We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Provincial charm and peace of mind” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Romana Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southern Leyte Province
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Romana Hotel
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Provincial charm and peace of mind”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

Just returned from Maasin, stayed at Villa Romana for 3 nights, couple + our 19 yr old son. The best you will find in this very pleasant priovincial town, no question about it. Clean, comfortable, great food and great hospitality. A little noisy at night, staff apparently have a habit of moving furniture around to accomodate late arrival - minor drama... WI-Fi works fine. And to be honest, there is not much else around. Recommend it. Our room was No 206, 2nd floor with large veranda on the water, 3 nights for $AU 180.00 including an additional bed for our son.

Room Tip: Room 206 and 207 are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cburnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    9
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
4
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

Its my first trip in Visayas region and i found the place has so many white sand beaches. The hotel is good and its staff. They are very accommodating, in fact the front desk there give me sketch and instructions on where to go. Their room is clean and the rate is ok, they serve me well. So if i have given a chance to go back in Southern Leyte i would still choose to stay in Villa Romana Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank busted_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

We stayed in this hotel in April 2011 for 4 nights. There seems to be not much choice if you really have to stay in this area (Maasin city), but if not try to avoid this hotel. The customer service is really bad. In fact, the lady at the check was ignoring us almost completely, very rude. For the first night we had a room facing the sea, which is quite and looks ok inside, but 3000 pesos is way too expensive for a small hotel like this. The rooms facing the street are more cheaper, but really noise. Basically you feel like sleeping in the middle of a busy street with lost of noisy motorcycles. The restaurant stuff downstairs is noisy too and does not care about the rest of hotel guests.The rooms are not very clean, the new towels already dirty, and the staff "forgot" to clean the room and didn't care much about it anyway. The food in the hotel restaurant is also nothing that can be recommended.. WIFI is free but slow and doesn't work in all rooms.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Airbusflyer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southern Leyte Province hotels

Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
470 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 638 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2010

I stayed in Room 304, which has a balcony with sea view for 2750p ($65US). It was a waste of money. If you plan to stay at this hotel, my recommendation would be to book a less expensive room, but request that it not face the noisy main street. I have nothing positive to say about the deluxe room. There is no night table and thus no bedside light, no clock, no phone, no Kleenex, and no plug in the bathroom sink. There is one straight-backed chair that is too short to use at the non-functional desk. The water in the partially enclosed shower is barely warm and the water pressure is abysmal (see video). There is no hot water in the sink.

Don’t rely on their wake up call – the night staff were still asleep when I carried my luggage downstairs to meet my pre-arranged tricycle.
Wifi is free but slow at best and is available in the restaurant only

Food in the restaurant is not great and is inconsistent –if you order the same dish 2 nights in a row, you won’t even know it was the same dish

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank driftdiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2010

Villa Romana Hotel
Thomas Oppus Street, Abgao Maasin City, SO Leyte
Mail: [--]
Tel: [--]
Price feb 2010: single: 950 pesos, deluxe 1350, and other rooms from 1750 to 3500.
Simple breakfast included.
Very nice hotel, new, nice restaurant with sea/pier-view, probably the best in town.
The rooms are very clean, new, hot water, aircon. Some with views and balcony for the more expensive ones.
Free WIFI
The best hotel in this small town that I saw.
Close to the center, but quiet.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jp2000b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southern Leyte Province hotels
13.8 mi away
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
#1 of 3 in Padre Burgos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
15.4 mi away
Padre Burgos Castle Resort
Padre Burgos Castle Resort
#3 of 3 in Padre Burgos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.4 mi away
Caimito Beach Hotel
Caimito Beach Hotel
#1 of 10 in Maasin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jaimees Hotel & Resort
Jaimees Hotel & Resort
#4 of 21 in Southern Leyte Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
GV Hotel, Maasin City
GV Hotel, Maasin City
#5 of 10 in Maasin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
30.7 mi away
Dona Marta Boutique Hotel
Dona Marta Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hinunangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Romana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Romana Hotel

Property: Villa Romana Hotel
Address: Tomas Oppus St | Maasin City, Southern Leyte Province, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Southern Leyte Province
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Southern Leyte Province
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Villa Romana Hotel Southern Leyte Province, Philippines - Leyte Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing