We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value and location!”
Review of Silver Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silver Beach Hotel
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Ngapali
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great value and location!”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The bungalows are great, and even too big! (we had a "suite" for 2). great location at the north end of the beach within easy walking distance to beachbars with food and/or massages further south. lots of nice street-restaurants outside on the main road. Very clean and good service. Recommend staying on this end of the beach! And to go "north" to help out in the village school in the village.
The hotels further south on the beach seem to be oriented towards the group-travel-people with many more big "western" resorts.
There are a million restaurants along the way - so go for a walk and check them out, good menus along the way!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camillablom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    55
    14
    9
    2
See reviews for
11
46
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
546 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

A great location. Bungalows on the beach. Walk out right onto a long, wide empty beach. We were in a 'garden view' but could still see and hear the sea. There's an onsite restaurant or walk out the resort to find 3 or 4 local restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martynsnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

You cannot fail to be impressed with the Silver Beach's location, the beach is sublime and even in the height of high-season, barely occupied..
Outside there is a clutch of restaurants within a minutes walk..

The hotel itself is set within spacious gardens and there is an air of space; and tranquillity.. The rooms themselves were a little tired, particularly the bathrooms - clean yes, but tired and a little worn.. Beds were typically hard and after a couple of weeks it took We had an extra bed for our son, which was great, literally a full sized extra bed on the downside, it limited the space in the room massively. The rooms did have tea/coffee making facilities which was an unexpected bonus - however, do not be fooled by the pictures on this site, there is no pool at this hotel.

The breakfast was a little 'same - same' but adequate - egg station, cereals, fruit, toast and often soup with noodles or rice - there were pancakes that our son loved daily and two/three additional items - but although they were supposed to be served hot, were in fact lukewarm or cold - including French fries, fish tempura, grilled tomatoes etc

The New Years Gala dinner was a joke and completely overpriced - the food was again all cold / barely warm - bar the soup. The grilled prawns / grilled whole fish / potatoes were all placed in open serving tureens and were unintentionally cold. Drinks offered were either a bad red wine or a gin sour (which was eye poppingly sour) -- Not this hotels finest hour! Nice idea to serve dinner on the beach, but..... hmmm not really in practice. It just didn't work... The music was horrendous and far too loud so that conversation was impossible. We picked at the food and left - even on our balcony the music was intrusive.

Fantastic location, spotlessly clean, but the temperature of the food was a disappointment - although the waiting staff were so lovely - a real mixed bag of a hotel with real highs and real lows.

Room Tip: when travelling with family - upgrade to the junior suites - massive difference in size and space! W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali-Ludwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
134 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I really enjoyed staying here regardless the not so great decor.Everything is clean and cosy. The bungalows are big with their own veranda deck and towel rack with view to the sea. The atmosphere is really peaceful, as there were not so many people when we were there. At nights it got a bit chilly (december) so we needed extra layer of clothing for our sunset drinks on the beach. The breakfast is taken on the restaurant terrace with view to the sea. The staff were friendly, but some could not speak very good English. The food at lunchtime was good and nicely presented, but the wait was very long....We had Wi-fi at some points during the day - but not very fast. But then it was just nice chilling on the beach under palm trees . I really liked the clean beach and clear water and the laid-back atmosphere. There are plenty of simple beach "bars" for food and drink within a 10 minute walk on the beach (take the torch with you).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrisPini40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Fantastic location as sat on lovely part of beach. Spacious and clean bungalows- very close to beach. Great location to restaurants on road behind hotel. Staff very helpful and attentive. Breakfast is taken looking onto beach. Good value for excellent destination and compared to neighbouring hotels. Deserves better review than what LP gives it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 76Net
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed in one of the standard bungalows closest to the sea. The sounds of the seabreeze in the palms, and the waves rolling in immediately bought a sense of relaxation. The room reminded me of my aunt's 60's beach house - timber floor, wooden framed windows with flyscreens, and a very western retro-style bathroom. There is a restaurant overlooking the sea with buffet brekky (Asian and Western food) and some great options for lunch and dinner. The main reception area is spacious and quite attractive and the staff were really lovely. Nice touches included fresh beach towels and bath towels aplenty, a tap outside each bungalow for rinsing sand off the feet, a hanging rack for drying wet towels and cozzies, and enough lounge beds on the sand for everyone (most with a conveniently located palm tree to provide some shade). If you don't have internet access you might be able to use the staff computer if you ask nicely. On the beach you are offered fresh coconuts, massages and trinkets but not in an intrusive way. I found the women selling these wares delightful. This hotel is at the quiet end of the beach. You can hang out here or wander along the beach for happy hour cocktails as the sun sets over the Bay of Bengal. Great seafood available at any of the restaurants along the beach (try the tiger prawns!). Tip - take a torch with you if you head ff on foot to a restaurant at night - there are some rocks on the beach.
A teeny bit pricey, but I left feeling rejuvenated and was sad to eave.

Room Tip: If you can afford a room right by the beach, go for it, but all rooms have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
København, Danmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Have stayed 3 times at this hotel over the last 6 years and always love coming back. Breakfast is good served on the terrace over looking the beach. Easy accces to the best restaurant strip on the whole beach. What more can you need. oh and if you want to give yourself some extra peace and quite, book one of the beach bunglaows. No fighting over the beach chairs as you have your own reserved with the bungalow. :-) Only thing I can say - yes their english could be a lot better. Espeically in the restaurant. But problem is, as soon as they speak better english, the international owned hotels pay staff just a bit more than the local. :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bryde150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ngapali hotels
2.0 mi away
Pleasant View Resort
Pleasant View Resort
#9 of 18 in Ngapali
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayview - The Beach Resort
3.5 mi away
Merciel Retreat & Resort, Ngapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sandoway Resort
Sandoway Resort
#4 of 18 in Ngapali
500 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jade Marina Resort Hotel
Jade Marina Resort Hotel
#12 of 18 in Ngapali
115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yoma Cherry Lodge
Yoma Cherry Lodge
#3 of 18 in Ngapali
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Beach Hotel

Property: Silver Beach Hotel
Address: Ngapali Beach, Ngapali, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Ngapali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Ngapali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Silver Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing