We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bayview - The Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Ngapali
Certificate of Excellence
Itabashi, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“It's a lovely place”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Beautiful place, great rooms on the beach with very nice furnitures, very nice bathroom and excellent breakfast.
The Bay is lovely, and there is everything you like!
The staff is nice and all is very clean!
Warm welcome at airport with a lovely person taking care of all!
I'll be back there soon!!!
stay at beach front rooms!!!!

Room Tip: choose the bayfront rooms are huge and so nice!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterPatItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-SHY, Manager at Bayview - The Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Dear PeterPatItalia,

Thank you for you short and accurate review.

Its nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you considering of coming back to us at the beach.

We are more than happy to welcome you again.

Regards

Your Bayview Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    103
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
75
288
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We have stayed 7 days in the beggining of May. The hotel represents the best standards. Staff with manager Patrick is extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms and the hotel are very clean ( cleaning 2x day ). The bungalows are well equipped with anything you need to spend a comfortable time. Tasty breakfasts. Only one small issue: wifi very slow during a day, speeds up in the night. The hotel beach is amazing, very clean and tidy. Located very close to several decent and cheap seafood restaurants. Perfect price/quality ratio! I am going to return there some day!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcin_Mag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-SHY, Manager at Bayview - The Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Marcin_Mag

We thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor and are happy to read that you had a good time in our resort.
Lovely that you enjoyed our breakfast and beach.

We are aware that the Wifi is not the best, but unfortunately we can not change that, every year we try to increase our Wifi. But here its the perfect place to log - off and enjoy the nature.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards

Your Bayview Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Bayview is one of hotel I definitely recommend to stay in. Great rooms (Superior and bungalow), great location, amazing beach and one of the best restaurant in Ngapali. We stayed for 3 nights, came without booking and get warm welcoming by the manager and very good deal in terms of price (despite hotel was almost full). Territory is not very big, but green and very beautiful, I would say ''cozy'. Part of beach near the hotel is very good - it lays between stones and guests enjoy hot sea for the whole day. You could always find free chairs on the beach, so no worries about it. Majority of guests - couples, but we saw several families with children. Restaurant is relatively expensive for Ngapali, but quality of dishes is very high, so I would recommend to use it anyway. There are 3 good and cheap restaurants just in 5 min walk (stay on the beach, face to the sea, go left for 5-7 mins) - Angel, Green Umbrellas and one more (don't remember the name). It is really much cheaper compare to hotel restaurant, but food is very simple and not everything is tasty. If you want to see REAL fish-men village, go further alone the seashore, but around 30-40 mins. You will see real village and real life of fishmen - hard working, extremely poor :( On the way you will also see mermaid statue, do not forget your camera for this walking.
Tip: internet is good not everywhere, if you need it - place with laptop near the pool.
Hotel manager also checked time of our flight, arranged transfer to the airport, recommended hotels in Yangon - so great personal thanks to you, Patrick.
It was our best stay in Myanmar.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-SHY, Manager at Bayview - The Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Natasha M,

We thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. It makes us happy to read that you had a good time and colored memories of Bayview - the beach resort.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards

Your Bayview Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

A fantastic luxury feeling hotel that's worth every penny. We stayed here at the end of a 10 day trip through Burma backpacker style. Accommodation in Burma is generally expensive in comparison to cost of living but this plAce was about £75 per night for a garden bungalow. Getting there means a flight. We flew from heho with KBZ for $145 which is obviously not cheap. Flights in Myanmar are great with KBZ, air Bagan, Asian Wings. Book one day in advance with an agent. We were met at the airport by staff who showed us to an AC minibus. Our bags were taken care of, we next saw them when we got to our room.

The room was huge (double and extra single bed), bathroom was immaculate and quirky with a shower that you could pack 10 people into. Minibar. Sun loungers on decking outside.

Outside the room is even better so as nice as it is you won't be in it much. A 30 second walk to the beach through the pool area and beachfront bar and you're on the Bay of Bengal. Beware jellyfish. I had to rely on "natures cure" when stung. I later found out that it's jellyfish season but I can't moan, it is what it is. Beach is beautiful. It feels like a private beach because the hotels are so few in number. Plenty of sun loungers so you can bake all day (a concept the locals don't understand as they crave lighter skin tone).

The manager is called Patrick and is the most attentive hotel manager that I have ever come across. First class. He greets you on arrival personally and can be found working at a restaurant table or mulling around reception where guests can approach him if necessary. All of the staff were magnificent. We didn't have a flight out to Yangon booked and they took care of it all.

I can't fault the location or hotel. Oh, free bike hire if you want to go off exploring.

I say go soon because they are extending the runway at Thandwe and an air asia Bangkok flight will surely be operating in the next couple of years. Ngapoli is so basic and beautiful but there will be an inevitable tourism explosion.

Tip: bar on beach is lovely and we had lunch there on day 1. Please still go, watch sunset with a beer Myanmar but don't think it's your only choice. We quickly discovered some amazing understated restaurants a 2 min walk left from hotel. Dont be put off by things like mice running around the roof joists, or the entire family watching tv 3 tables over. Meals about 20% of price of hotel. Eg seafood platter ($4.50) squid, prawns, fillet of snapper, plate of tiger prawns ($4.50) vegetables, potatoes, 1 big beer ($2) and 2 soft drinks ($1 each) all for $13. In comparison a coke at hotel was $2.50 and a main $15 or so. Like everything in Burma - spread your money around the locals too!!

Tried and can recommend Brilliance and old friends restaurants.

Tip: minibar quite expensive. Visit shop nearby ASAP to stock up on water, beers and soft drinks at 1/3 the price.

Regret: restaurant called brilliance will if preordered 24 hours before buy, kill and cook a lobster served as a platter for 2 - $11 (we discovered this too late).

One problem with bayview - we didn't have enough time there!!!! Recommend at least 4 nights. Amazing.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael3230704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-SHY, Manager at Bayview - The Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Hi Michael3230704,

wow, what a nice comment from your side. Thank you.

We enjoy to hear that you liked our rooms and that you felt very comfortable with us at the Bayview - the beach resort and that you had a beautiful evening with an amazing Sunset and cold beer at our Bayview Sunset Bar.

We would be very pleased to greet you again,

see you soon.

Your Bayview Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at Bayview for two-nights to close out my 7-day tour of Myanmar. I selected Ngapali Beach last for some R&R to end my trip, and the resort did not disappoint. My room was clean, comfortable and charming. The resort is a perfect size (not too small, not too big) with everything one could want...beach, spa, pool, restaurant, wonderful staff (Patrick the manager is fantastic).

Even though most staying here were couples, I did manage to make friends and had a wonderful, wonderful time! I HIGHLY recommend Bayview, and if I ever return to Myanmar will stay there in a heartbeat!

Please note, I am a very discriminating traveler when it comes to lodging. This location is right up there with a nice Marriott or Hilton in a vacation destination!

It was simply a slice of heaven. Peaceful, serene, relaxing, comfortable, wonderful!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jkcarnah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-SHY, Manager at Bayview - The Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Dear jkcarnah

we are very happy to hear, that you enjoyed our Hotel and that you did find friends, which made it a beautiful time for you in our resort.

We would be happy to have you again in Bayview - the beach resort for your next vacation

Regards

Your Bayview Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Our experience with this hotel was terrible!
This was not my first time in this amazing country and this was the first time that I had a problem!

1st - Manager in a country of smiles that doesn't smile is not a good image for the hotel. Not helpful either or emphatic. After our complaint he did not show a gesture of kindness neither tried to resolve the problems.
2nd - Staff not friendly or helpful which is something very rare in this country
3rd - Over priced for this kind of hotel specially when the toilet was not flushing.
4th - Food was very average.

To finish we checked in and checked out in 3 hours.
We moved to a super luxury resort for the same price!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank joaopjorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-SHY, General Manager at Bayview - The Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear joaopjorge

Thank you very much for having taken the time to review us on tripadvisor.

We deeply regret that our services didn't meet your expectation, however we would like to clarify some of your mentioned points.

One of our major selling points is the wonderful staff who lives the Bayview feeling, unfortunately you did not give us the time within your three hours stay to prove our abilities. We feel sorry and would like to apology that we were not able to convince you with the first impression.

As you arrived without reservation and you were shown the entire hotel and given several options, you cannot really complain that it is overpriced, as you saw what you will pay for.
If you compare our hotel rates with others, you will see that we are very moderate and offer very good price-quality ratio.

Our customer satisfaction is very important for us, so we have asked you clearly, what made your mind changing? You were only pointing out that the toilet flush is not working and the manager is not smiling, that's why you want to check out immediately. From your side there was obviously no interest to find a constructive approach.

We hope that you could enjoy the days on the beach in one of our neighbor properties and we would be happy to be given the chance to convince you another time at our lovely Bayview.

Best regards,

Bayview Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The hotel is simply wonderful. The common areas are well maintained. The pool is very nice. There is free Wi-Fi in the restaurant and some rooms that are close to the common areas.

The restaurant evening was delicious. Very high quality food. We ate and had dinner every night because we loved everything and the prices were very good. On Sunday night was BBQ and very rich, with many fish and seafood to choose. The breakfast is OK. The juice is not natural and tea is Lipton but the coffee was very good. Every day had different kinds of cakes, very tasty!
The very friendly Manager Patrick, attentive and helpful. It was always present to solve any problem.

I was in 2 rooms: sea view and garden view. They are completely different. Bungalow with sea view room was fabulous. Very large, with a very comfortable king-size bed, good quality linens, sofa with sea view and a small terrace to take a cocktail at sunset. The great bathroom with separate shower and toilet. A walking very practical closet with safe box. The air conditioning worked perfectly. The room to the beach sand was 1 meter. I loved this bungalow.

As the water festival, could not be us every night at the bungalow,we had to move to garden view. I hated it. I asked to change the mattress and sheets because it smelled musty. The quality of the mattress and the sheets were of poor quality, uncomfortable pillows. The air conditioning did not work well and each night had a sweating. Little functional closets. At the back of the room there was a door with glass that gave to the generator and caused lots of noise at night. This glass door had no curtains and we receive plenty of light at 5 in the morning. We could not sleep till late never.

There are many dogs on the beach. It is very sad. Us them gave ham, cheese and bread that were very happy. It seemed strange to me that BBQ night there were no dog nearby. I think they were locked up because the next day they were on the beach.

I would definitely recommend this hotel...is fantastic. The beach is wonderful, clean y he staff was always very friendly. I would recomended sea view bungalow...are fabulous and the difference is only $ 35!

Thank you!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OliviaMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-SHY, General Manager at Bayview - The Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear OliviaMexico

We would like to thank you for your very sophisticated and overall positive review of your recent stay with us.

we are always happy to hear such nice comments which highly motivate all of our staff to go the extra mile day by day.

Regarding the second room you have stayed in, we deeply regret the inconveniences you had and double checked already all mentioned points.

Regarding the dogs, we are fully aware that there are dogs on the beach, but it is not recommended to feed them as a lot of other guests do not appreciate their appearance. Once they are given food, they will always come back, so please do not feed the dogs upon your next visit.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our wonderful resort, if you reserve early enough, we are happy to provide you the Beach Front room for your entire stay with us.

Best regards
Bayview Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ngapali hotels
1.3 mi away
Sandoway Resort
Sandoway Resort
#4 of 18 in Ngapali
505 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Ngapali Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Yoma Cherry Lodge
Yoma Cherry Lodge
#3 of 18 in Ngapali
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aureum Palace Spa & Resort
1.9 mi away
Pleasant View Resort
Pleasant View Resort
#9 of 18 in Ngapali
211 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jade Marina Resort Hotel
Jade Marina Resort Hotel
#12 of 18 in Ngapali
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview - The Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview - The Beach Resort

Property: Bayview - The Beach Resort
Address: 205 Hgnet Pyaw Khaung Kwin, Ngapali, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Ngapali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ngapali
#2 Family Hotel in Ngapali
#2 Spa Hotel in Ngapali
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ngapali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayview - The Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview - the beach resort is a four- star- boutique hotel. It is located on the idyllic Ngapali Beach in Myanmar's Rakhine State - its coastline forms part of the Bay of Bengal. The resorts' 45 deluxe bungalows and rooms including 2 suites are all situated either directly at the beach or in a beautiful exotic garden under countless palm trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, JovagoAsia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bayview - The Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview - The Beach Resort Hotel Ngapali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing