We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a quick stop” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Rock Hotel Kyaikhtiyo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kyaikto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Rock Hotel Kyaikhtiyo
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kyaikto
Reading
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good for a quick stop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a tour for one night. The location is between the Golden a Rock and the last stopping point for the large trucks that ferry passengers the 45 minute journey to the rock. From the rock it's about 25 minutes downhill walk, so not good for anyone with walking difficulties. The hotel itself was clean and fine for a quick overnight stop. There is a separate shower area in the bathroom. Wifi is free and available in the lobby area. Breakfast is limited, eggs, bread and fruit but enough for what you need. There aren't many hotels in the area, so this is a good choice. Hopefully that is helpful, anymore questions, just ask.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jame5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    72
    71
    11
    2
See reviews for
13
73
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night. A bit expensive but the room was large and clean. The bed allright. The staff was very nice and helpful. The food was average at best. It is quite a ride to get there with the open back truck and a good walk. All in all, great location, Ok room, poor food.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way back from visiting the Golden Rock. Our twin bedded room was basic but clean and comfortable. Great shower but no hot water tap in the wash basin.
The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Our group of 6 people ate an evening meal in the hotel restaurant but one of the group became unwell. (she ate the same meal as me and I was ok). Breakfast was simple but adequate (no buffet ) but fruit, eggs and toast, coffee and juice. Our room had a great view and the hotel gardens were beautiful. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank baytree15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
1,020 reviews
289 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 580 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

This place was really expensive for us - we paid $95 which we had to pay in advance by wiring money to our Yangon hotel who transferred the money to the Golden Rock hotel (we had tried to get into the Mountain Top hotel but it was fully booked). There are not many accommodation options on the top of the mountain near Golden Rock so book as far in advance as you can to get the most options. We booked 5 weeks in advance and were lucky to get anything. I think mainly because lots of tour groups visit and book big chunks of accommodation up.

We were given a warm welcome by the friendly receptionist and showed to our room straight after our welcome drink. Rooms are kind of like little joined up holiday chalets and were a good UK 3 star hotel standard, a bit dated but comfortable. There was TV with some English channels, nice bathroom with some products, and decent free wi-fi (amazing considering that it's on the top of a mountain!).

On the plus side, it is closer to the Golden Rock than the Mountain Top hotel and also has its own viewing point where you can see the Golden Rock. It's literally probably a 5 minute walk from the entrance to the Golden Rock.

We slept well and got up early to watch the sunrise over the Golden Rock. Breakfast is buffet styley and was alright, and is served in a big canteen type area from where you can sit and sip coffee while looking out at the Golden Rock.

If you can get into the Mountain Top hotel for the same price as this one, maybe consider that one as the Mountain Top hotel looked quite flash, but if you can't and can get into this hotel, then it is good also, and has better views and is closer to the Golden Rock than Mountain Top so don't worry.

I was not sure whether it was worth staying on the Golden Rock especially as it was so expensive but after staying there I think it definitely is worth it as it allows you to see the sunset and experience the atmosphere after the sun goes down, pretty magical with lots of pilgrims singing and praying and meditating and sleeping near the Rock, would definitely recommend it. I'm glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Nice place but I got very sick on fish curry. Unfortunately very few choices for this spectacular location. I should have known to stay away from eating fish on a mountain top. I would still go there again nonetheless.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivorynose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somewhere
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here for $100, which is a little high for what you get, but the staff was great, well-trained, and helpful. If you get here, I pity the fact that you endured the greedy and horrible mafia that runs the over-crowded trucks up the mountain, but this nice hotel with a caring staff will make up for it. The views are excellent. The manager was super nice, and the rest of the desk staff and restaurant waitstaff were fantastic.Plus it was the best shower I had in Myanmar - large, enclosed, and tiled with plenty of hot water. The location is fine if you don't mind walking 1/2 hour up a steep road to the rock. It is the best option unless you prefer the constant craziness and tourism overload at the top.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YellowEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

This hotel has a good location, however it is really a pain to get to. Involves a packed open truck ride up a very steep and windy hill and then a brisk and also steep trek for about 10 minutes (unless you take a 'stretcher' ride for which they wanted $16 per person !). This does not get you to the Golden Rock, you have to take another packed open truck for that !
This was the poorest and yet most expensive hotel we stayed in. The food was incredibly bland, the rooms were OK, nothing special. The whole place had a sort of 'could care less, we are always full anyway' feel about it. All in all, this excursion from Yangon was the one none of us enjoyed. The rock is seedy, touristy and dirty, litter everywhere, and once you have looked at a gold painted rock, then what ? All four of us wish we had stayed at Ngwe Saung beach for longer and skipped this one.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtreader1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyaikto
201.7 mi away
The Eternity Resort
The Eternity Resort
#2 of 6 in Kyaikto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
20.4 mi away
Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw
21.2 mi away
Dream Villa Hotel
Dream Villa Hotel
#2 of 12 in Kalaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel United Hpa-An
Hotel United Hpa-An
#1 of 2 in Hpa An
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
20.9 mi away
Dream Mountain Resort
0.0 mi away
Thuwunna Bumi Mountain View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Rock Hotel Kyaikhtiyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Rock Hotel Kyaikhtiyo

Property: Golden Rock Hotel Kyaikhtiyo
Address: Yathe Taung base camp | Near Kyaiktiyo Pagoda, Kyaikto, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mon State > Kyaikto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kyaikto
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Rock Hotel Kyaikhtiyo 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Rock Hotel is a vantage point commanding unique breath taking views of the surrounding mountain ranges and spectacular sunsets – sights that will leave a lasting impression. Uniquely situated in an idyllic setting amid lush tropical vegetation and age-old rocks, the Golden Rock Hotel is ideal for relaxation and meditation on your trip to Kyaiktiyo.Just a 45-minute hike to the Kyaiktiyo Pagoda (Golden Rock Pagoda), the Golden Rock Hotel is one of the only properties offering international class accommodation and facilities to travelers.Accommodation is in individual chalets strategically placed on more than three acres of wooded terrain on Mt. Kyaiktiyo. The distinctive shape of each building resembles the shape of a hermit’s hat, taking full advantage of different elevations and architecturally designed to assure privacy for each room. This hotel is a perfect hideout, far-away from the busy city, yet it is located only 2 miles away from the world famous “Golden Rock Pagoda” which is distinguished as one of the most awe-inspiring places in the world.We are the proud recipient of the international “Millennium Golden Award” for Commercial Prestige for Customers’ Satisfaction and the “Green Standard Hotels Award” by the Ministry of Hotels and Tourism. Taking pride in our eco-friendly and sustainable operating systems we strive for a “Greener Myanmar”. A few of our eco-friendly efforts would include the mini-dam that was especially built on the premises for collecting natural mountain spring water for the exclusive use of the hotel. Our garden thrives in biodiversity consisting of blooming orchids, many varieties of butterflies and our own organic fruit patch. Some of these fruits are placed on your table to offer the best meal experience.Golden Rock Hotel has been the most preferred amongst visitors to this sacred site for our service, facilities and our ability to go above and beyond our guests’ expectations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Rock Hotel Kyaikhtiyo Myanmar/Kyaikto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing