We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”
Review of Java Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Java Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Laoag
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We saw this hotel on our trip north when we stopped for gas at the station in front of the place. Didn't even know there was a hotel there because you can't really see it from the road. It looks like a giant grass hut inspired by beautiful Indonesian architecture. The hotel is a pleasant surprise just outside a busy provincial city. The rooms are reasonably priced for this caliber hotel, although cheaper could be had in the area but they didn't seem as nice. We paid 3100p for a room for 4 (2 full beds) and there is a mini fridge in the room with a hot water pot. Their free Wi-Fi in the rooms was bad, had to go to the lobby or restaurant but once there it was fine. Food in the restaurant was good and it comes with a free breakfast that offers Philippine or American style. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: A room on the ground floor will save you walking up flights of steps. Ours was 1st floor in the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

The first thing that will catch your attention is the design of the hotel which resembles like a big 'kubo' (native hut), apparently the biggest 'hut' in the country, although the rooms inside are already modern and concrete.

The room fixtures are decent for a provincial city. The room is spacious, but the bed quality is average, and the furnitures simple/ sparse. The toilet fixtures are also a bit old already, but you still get a good hot shower.The A/C was working well, and so as cable TV. In other words, it is more than enough to get a good night sleep.

What I don't like though are the flying mosquitos inside the room. They should be fumigating their rooms. Another setback is there is no wifi in the rooms. You have to go the lobby to get a signal.

They is also a decent restaurant in the hotel, and breakfast is decent, simple Ilocano/ Filipino/ Western breakfast set.

It is, therefore, not a luxury hotel, but a good business hotel for a night sleep or decent hotel for tourists in the city of Laoag, and probably the best in Laoag already.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This Indonesian inspired hotel may be one of the better hotels in Laoag. It is located near the downtown and is easily accessible by local transportation (tricycle) if you want to explore the city. It is also a good jump off point if you want to go to the famous Pagudpod. Staying a night or two in this hotel to explore the city before you go to Pagudpod is recommended. The only set back is its facade from the main road. It is fronted by a gasoline station that somehow affects its aesthetic look. The hotel lobby has a good design though it is not airconditioned and can be very humid and hot during summer. The hallways are unique in design. The rooms are relatively larger than the rooms in other Laoag hotels. The room balcony is facing a ricefield at the back of the hotel and can be relaxing during afternoons. The beds are so..so.. in terms of comfort but is big enough to accomodate 2 persons. The room lighting is somewhat dim and can be improved. The fixtures inside the room is a little bit old but still gives the effect of its inspired theme. The hotel staff are relatively courteous except for one instance that my sleep was bothered by continuous knocking of a staff that was tasked to clean the room. Their staff should somehow know the whereabouts of their guest specially if there were arrangements made for transportation service. I've waited for almost 2 hours in the hotel lobby waiting for my transport service en route to another hotel for a meeting, unknowingly the receptionist already told my supposed to be service that I've already left thus making me wait for that long - that almost ruined my day. A must try is their restaurant Eagles Nest, serving authentic Ilocano food, much better than the other restos in the city. It offers good ambience and friendly resto staff. Overall, my stay here is quite good. I will still come back and stay at this hotel. Im hoping that improvement will be made.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Almelkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I was welcomed with a beautifully designed Indonesian inspired hotel that i came to like instantly,very distinct and i appreciate it that it combined local material even if its concretized. The receptionists were friendly though we spent more time deciding and computing for our room fees and patiently they accomodated us. They honored a senior citizen card and they provide 10% discount for corporate accounts. Our room at 2nd level is the standard one but very spacious that it could accomodate 2 extra queen beds if you want it maximized for a price of 2400 per night. It has thermos, complimentary coffee, a small ref with drinks, a Cable TV and a balcony overviewing the pool on the ground level which is included for use plus a gym. Breakfast is also included. Eagle's nest resto and bar beside is an add on for those who want to chill out during the night. There's a wall climbing ( 100 per hour ) and basketball court at the back. For improvement, the service during the breakfast is disgusting.We ordered for coffee and

Room Tip: sine, there are no elevators, choose rooms at the ground level as much as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaizen1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We booked the Dorm 402 and it was just right for the 13 of us. There were 2 bathrooms, 3 comfort rooms, 6 bunk beds, 4 single beds put as one, and 1 small table. It's no luxury at all but good thing is it's air conditioned and with hot water.

No elevator... so get those legs ready to climb up. Breakfast is not included for dorm rooms. There was a pool but it's small. The staff were ok. Exterior of the hotel was very nice compared to the other hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy_Rosario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Driving up to the hotel, one should be suspicious of this hotel. The parking lot in front of the hotel is also a gas station. The lobby is cute, Javanese style. Hotel, the good news stops there. there is no elevator (three floors). They advertise free in-room Wi-Fi, but it didn't work in the room, in the lobby or anywhere on the premises. Breakfast is included, but it, too is not worth it. You have the choice between, continental, American or Filipino breakfast. Extra charge for brewed coffee and the service matches the food....horrible. At best this is a 2 star hotel, but is to be avoided.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MDiamant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My husband and I planned to tour Laoag and Vigan after our surgical mission in Apayao. As recommended by Trip Advisor members, I booked a deluxe room with a view of the paddy fields at the back. The reviews were not WRONG!

The thatched roof hotel is located behind a gasoline station, away from the city center and with a nearby convenience store. The front desk staffs were pleasant and very helpful.

Our room was clean and equipped with hotel amenities, namely, air conditioner, TV, refrigerator, cabinet, coffee with cream/sugar, and bathroom with hot/cold water - a LUXURY after 9 days in Apayao! Complimentary plated breakfast (American, Continental, or Filipino) and a cup of instant coffee is included with the booking, served at Java’s Eagle’s Nest restaurant. We ate dinner at the restaurant, offers a range of food, Ilocano cuisine, Japanese, etc. My only suggestion is to have 2 persons servings to the soup menu (i.e. sinigang na bangus, etc., currently it is set for 4 persons servings).

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PepenPilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laoag
46.3 mi away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#1 of 7 in Vigan
516 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Tiffany Laoag
Hotel Tiffany Laoag
#8 of 12 in Laoag
86 reviews
4 mi away
Grand Octagon Resort
Grand Octagon Resort
#12 of 12 in Laoag
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Rivermount Hotel and Resort
1.4 mi away
Laoag Renzo Hotel
Laoag Renzo Hotel
#3 of 12 in Laoag
124 reviews
16.2 mi away
Playa Tropical Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Java Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Java Hotel

Address: Brgy # 55-B Salet | Gen. Segundo Avenue, Laoag, Luzon 2900, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Norte Province > Laoag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Laoag
Price Range: £45 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Java Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Java Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Java Hotel Laoag, Ilocos, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing