodge. It was the only way that I would have appreciated saying goodbye to Asia. Yes, the hotel shares the beach with the fishermen and their families. Yes there is an odor of drying fish. If you don't want that, there are other beaches that do not have this local flavor and tons of beautiful hotels.

Every evening the men gather on the beach before climbing onto boats to go out fishing for the night. The women collect the fish that have dried from the night before. Every morning, sometimes just before dawn, they return to meet women who have been waiting by small fires, trying to keep warm, for the fish to arrive and spread them out of blue tarps for the day.

There is shouting. There is laughter. There are children running around.

We stayed in a garden room the first night, number 4 or 5 closest to reception on the first floor, which was luxuriously large. It was quiet there and the internet was good.

The next night we moved to 3 which was one of 3 rooms on that opened up onto the beach. I have a feeling that these 3 rooms were the original lodge. They seemed a bit more used than the garden room we had before. It was smaller. There was no wireless signal. And there was the sounds of the sea and the village and the restaurant.

So you can have your pick of being in the center of things or being in the beautiful garden.

The staff, as in our entire trip in Asia, were charming, young and very accommodating. Mimi, the housekeeping supervisor gives a wonderful massage in the garden.

For me, this place was perfect.

Oh and PS. The school! The day I went to be with the kids, they had no electricity (there is a government roads project that somehow left the hotel generator which was not available because the hotel needed it) and the classes were canceled. This was the second hotel on our trip that we stayed in that was associated with a school and I believe it is always a good choice.

Room Tip: see above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LovetheWorld12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

My familly and I spent 5 wonderful days at Yoma Cherry and loved every minute - even our 16 year olds found it was really something very special - the beach and the fishing village are still very much authentic Myanmar - delightful. The staff are smiley, kind and very attentive and the hotel itself is luxurious in an understated way ... traditional buildings and spacious rooms and the garden - WOW! We are lucky to visit the English school next door and were even able to spend some time in the classroom .. a great experience and saw the homes of some of the students which was a real eye opener. we are even planning our return visit ... Comme on dit .. le cadre de toute beauté!! Thank you Sue and all othe staff for making our stay so comfortable - we will be back!

Room Tip: Room No. 13 on the beach front was fabulous .. but be ready for an early wake up call from the fishe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RovereC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Such lovely accommodation and a great beachfront location. The attention to detail is great and the staff are all well trained (not always the case in Myanmar). The team was very accommodating. Very smiley!

A couple of points to be wary of:
1) the adjacent beach is where all the fishing boats launch and return from. Nice to watch over a beer in the early evening but very noisy at 5am when they return (for 2 hours)
2) Cash only - I wasn't told this when I arrived and the only ATM is a $15 cab ride away.....
3) Very limited options for day trips etc. Great for couples, less so solo travellers (me)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isabel_l0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Yoma Cherry Lodge is the bomb! Best value possible.

Small. Family feel. Beautiful garden. Nice rooms. Great view on the sea. Breakfast, lunch, dinner all on the beautiful terrace at the beach.

Sue and her husband run this place. And in the meantime they run a school for kids of the village. You can sponsor a kid for almost nothing! Please visit the school and see what can be done to give a better future.

The bay is smaller then the adjacent bay. And therefore more relaxed. Less tourist. Fishermen and their boats. We liked it better than the two nights on the larger beach.

Room Tip: There are only 3 sea view rooms. Although the other rooms have view on a beautiful garden. Avoid the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

I struggled with how to review Yoma Cherry as our first night involved a broken shower and a blocked toilet. The toilet was promptly fixed and my husband managed to sort out the shower. But I still went to bed grumpy.

However, the setting is glorious. It's easily the loveliest hotel garden I've ever seen. And the beach...well, it's utterly perfect. The rooms are a good size and are serviced twice a day. The bathroom was dated but very clean (we stayed in the block closest to the beach).

The staff are really great. It was sad to say good-bye. And seeing the fishermen come and go and watching the fish being dried on the beach were highlights. It's good that holiday-makers haven't interfered with local life.

I definitely recommend a visit to the school across the road.

Finally, thanks to the English woman who recommended Ngapali Palace - the seafood shack closest to Yoma Cherry on the beach. It served easily the best seafood I've ever eaten.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
293 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Lovely big extremely clean rooms in a perfect setting. We had a garden room, set back from the beach and the view was still awesome. We could see the sea and the beautiful gardens from our spacious balcony. We ate here twice and the food was good. The staff are just lovely, very, very helpful.
The owner has set up a school behind the hotel and is educating local children. It's good to know that whilst staying in a beautiful place your money is also helping the local village.
The beach is a working beach so you can see the fisherman working their trade as it has been done for years.
Do try the 3 little restaurant shacks next door on the beach as are all good but we preferred the nearest one (I think it's called the Npali Palace), all have wonderful seafood.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jacky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ngapali hotels
0.6 mi away
Bayview - The Beach Resort
2.8 mi away
Hilton Ngapali Resort & Spa
4.7 mi away
Merciel Retreat & Resort, Ngapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sandoway Resort
Sandoway Resort
#4 of 17 in Ngapali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pleasant View Resort
Pleasant View Resort
#8 of 17 in Ngapali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Silver Beach Hotel
Silver Beach Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ngapali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yoma Cherry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yoma Cherry Lodge

Property: Yoma Cherry Lodge
Address: Lintha Village | Ngapali Beach, Ngapali, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Ngapali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Ngapali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Yoma Cherry Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yoma Cherry Lodge is a small boutique hotel with 15 bedrooms. Set in a beautiful garden amidst palm trees, on Kiplings Bay, Ngapali, the hotel is situated on a a beautiful beach. Each morning, guests can watch the fishing boats come in with their catch of the day, and in the evening you can watch the boats sailing out to sea, whilst sipping a cocktail and watching the sunset. The beach is very quiet and there is only one other hotel located on the beach. The sea is crystal clear and wonderful to swim or snorkel. The hotel has a restaurant overlooking the beach where you can eat fresh seafood, local Myanmar food or it also has some western dishes. Our massage pavilion is a great place to totally relax. Our staff are friendly and efficient and the whole Yoma Cherry team wish you a wonderful holiday here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Yoma Cherry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing