We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a bit disappointed”
Review of Sandoway Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandoway Resort
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Ngapali
Certificate of Excellence
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a bit disappointed”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My husband and I had stayed at Ngapali Beach in the past and had a wonderful experience. We had heard that the Sandoway Resort was very nice and decided to try it for a three day holiday. Located on the Bay of Bengal; the beach is flawless. However, our room was located at the back of the resort, directly in front of the road which was under construction. We were unable to see the water from our room. My biggest disappointment was the assignment of beach chairs. Each room/villa is assigned a specific place on the beach, our chairs were in the second row, so instead of a pristine view of the beach we had a view of other guests viewing the pristine beach. The restaurant food was mediocre. The local staff was generally very helpful and friendly. Book early in the day if you would like a beach side table for dinner in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Book a Villa Sea View room and you will get a prime sunbathing spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burmagirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    118
    32
    17
    3
See reviews for
55
320
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We booked a Villa Sea view for 5 days : it was so beautiful, comfortable and very clean
The service is high quality and the restaurant is perfect : necessary to book the table mainly for dinner..... In front of the beach
The staff is very kind, discreet and very efficient

Room Tip: The Villa sea view was the paradise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeveaSipoVillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Sandoway resort is great but they need to install wifi in the rooms and a proper minbar. The beach is quiet and pristine and it's good they allocated a beach-umbrella to each room.
Nice restaurant too.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 99Trip-tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Very nice resort with excellent service. It was open in 1999 so 15years have passes by. I think it is time to invest a bit in renovating the facility and adding a tv in all the rooms or a proper minibar. In addition i would have preferred a daily change of beach towels while it is implied you take your set back to the lodge in the evening to use the day after. But you can always ask for a new one the next day!

Staff is great and excellent breakfast / lunch!!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dottdegnomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berlin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Residence belongs to the nearby Sandoway Resort, where you can use all amenities. We loved to be a bit away and enjoy more privacy than in the resort. The rooms are neatly designed, spacious and have everything you need. And you have one of the greatest beaches ever right in front of you. We were upgraded to a beachfront room which you should go for - the sunset views are incredible. The prices are significantly lower than in the resort itself and we felt it was extremely good value for money. There are plans to build a large new beach club further down the beach, so it seems that the little beachfront restaurants and massage cabins which are part of the particular charm of this beach will soon be gone.

Room Tip: Go for one of the 6 beachfront rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andorbln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
354 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,292 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We came back for more! Sandoway is still the best Resort on Ngapali. The Villas are just stunning, with views over the white beach to the crystal clear sea. The only a couple of negative points for me. Firstly, no Wi-Fi in the villas. I think at the price of the Villas, it should really be inclusive. Secondly, it is absolutely marvellous that the beach-umbrellas are numbered to the Villas, but the sunbeds are VERY uncomfortable. The loungers at the pool-side are much better. We also missed the piano player at dinner, which was always such a lovely touch. Lastly, resorts of this calibre should really offer coffee-making facilities in the Villas. However with all that said, I would still recommend Sandoway to anybody going to Myanmar for the perfect end to a holiday in this great and wonderful country.

Room Tip: The little village Restaurant, Two Brothers, is absolutely marvelous. Fresh seafood at it's best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frequenttraveler031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Sandoway is an Italian-owned spa resort, elegant and pleasant with a lot of emphases on detail, design and personal touch. You can relax from the very first moments you step onto these territories, as the staff is well trained and the owners have thought even on minor things to make your stay pleasant. The cottages are spacious and well-equipped; you will get your personal place on the beach (with friendly local ladies walking by and trying to sell fresh fruits to you); the beachfront breakfast and dining facilities are gorgeous. Excellent food (do not restrict yourself to the hotel restaurant, just across the street you will find delicious local seafood; also a walk along the beach takes you to nice and pleasant and much cheaper food and drinks); clean pool, library, and cinema that shows news and classical films every night. The local girls working at the spa have good hands. Transport from and to the airport is complimentary, in a lovely vintage bus that drives a most interesting road offering a glimpse to the lives of the local laborers. And of course the sea and the clean beach are worth a million.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ngapali hotels
1.3 mi away
Bayview - The Beach Resort
4.6 mi away
Hilton Ngapali Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Aureum Palace Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Yoma Cherry Lodge
Yoma Cherry Lodge
#2 of 17 in Ngapali
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pleasant View Resort
Pleasant View Resort
#9 of 17 in Ngapali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ngapali Bay Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandoway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandoway Resort

Property: Sandoway Resort
Address: Mya Pyin Village | Ngapali Beach, Rakhine State, Ngapali, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Ngapali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ngapali
#3 Spa Hotel in Ngapali
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ngapali
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ngapali
#5 Family Hotel in Ngapali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandoway Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandoway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandoway Hotel Ngapali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing