We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FRIENDLY HOTEL IN PERFECT LOCATION”
Review of Mountain Top Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Top Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kyaikto
Essendon, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“FRIENDLY HOTEL IN PERFECT LOCATION”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Wonderful place to stat when visiting Golden Rock. But be aware thar the hotel is built on the side of a cliff. My room was at the lowest level and 88 very steep steps away from reception and the hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: As got a room on a top level so as go avoid too many steps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taalaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    281
    137
    18
    4
See reviews for
45
294
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

After a fun ride in a truck (of sorts) to get up the mountain this was a great place to rest up. The hotel is one of only a few on the mountain but from what I have head of the others it is also the best. A short walk to the rock and great view over the mountain. If travelling with people who are not so mobile request a room 'up the top' they have recently added more rooms but the stairway down is a little treacherous and there is no lift.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug_SAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The hotel is literally right by the Golden rock. The rooms were comfortable with fairly basic bathrooms. We had to go down quite a few stairs to get to our room but with the stunning views and location I was quite happy. The next morning getting up at 4.30am to go to the Golden rock to give breakfast to Buddha the stairs were a challenge but just meant we could indulge more on our breakfast on our return. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good and the restaurant had brilliant views to enjoy the sunrise. There is a lovely teashop just opposite the hotel which is worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Right at the top next to the golden rock, this hotel it was great, the room was nice and specious, fabulous view , good breackfast, friendly staff, good food in the restaurant. A bit overpriced , but i guess there are not many options there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lettapg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battambang, Cambodia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We had one of the top rooms. Neat, well furbished, clean room with great view. Good beds
Friendly staff and good food.
Because it was full moon there were many pilgrims camping near the rock but we had no noise problems at all.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berghaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Reviews of accommodation should be seen in context. The standard of accommodation in these rooms is fairly basic. The beds are comfortable and the linen is clean. Bathroom is basic and the water pressure is just OK. The views are spectacular. The staff are genuinely welcoming and attentive. The food is good and there is an excellent international winelist. The area can be noisy because the pilgrims camp at the Golden Rock overnight but theres not much they can do about that.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RomaPHILE33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed one night at the Mountain Top Hotel in January. After traveling on the back of a truck for an hour to get to the golden Pagoda, it is a pleasant surprise to find a hotel of any kind in this remote location. The rooms are basic and in January it gets very cold at night. Our room was at the bottom of the rock and the steps were quite steep. The food was not bad.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank European123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyaikto
5.1 mi away
The Eternity Resort
The Eternity Resort
#2 of 6 in Kyaikto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel United Hpa-An
Hotel United Hpa-An
#2 of 3 in Hpa An
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Hinthar Hotel
Royal Hinthar Hotel
#2 of 4 in Mawlamyine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
315.6 mi away
Kandawgyi Hill Resort
Kandawgyi Hill Resort
#6 of 16 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thuwunna Bumi Mountain View Resort
5.9 mi away
Golden Sunrise Hotel
Golden Sunrise Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kin Pun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Top Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Top Hotel

Property: Mountain Top Hotel
Address: Near Kyaikhtiyo Pagoda, Kyaikto, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mon State > Kyaikto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kyaikto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Top Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOUNTAIN TOP HOTEL is a vantage point commanding panoramic view of the lush of the mountain ranges below, where one can experience spectacular sunrise and sunset sight you will long remember.Just short walk to the Golden Rock pagoda , at the top of Mt Kyaiktiyo , the mountain top Hotel is ideally situated for those who wish to make frequent visit to the pagoda while in kyaiktiyo.The hotel at approximately 3.600 Ft.above see level. 130 mile from Yangon and about 1 mile from the ya-the-taung bus terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mountain Top Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Top Hotel Myanmar/Kyaikto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing