We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bayview - The Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Ngapali
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful and relaxing stay”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I really enjoyed our stay at the Bayview, it was really wonderful. The accommodation is of a very high standard as are the communal areas and the restaurant. The sunloungers are set on the sand amongst the palm trees - which is unique among Ngapali Hotels as far as I could tell (all the others seem to have their loungers in front of - or on top of the sea defences). It gave it a lovely feel. Ngapali Beach really is great - we loved it. The restaurant is extremely atmospheric and romantic with candles. Having said that we ate more often at the local restaurants as they are better value and although the prices were very reasonable - we were worried about running out of money as you can't pay by credit card here yet (this is normal in Myanmar right now).

One of the best things about the hotel was the staff - who were all, without exception - delightful and friendly. Thank you Bayview for an unforgettable stay at Ngapali Beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, Manager at Bayview - The Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Taylor101010

Thank you so much for your very warm words about your recent stay with us in December.

Your wonderful compliments will be shared with all of our staff, I guess they will keep you also in nice memory like you the relaxing days at the Beach.

BTW: For two weeks now, we are happy to offer Credit Card Payments for your consumption during your stay. So for your next visit, you do not need to worry about this :)

Best regards
Bayview Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    103
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
75
288
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, USA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This place deserves all the other high ratings. I just spent three nights there at the beginning of a trip to Myanmar. Here are the things that make it great:
1) location on Ngapali beach. This resort is at the north end, and the beach is pure sand all the way to the water. A few resorts south, and you begin to have big rocks that block your beach access.
2) great chairs and a hammock on the beach.
3) staff were amazingly attentive. They always remembered my room # and went out of their way to help.
4) cleanliness- they check your room a few times a day.
5) soundproofness- when I checked in, I noticed the room next to me had a baby. I was nervous about being kept awake, but the walls are very soundproof (thank god). At the same, time, I could hear the waves from the front of my room and it was so relaxing.

I splurged and got a deluxe room that opened up onto the beach. Totally worth it.

Definitely rent one of their kayaks and go explore the rocks jutting out on the beach's right hand side (you will see plenty of green crabs on the rocks) and also rent a bike and go right out of the resort, all the way to the end and the fishing village.

Room Tip: Splurge and get a delux beach view room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleK723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, Manager at Bayview - The Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear DanielleK723

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay.

We would like to thank you also for pointing out all tops and all your nice hints for future guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Bayview if you intend to spoil yourself again at Ngapali :)


Bayview Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I stayed in Bay View Resort with my husband and 4 year old daughter, recommended by my friend as well as my extremely positive experience at Savoy Hotel in Yangon. The hotel belongs to the same management as Savoy hotel in Yangon.
I am a resident in Myanmar and it was my second visit to Ngapali beach.
Maybe because of high expectation, and my outstanding experience with another resort in Ngapali beach and my experience at Savoy Hotel in Yangon, I was a bit disappointed with the quality of the hotel and service.
The room was very simple and nothing was special.
The selection of the food was very limited and the quality was also not up to our expectation.
The swimming pool which I was looking forward was too cold to swim.
I would not come back to Bay View Resort next time when I visit Ngapali beach and would probably go back to the other resort I stayed although I would have to pay a bit more.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mosquito2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, Manager at Bayview - The Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Mosquito2009

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write your feedback about your recent stay with us. We deeply regret that our services haven't met your expectation and that we weren't able to convince you of the Bayview feeling.

Unfortunately you did not mention the not satisfactory points upon your stay with us to give us any chance to change or feedback. We would highly appreciate, if you informed us directly via email (generalmanager@bayview-myanmar.com) about gaps for improvement in your eyes.

That the pool is a little bit chilly in December, is due to the outside temperature during the night time in the cold season. In contrast, the sea is normally very quiet and mostly over 25 degrees, so we did not install any heating for our pool (as all other hotels in Ngapali).

We wish you and your family a Happy New Year 2014 and hope to welcome you another time to convince you of our services.

Best regards
Bayview Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

It was the 6th visit to bay view but I didn't write any review at that time bcoz I joined Trip advisor a months or two ago. I'd been to Ngapali 11 times and already experienced 4 different hotels. Bayview is simply the best. Service excellent. Smiles not only from staff also from management. Beach clean, no rocks and sharp stones in the water. Sun set bar is a great place to relax during the whole evening. Local food also is fantastic. If you think the food is expensive , just go out of the hotel compound and you could dine at nice and clean restaurant.
Buffet Breakfast is very good .
House keeping is efficient .
But i don't recommend for christmas eve dinner . You have to wait a long time ( 1 and half hour) for 5 courses dinner. Now we avoid the christmas eve to go there.
Anyway, it is the best hotel in Ngapali.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Naingaung9591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, Manager at Bayview - The Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Naingaung9591

Thank you very much for having taken the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We highly appreciate your kind feedback which we will transmit to our staff.

Your critical point regarding the Christmas dinner, indeed the whole durance of the evening is even longer than 1.5 hours but most of our guests appreciate the silence and quiet ambiance during these days. Especially when the choir of local children is coming and singing for our guests, everyone get the Christmas feeling. We are sorry that our arrangement did not meet your expectation and we are looking forward to welcoming during the remaining 364 days a year :)

Our very best regards for the New Year 2014
Bayview Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Took a minibreak at last minute. Bought the flight ticket at the Yangon airport (only one way possible) and while waiting for boarding we dialed some hotels. The first to pick up the phone was Bayview.
A comfortable flight later we were picked up and drove to the resort ten minutes away. After a hearty welcomed we were escorted to our bungalow on the beach. Fantastic location and very comfortable.
As we didn't have a return flight secured we had to spend some time investigating but the front desk took care of it.
Despite peak season the place was very quiet and the beach ans poolarea very peaceful.
In the afternoon there was a game in the local beach football league just in front of our bungalow. That's about how entertaining it gets in Ngapali.
Bring books and good friends and don't be surprised if you are the only one left in the bar at 930...
Will be back again, and then for a more than 24 hrs:-)

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Magnus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, Manager at Bayview - The Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Magnus L

Thank you very much for your kind feedback about our wonderful place here at the Ngapali Beach.

After taking a closer look, we saw that there might be something to improve from your point of view. Please do not hesitate to let us know about under residentmanager@bayview-myanmar.com

We are already looking forward to welcoming you soon again at the Bayview. Hopefully longer than only one night, cause we think the real beauty of this place you get only if you stay a couple of days :)

Sunny regards
Bayview Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

The beach is amazing, clean and very quiet, the sun beds are comfortable, the service is spectacular and even the other guests were behaving very well.
The breakfast lived up to what you could expect from a good hotel and also the food in the restaurant was really good. And good food is not always easy to find in Myanmar.
Don't miss out on the free bikes. The best way to see the area.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank GitteHolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, Manager at Bayview - The Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear GitteHolm,

It is a pleasure to hear that you had relaxing vacation and liked our restaurant, we hope you did enjoy our fantastic BBQ Dinner as well.

We wish you Merry Christmas and all the best for 2014.

Regards

Your Bayview Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed three nights, could have stayed another. If you want to do nothing ngapali beach is for you. There is no wind, no surf and i don't believe and golf, no speed boats no sailing. it really is a place to chill, take a few books and take an early morning walk up the beach to watch the fisherman come in with there catches. There are numerous restaurants a short stroll up the beach on the sand they all serve great fresh seafood and very cheap prices, service may be slow but they are cooking from scratch and heck you're on holiday, relax. Patrick the young german manager was very helpful not that we had any problems. Internet again very slow but thats just a Myanmar problem. breakfast buffet was great and very relaxing. laundry cost were very good value. In November the sea was very warm, almost dare i say it too warm.

Room Tip: we stayed in a two bedroom suite 404B absolutely perfect location. Take some books to read, Interne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, Manager at Bayview - The Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear RelaxingPerth,

thank you for your kind comment and we are very happy to hear
that you had a great and relaxing time here at Bayview.
That you enjoyed the sea and reading books, as well as your room and the food.

We would like to welcome you back for your next peaceful and laid-back vacation!

Best wishes

Your Bayview Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ngapali hotels
1.3 mi away
Sandoway Resort
Sandoway Resort
#4 of 18 in Ngapali
505 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Ngapali Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Yoma Cherry Lodge
Yoma Cherry Lodge
#3 of 18 in Ngapali
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aureum Palace Spa & Resort
1.9 mi away
Pleasant View Resort
Pleasant View Resort
#9 of 18 in Ngapali
211 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ngapali Bay Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview - The Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview - The Beach Resort

Property: Bayview - The Beach Resort
Address: 205 Hgnet Pyaw Khaung Kwin, Ngapali, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Ngapali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ngapali
#2 Family Hotel in Ngapali
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ngapali
#2 Spa Hotel in Ngapali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayview - The Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview - the beach resort is a four- star- boutique hotel. It is located on the idyllic Ngapali Beach in Myanmar's Rakhine State - its coastline forms part of the Bay of Bengal. The resorts' 45 deluxe bungalows and rooms including 2 suites are all situated either directly at the beach or in a beautiful exotic garden under countless palm trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bayview - The Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview - The Beach Resort Hotel Ngapali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing