We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little piece of paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayview - The Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bayview - The Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Ngapali
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

We ended up our 3 week holiday in Myanmar with 5 days at Bayview Hotel. On arrival we were given a free upgrade by the manager, due to the number of days we were staying at the hotel. It was truly a memorable ending to a fantastic holiday in Myanmar.
The beach is idyllic, the hotel well run and well maintained, and the staff are exceptionally helpful. The bar and dining area have the most wonderful view over the beach.
Breakfasts are really good, and the hotel is well situated to allow one to try a number of local restaurants. Bicycles are available free of charge, and it is worth cycling out to some of the local fishing villages or to Thandwe.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolineandre255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    100
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
69
275
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horndean
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

This was by far the best hotel out of the seven in which we stayed in Myanmar . The room (Garden View) was large with plenty of cupboard space, nice shower and toilet. All of the furniture was quality stuff.

Not only was the room nice, but also spotless, clean under the beds, all the light switches were clean and everything worked.

It was the only hotel where wi-fi worked in the room at a speed where you could actually use it.

The pool, restaurant and reception areas were equally nice. There were sunbeds set up outside the room, along the beach and around the pool (no reservations allowed!). The beach was vast, clean with hardly anyone there (in October).

It gets even better – the best thing was the staff of whom I cannot speak too highly. Everyone was kind and helpful with nothing being too much trouble.

At the very end of our stay, my wife was taken ill. The hotel arranged for her to see the local doctor, took us there along with an interpreter. On our return they arranged with the airport for us to have a late check-in so that she could rest in the room longer. I cannot say how much I appreciated the care and attention. It would be a pleasure to return to that hotel at any time of the year.

Room Tip: room 208 had garden and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRDRHorndean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,231 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 779 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Hotel organised pick up from airport which is about 15 mins from resort, charged US$5 pp one way. On arrival, they make you sign for US$20 for transport (US$5 pp one way so US$10 return). They assume you pay for transport, in case you have organised a cheaper alternative during your stay? Why can't this wait till check out instead of having to sign for it during check in? Rather rude really.

On arrival at resort, we were shocked to see 2 "white" foreign staff greeting us. We expected local staff, which would have been more traditional and original. The German female staff did not greet us as I think she was "assigned" to others but the male (German or Swiss) staff greeted us but he was not that friendly. His eyes roamed everywhere whilst talking to us. Look at us when you talk to us. He talked fast and sometimes soft - we might as well have had a local trying to speak English in their Burmese accent.

Room had NO coffee/tea facilities - we are shocked. The safety deposit box is placed so high I had to get a chair to see what I might have left behind inside it. One day, the box could not open so we had to get the engineer to open it.

The shower water pressure is not great. The bathroom floor is uneven "stones" which makes it so uncomfortable on the feet.

There are mozzies about at night. Resort does not supply mozzie spray.

Free wifi everywhere. Free bike (but one guest had his bike seat come off). Breakfast range disappointing - with only one hot bainmarie. Same menu for lunch and dinner and NO seafood choices!!! There's plenty of fresh seafood restaurants only across the resort AND not even half the cost. Bring a mozzie spray along.

The directory says the spa closes at 8pm. When we rang at 6.15pm, they said they close at 7pm so was not taking any appointments. The spa itself is very minimal - not a spa but just a hall or space with mattresses on the floor. The massage table hold is way too big for any face - you can squeeze through it - that's how huge the face hole is.

The beach itself is lovely - nice, flat brown sand with awesome waves!! Loved the waves.

You pay 15,000 ks from local to take you half day to Pearl Island and fishing village or hotel charge US$22 for this. Not worth the morning trip or time. Pearl Island or white sand island is not white - same sand as on this beach. In fact, it's worst - it's so rocky and dirty with rubbish lining the beach. The fishing village is interesting. You can also cycle here but it's quite a hike. We cycled for 30 mins but turned around - too hot. So we cycled for an hour on a terrible rocky "road". It was interesting though as it was about 3.30pm on Saturday and all the school kids were out going home. There's a huge buddha too but we saw this from the boat ride.
Suggest leave the fishing village and buddha for the boat ride and save the cycling.

Beach front villa right in front of the beach. We had a small front yard but chairs are not quite that comfortable. There's beach lounge chairs on the sand but if it's taken by others, you end up on your verandah with strangers in front of your villa.

Swimming pool is boring - just the usual rectangle shape. And you have to walk around the pool to get to breakfast or reception. I guess this is the scenic route.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tweetcoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, Manager at Bayview - The Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear valued customer

We thank you very much for your feedback.

We are very sorry, that our performance did not meet your expectations.
As we are very concerned about our quality we ve considered your feedback carefully.

Please let me commend certain points.

The airport transfer fee collection has already changed to make it more convenient for guests as well regarding your input.

The coffee and tea facilities are planned to put them in all of the rooms, currently they are possible upon request.

Regarding the Mosquitos, we have different possibilities to handle this issue. Whether you like a net over your bed or a spray, up to you, just ask. As well we put traditional smoking sticks in front of every room to protect you of mozzies during the evening.

About the choice in the restaurant, during the LOW season we try to keep the seafood menu small to guarantee fresh food, especially the fish, so we have all seafood dishes on the daily changing board in the restaurant. Local restaurants around are very original, but do not provide the same hygienic standards as our hotel.

As we always try so satisfy our guests during their stay with us, we really regret that you did not express your disappointment here on site, that we could get a chance to satisfy you as well.

Bayview management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

I wrote this review to the best of my personal experience, however, your future experience could be different compared to that of mine depending on the time you travel, which type of room you take, who is managing the hotel, etc. In addition, the reader should have general information about the traveling conditions in Myanmar and numerous flaws that exist there in water supply, electricity, road network, banking system, credit card, Internet, cell phone, restrictions for foreigners, etc.
I was in one of the sea-view rooms in mid-May 2012 which is the beginning of low season in Ngapali because of the approach of monsoon. During my stay the weather was sunny and quite hot though. This hotel is one of two or three that remains open during the entire raining season. The hotel is a German Myanmar owned but the management is rather on the German side. It is a four star and it well deserves all four of them!
A new manager was assigned to this hotel about two months before my stay that knows what he is doing and is well taking care of the business. Among the recent changes he made that I highly appreciated was the enforcement of hygiene especially in the kitchen with “all employees must wash their hands” policy (hygiene is quite nonexistent in Myanmar). Another lovely action was that he moved the breakfast area from the restaurant located next to swimming pool to the bar-restaurant which overlooks the sea.
My room was very big, absolutely comfortable with nice furniture. TV was old with eight satellite channels. Uninterrupted electricity, hot and cold water, air-conditioner, safe in the room and rooms were cleaned two times every day. Sea can be seen from the bed while noises from the wave remain almost unnoticed at night. The outlets in the room did not accept American standard sockets; however, reception offered convertor free of charge. WI-Fi Internet was only available in the lobby and there were a business center with a couple desktop computers and printer. Internet was working on and off during my stay and was very slow for most of the time. My cell phone was working only in some spots with awful connection. A billiard room and several bicycles (old ones as elsewhere in Myanmar) were available for guests free of charge. At your arrival a free transportation is waiting for you at the airport. Same is offered for free to the airport for your departure.
Food at the hotel is quite good and I heard very satisfied feedbacks from other guests including some that were not staying at the hotel. There are also several restaurants within 4-5 minutes walking distance of hotel with fresh seafood and other types on the menu. During my stay the breakfast was served a la carte instead of buffet because there were not enough guests. I was very satisfied with the quality and the service at the restaurant.
The swimming pool is rather design for children because one side is so shallow that it is impossible to swim for an adult. I heard the hotel has some water sport equipment such as windsurf, kayak, etc. but at the time I was there all were already stored because of the raining season.
Staffs are well trained, very helpful and most of them speak English.
The beach cannot be any cleaner. Truly, I did not spot one plastic bottle or any trash for that matter during my week long stay. This is not only true for the beach in front of the hotel but for elsewhere in the Ngapali bay. Only the beach at the fishing village is different and that because of all fishing activities that are going on over there. The beach in front of hotel can be virtually considered private. I only saw a few local walking by.
If you are looking for a quiet hotel for your vacation, where you can relax, do nothing, or do reading /writing while being pampered, this is a place to go. Especially I recommend it at the low season when you can get better deals and you can virtually feel than you own the beach and the sea!
I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Chose a sea front room- by all means! Unmatched view and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Normally on holiday we find that after three to four days in one place we get the urge to move on. This time for our third visit to Bayview we decided to try a full 7 days.
Yes it was great.
The hotel has had considerable changes since our last visit four years ago and we consider that it may be overcrowded during the peak season hence our stays in April. At this time of the year the weather is still great and the whole of Ngapali very quiet but many local restaurants being closed.
For a place to relax you would find it difficult to find a more relaxing place than Ngapali and in particular Bayview.
On each of our visits we bring articles of clothing and books etc for the local people arriving with excess baggage and leaving with an empty suitcase.
The staff and local people are all so willing to please, nothing is done without a smile.
Wifi is now available at the reception area and this removes the previous isolation.
We feel that we should return at least one more time before the world learns of the wonderful relaxing holidays that may be had at Ngapali Beach.
To finish I must add one growing negative and this is the amount of rubbish that is ever increasing. A stream near to hotels at the Bayview end of the beach would not be tolerated in any non third world country and unless improvements are made the future may not be as bountiful as it could be.

Room Tip: A beach front room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed 4 days at Bayview in early April 2012 and had a great time. Beautiful broad beach with daily sandcrab art installation on the tidal plane. All that Sisyphus-like work being wiped out by every rising tide.

A familiy of five, we had two beachfront rooms with a small private terrace. High quality, clean and well kept. As everywhere in Myanmar staff very friendly and helpful. New manager from Turkey attentive to his guests. Good breakfast at the pool restaurant. The beachfront bar/restaurant served colorful drinks ( afternoon happy hour) and good lunch and dinner, although there were plenty of alternative options right outside the hotel and in the village.

Free bicycle rent for interesting rides to nearby villages and along the beach. We arranged a fun boat trip with a guy at the beach, buying fish offshore from local fisherman beeing grilled at nearby island restaurant and served absolutely fresh. Great time, even if snorkeling was poor.

The place will see rapid development. Go now!

Room Tip: Beachfront is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mathys T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

After touring Myanmar we stayed a week at this wonderful hotel. Our room opened directly on to one of the most beutiful beaches that we have every visited. The room and the hotel generally was faultless. But the best thing about the hotel was the marvellous staff, who were always charming and helpful.

It was a week in paradise.....

Room Tip: The rooms on the beach are quiet and the views are wounerful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Modale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ngapali hotels
3.4 mi away
Hilton Ngapali Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Sandoway Resort
Sandoway Resort
#4 of 17 in Ngapali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yoma Cherry Lodge
Yoma Cherry Lodge
#2 of 17 in Ngapali
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pleasant View Resort
Pleasant View Resort
#8 of 17 in Ngapali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
5.1 mi away
Merciel Retreat & Resort, Ngapali
1.2 mi away
Aureum Palace Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview - The Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview - The Beach Resort

Property: Bayview - The Beach Resort
Address: 205 Hgnet Pyaw Khaung Kwin, Ngapali, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Ngapali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ngapali
#2 Spa Hotel in Ngapali
#2 Family Hotel in Ngapali
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ngapali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayview - The Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview - the beach resort is a four- star- boutique hotel. It is located on the idyllic Ngapali Beach in Myanmar's Rakhine State - its coastline forms part of the Bay of Bengal. The resorts' 45 deluxe bungalows and rooms including 2 suites are all situated either directly at the beach or in a beautiful exotic garden under countless palm trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, JovagoAsia and Hotels.com so you can book your Bayview - The Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview - The Beach Resort Hotel Ngapali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing