We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seaview relaxation”
Review of Villa Romana Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southern Leyte Province
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Romana Hotel
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Perfect place to relax after a busy day at work. It feels homey. Capiz shells adorn the wooden windows. Pretty curtains.Good AC.
It just needs the following to make it nicer: hairdryer, hot water, soft towels, and a spa.
But seriously, it's value for your money.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank RonGaby V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
There are newer reviews for Villa Romana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

Can't understand some of the adverse reviews, this hotel was great value for money, found the staff very friendly, (loved the timber floors), and the restaurant excellent, food prices very cheap. Would certainly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fureychipper1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I stayed here on 28 November 2012, paying P 1350 ( plus 5% for using Mastercard) for a basic room with breakfast. The room had an old TV with lots of cable channels, including the BBC, CNN, HBO and Australian Network. There was very little furniture in the room, with just some hanging space for clothes. The A/C and free wifi worked well. There was good hot water in the shower, but none in the hand basin.
When I checked in the staff said breakfast was included, and Ihad a Filipino breakfast priced at P 155 on the menu. Then I was asked to pay the P155, as it turned out that the only free breakfast is the Continental breakfast priced at P75. I ended up paying the difference of P80.
The breakfast service is very slow, and they really take their time about clearing the tables,,,I was a bit late for breakfast, and the whole area looked a mess.
The breakfast/dining room faces the sea, and I saw a lone snorkeller just off the rocky 'beach' between the hotel and an old rust bucket cargo ship that was very noisily unloading at a wharf about 100m away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Stickman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I stayed at Villa Romana Hotel for 14 day's from may 21st through june 4th, i must say my over all stay was ok, i was satisfied with the room i had, the rooms are well kept, nice shower and hot water air condition work great, this is really the only place in maasin city that's descent and the staff are trustworthy....several thing's i was not crazy about, the service at the restaurant were very very poor, we've waited for our continental breakfast for at least over an hour, and the dinner was dissapointing. Location is great close to everything,i have to say this is the best place in maasin city.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank remy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We spent one night at Villa Romana when we were passing through Maasin City. It is probably the nicest place in town. We got a standard room, which was small but clean and serviceable. The price was reasonable and included a light breakfast.

The hotel is only a 5-minute walk from the port, which is very convenient if you are arriving or departing by ferry. However, you may also be woken up by the horn blast of a late-night ferry (though there is very little traffic at the port). The hotel is on the main street and we enjoyed walking around the seaside town of Maasin.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the main street as there will be a lot of vehicle noise. There are some standard...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

As hotels go in Maasin City, this one was nice and reasonably affordable. The rooms were well kept, the AC worked and the showers were hot most days. The staff was trustworthy enough that the people I was traveling with could leave a laptop computer charging in the room.
The biggest drawback was the noise. Most evenings, groups would gather in front and drink, smoke and joke until 1 a.m. At 4:30 a.m., the local Catholic Church would begin blaring its sermon and music over the loudspeakers until 6 a.m. It wasn't the wake up call I wanted.
I would recommend it ONLY if you can get a room that faces the water at the rear of the hotel, particularly on the northern side. That helps with the noise according to some in my party.

Room Tip: Get a room toward the back north corner
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SheldonTraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Just returned from Maasin, stayed at Villa Romana for 3 nights, couple + our 19 yr old son. The best you will find in this very pleasant priovincial town, no question about it. Clean, comfortable, great food and great hospitality. A little noisy at night, staff apparently have a habit of moving furniture around to accomodate late arrival - minor drama... WI-Fi works fine. And to be honest, there is not much else around. Recommend it. Our room was No 206, 2nd floor with large veranda on the water, 3 nights for $AU 180.00 including an additional bed for our son.

Room Tip: Room 206 and 207 are best
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cburnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southern Leyte Province
15.4 mi away
Padre Burgos Castle Resort
Padre Burgos Castle Resort
#3 of 3 in Padre Burgos
145 reviews
13.8 mi away
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
#1 of 3 in Padre Burgos
142 reviews
76.8 mi away
Z Pad Residences
Z Pad Residences
#3 of 21 in Tacloban
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Caimito Beach Hotel
Caimito Beach Hotel
#1 of 10 in Maasin
23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jaimees Hotel & Resort
Jaimees Hotel & Resort
#6 of 21 in Southern Leyte Province
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
GV Hotel Maasin City
GV Hotel Maasin City
#5 of 10 in Maasin
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Romana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Romana Hotel

Address: Tomas Oppus St | Maasin City, Southern Leyte Province, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Southern Leyte Province
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Southern Leyte Province
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Villa Romana Hotel Southern Leyte Province, Philippines - Leyte Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing