We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at the Yoma Cherry Lodge was the highlight of our two-week trip in Myanmar”
Review of Yoma Cherry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yoma Cherry Lodge
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Ngapali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Staying at the Yoma Cherry Lodge was the highlight of our two-week trip in Myanmar.

The sympathy of the personnel, from the night receptionist (the boy who plays the piano), the girls at breakfast – at 7:00 am they had a smile so so big, the house keeping girls, the bar tending boys, the masseuse! Everyone of them took really good care of us.
The staff is professional and very well prepared.
The breakfast is SUBERB!!!!!
The food at the restaurant is very good and not too expensive. There is a nice place (very basic) at the beach were you can have really yummie tiger prawns for 1 usd/each, but the fish at the Lodge and the tomato salad were much better!
There is no luxury at the Yoma, the rooms are simple but well decorated. There is no TV but who need a TV in a place like this?????
The garden is small but very well taken care of.
The beach is like paradise. Clear water, warm but not too much, white sand, a little breeze…. The fisherman departing and arriving with their colorful boats, wonderful for nice photos, ladies making and selling bracelets.
There are a lot of nice restaurants in a short walking distance, or if you prefer, in 5 minutes by car from the Lodge. “Paradise” and “Excellent” were the most appreciated. You can ask at the Lodge’s reception for a transfer service to and from the restaurants.
Overall this is fabulous small Lodge (around 15 rooms) and it was the first time were I experienced the fact of everybody speaking to one another. At our last evening we even went to an “international” dinner with the other guests and the amazing owner of this wonderful Lodge, Miss Sue. Very very confortable when you are so far from home.
I’ll explain why I found Miss Sue an amazing woman: she supports a very touching project in the village were the Lodge is located. She built a free English school for children, because she believes that knowing the English language will be the only way out in the future for these kids. Their parents are fisherman, they fish and dry the fish on the sand at the beach. With new resorts being build, there will be no place for this activity in a short term. So the only future is tourism. In the school the children also learn the basic principles of hygiene, for example washing their teeth. They have a health program at school, providing the children with vitamins and medicine. Also you can sponsor a child to go to the regular school for a small amount of money (for our standards). Sue has a very active role in the village, she already built a library, some wc’s, and she tries to prevent school dropout by explaining these arguments to the parents, who see their children as an extra hand. She is a really wonderful person with a heart of gold!

We hope to return in 2015!!!

Room Tip: The rooms near the reception are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Xanoca63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

Yoma Cherry Lodge is located in the next bay north of Ngapali Bay where most hotels are. So if you look for tended touristic beachlife with all its hustle-bustle, guest animation and one sunbed next to the other, you better go south and stay with the growing crowds. All hotels on the main beach face the main street.
Yoma Cherry, however, is off the main street and not exposed to traffic noise at all. The coconut tree-lined paradise beach is natural, not touristically exploited, and all the bay is almost exclusive to the privileged guests of the lodge. Its neighbors are local fishermen: in the late afternoon, they leave for fishing and in the morning, interesting local life can be observed and fish is being dried on a small part of the beach. We found that this added to our travel experience in this wonderful country and it did not molest us in the least. In fact, we truly hope that the local population and their way of life will not be expelled from their village and beach by the developing touristic infrastructure around.
The hotel itself comprises a huge and well-tended garden, a good restaurant including excellent breakfast, rooms of enormous size with equally enormous, comfortably furnished terraces. We had a garden view room overlooking the palmtrees in the garden and would definitely recommend this to all those who prefer having a private terrace to having direct beach view. Beach view rooms, however, have their sunbeds directly in front of the room.
Directly behind the hotel is the village´s school with possibiliy for guests to visit during class. It is a good idea to bring school material, ballpens etc. along for the children.
Transportation to the restaurants at the beach to the south is easy: 1 minute walking to the main street where pickups pass by frequently.
Hotel staff is truly attentive and friendly. Top score and a warm recommendation for those who prefer to stay off the beaten track.

Room Tip: garden view room (1st floor) in the backside building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trotamundo-Silke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

2013 - Now is the time to go. Concrete is going up all along this coast. See it now before it becomes just another holiday destination. My wife and I (we are early fifties) had crammed in a packed week of sightseeing and travel in Yangon, Mandalay and Bagan before flying down to Ngapali Beach. This was to be our week of rest. We were picked up from the airport in a WWII US Army Power-wagon which for me was an absolute treat to start! Top speed was about 20mph - who needs more when the sun is shining (October). We pottered through the shacks of the fishing villages to the hotel which is nicely presented.
It lies right on the beach - the only hotel in this particular bay. We had a beach room which opens on to the main dining deck. We had a sea view, but everyone else had a view of us. It didn't give us a problem. There are shutters and curtains! The rooms are comfortable but don't expect a tv or complimentary soaps etc. If you need tv - what are you doing here? If you need soap - buy it in the village and spread your cash around (These are poor people. Their living is fishing for which the boat owners pay them a wage. Generally, they cannot fish for 5 months of the year due to the sea conditions. This means no money. A bowl of rice a day if you are lucky - like I say - spread your wealth.)
The Manageress Sue is extremely helpful and the staff were great with a ready smile. A local boatman can do snorkelling trips.
The hotel menu is limited and unchanging - again, get out to the restaurants 15 minutes walk up the road.
There is some noise when the fishing boats leave or arrive on the beach but it adds to the colour and interest during the day - although it might disturb your sleep at night occasionally. For us, it was great to watch.
This is not 5star hospitality or accomodation - but to us it was an absolute paradise.
One last note - Sue is very involved in the school next door that attempts to give the local children a chance. Bear it in mind. You could help it along a little.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank JohnBurma2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed at Yoma Cherry Lodge in October 2013 and it was a home away from home - attention to detail with beautiful rooms, great breakfasts and lovely beachside vista! The staff were very very willing to accommodate your every wish, very attentive and well trained. We loved our time here and would highly recommend it!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank SummerHillKimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This was a beautiful beach boutique hotel situated on the lovely beach at Lintha Village but with guesthouse prices! The beach is a small crescent-shaped bay backed with palms. It's really attractive because it's a real working fishing village - fishermen go out to catch squid every night of the week. When they return they dry the fish on the beach and this does smell but it adds to the authenticity rather than being unpleasant.

The hotel itself is calm, clean and well designed. The landscaping is so beautiful that you feel like you're in a five-star hotel. The prices are not yet 5-star prices though. The rooms are huge and the staff clean the rooms twice a day.

The restaurant was excellent. Great breakfasts. We also tried the food on the beach and it was also excellent, especially the "red-roofed place". We also organized a snorkelling and lunch trip through this restaurant owner. I also had a good massage for $15 for an hour!

Perhaps the best part of all is the staff. They are so kind, helpful and generous with their help and with their smiles that they really make your holiday.

It was also good to feel part of the Andrew Clark Trust project (as mentioned in other reviews). All the proceeds from the hotel go to support the local school.

We are already planning to return on our way to Australia next year. It makes for a wonderful stopover spot just 2.5 hours from Singapore.

Room Tip: We started with a garden room which was very nice (not noisy) but with no view. We then moved to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoma_Cherry_Lodge, Manager at Yoma Cherry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Sue C,

I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay here, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Just for the record though, I am the manager of the hotel as well as being a Trustee of the charity, and work as a volunteer. The charity is funded by sponsors and donors. Hope this helps clarify the situation.

Thank you for your very kind comments. I and the Yoma Cherry Lodge team strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

A great little place away from other hotels. Would go back in a heartbeat!
Only drawback, if at all, is that its away from the center with all the restaurants.
Perfect beach in a small bay. Fishermen village is a must see.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

At first sight this lodge comes forward as any other nice resort in South East Asia: it is stunningly situated directly to the beach and with a beautiful lush garden, the rooms are clean, the staff are very, very friendly, the food is yummy etc. etc.
But what makes this place different, is the way the manager British Sue and her husband are involved in the local village Lintha in which Yoma Cherry Lodge is situated. We didn’t know anything about that, when we arrived, but during the stay we learned, that they have founded the Andrew Clark Trust, which runs an English afternoon school for the local children. The school is right behind the lodge, and we were welcome to drop in and witness the teaching anytime.
As we showed interest, Sue asked if we wanted to be shown around in the village by some of the local children. We, and especially our children aged 10 – 13 were delighted, when 4 super cool kids showed us around in the narrow gravel roads amongst the palm leaf huts. Their English was brilliant, and they introduced us to so many people and places we could never have approached on our own. We visited the local library, we were invited in to a wedding that was celebrated over 2 days, we visited the coconut workstation, we saw their local school, the local pagoda, and we visited their teacher, who also ran a chicken farm. A lot of people in the village rely on fishing. They fish at night and dry the fish on the beach during the day, which occasionally spreads a vague smell of fish. Everyday we could enjoy the sight of traditionally dressed women working on the beach just next door. The whole place seemed very authentic (the majority of the (still few) tourists stay at resorts in the bay further down the coast).
During our 7 days stay we kept seeing these children plus several others. This place and its people touched us all deeply. Will we come back? I hope so, and in that case we will bring all the English books and clothes we can find, and what else we can think of. They seem happy as they are, but no doubt, they are very poor. The last photos I shot, when we were driven back to the nearby airport, were of the workers cutting stone by hand to make a proper paved road to the airport. I think things will change fast – so hurry up if you want an unforgettable experience (at a very favorable price btw).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ngapali hotels
0.6 mi away
Bayview - The Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Hilton Ngapali Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Sandoway Resort
Sandoway Resort
#4 of 22 in Ngapali
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jade Marina Resort & Spa
Jade Marina Resort & Spa
#14 of 22 in Ngapali
156 reviews
2.9 mi away
Merciel Retreat & Resort, Ngapali
0.5 mi away
Silver Beach Hotel
Silver Beach Hotel
#17 of 22 in Ngapali
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yoma Cherry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yoma Cherry Lodge

Address: Lintha Village | Ngapali Beach, Ngapali, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Ngapali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Ngapali
Price Range: £63 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Yoma Cherry Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yoma Cherry Lodge is a small boutique hotel with 15 bedrooms. Set in a beautiful garden amidst palm trees, on Kiplings Bay, Ngapali, the hotel is situated on a a beautiful beach. Each morning, guests can watch the fishing boats come in with their catch of the day, and in the evening you can watch the boats sailing out to sea, whilst sipping a cocktail and watching the sunset. The beach is very quiet and there is only one other hotel located on the beach. The sea is crystal clear and wonderful to swim or snorkel. The hotel has a restaurant overlooking the beach where you can eat fresh seafood, local Myanmar food or it also has some western dishes. Our massage pavilion is a great place to totally relax. Our staff are friendly and efficient and the whole Yoma Cherry team wish you a wonderful holiday here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Yoma Cherry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing