We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the Best Food in Ngapali”

Best Friend Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 69 Restaurants in Ngapali
Cuisines: Burmese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Some of the Best Food in Ngapali”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Of the 9 major meals we had in Ngapali, Best Friend was the only one that we went back twice.
The food was really good, standing out was the Crab Masala, Prawn Salad (Rahine Style), Oyster Omelette, Grilled Eggplant and the Grilled Lobster.
We went during the Myanmar New Year so it was a good vantage point to see the celebrations going on too.
Service was OK compared to everyone else.
We had 5 dishes that cost us 19USD.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoeLwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    25
    9
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
556 reviews
310 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Nice local restaurant”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

We had the grilled squid and fish in sweet and sour and both. Dishes were well presented and tasty. Made a change from the resort food and the staff are very friendly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martynsnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice food but miserable staff”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We ate here twice, on both occasions the food was nice enough and the service was ok; unfortunately when ordering a dish and a side (if its anything other than boiled rice) it simply doesn't arrive anywhere near together, leaving a least one dish to cool. The staff smiled as they enticed you across the road and that is where it ended - utterly miserable; when we asked questions we were simply ignored....

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ali-Ludwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great seafood and atmosperhic ambience”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had a wonderful meal here, the food was great and the portions generous. We went back here more than once as we liked it so much.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taylor101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Awesome local restaurant”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I had been to Ngapali 11 times . For the first 4 times , I went to different restaurant for different visit. After the 5th time, when I found this restaurant , whenever I liked to try local food , I just went to this restaurant . The price is So cheap.Big Lobster ( weight around 600 gm ) , just 20 US $ in this year . The taste is so good . But please keep in mind that if you could not stand the spicy food , please tell them in advance . Awesome

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Naingaung9591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Best Friend Restaurant also viewed

Ngapali, Rakhine State
Ngapali, Rakhine State
 
Ngapali, Rakhine State
Ngapali, Rakhine State
 

Been to Best Friend Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing