We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Resort Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Alpensia Pyeongchang Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
InterContinental Alpensia Pyeongchang Resort
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Pyeongchang-gun
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Resort Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I feel the best time of the year to stay at InterContinental Alpensia, one of the hotels set in a relatively big resort in Pyeongchang area, is in winter when one would get to see the entire area covered in a coat of white snow. Located next to the ski slopes, it is the most upscale accommodation in this resort.

If you stay there, you can wander outside the hotel and check out the other restaurants, grocery store, convenience store, and entertainment centres around the area. We ate at a small Korean restaurant and the food was quite delectable - noodles served piping hot and chicken, fish fried to crisp perfection.

If you do go during winter, make sure you invest in a good pair of non-slip boots as the place can become very slippery especially when the snow melts and turns into ice. It can get very cold too, so good thermals and insulation is absolutely necessary if one is not to freeze to death whilst wandering outdoors!

Rooms at this hotel are of decent size and clean. The lounge area with a fireplace is cosy and inviting. Reception staff were courteous and, though not very fluent in English, tried their best to respond to our queries. There is also a gym, a spa, a gift shop and restaurants located within the hotel. We did not get a room with a view as ours faced the front of the building. For best views, request for a room facing the ski slopes. I am sure it would be a beautiful sight and at night, you can get to see the ski lift, all lit, going up and down the slopes too.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AlicePng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    114
    26
    9
    7
See reviews for
130
58
12
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

The IC Alpensia resort is a bit of an oasis in an otherwise a desolate countryside. You will find hospitality and service usually reserved at 5 star hotels in top city destinations. This is probably this property's only concern. Due to this mismatch, a stark contrast is immediately noticeable - a sensation felt in highly secure hotels in downtrodden areas - and travelers will find a lack of dining options beyond the immediate compounds of the hotel. Pyeongchang by no means is downtrodden or dangerous, its just that its a bit humdrum in and of itself, except for the skiing and golfing ofcourse.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank donSeoul_SouthKorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel stay was overall comfortable. Though there are some areas that needs improvement like wifi, heater in water closet, bidet .. It may be considered as minor but if those amenities are present it would have been perfect. The resort is very nice. It was snowing when we went there. The kids went skiing and they love it...

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessauy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Very nice and cosy hotel especially during winter time. This hotel is walking distance to the Ski Resort and link to Holiday Inn which comes with a casino. They have some shops around it for drink, food and convenient store

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy8618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

It is a fantastic hotel. Nice lobby with nice cinnamon smell. The room is spacious, well equipped with sofa. I like the bathroom very much. The bathtub is cool. The only setback is, the water will leak out via the shower area...the management should take a look at that.
Since we couldn't get the wifi in the hotel as it is chargeable, we have to go to the casino which is in Holiday Inn, located at the back of the hotel. It's worth to walk as you could find some restaurants and convenient stores along that area.
Beautiful scenery outside the room is really breathtaking. We really enjoyed the stay as the king size bed is very comfortable.
Breakfast served is too normal but it is acceptable.
Recommended for those who are going to ski and perfect for newly wed honeymoon couple.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjwa_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We were there on the 30th Nov and We had a fabulous stay. Breath taking mountain view covered with snow can be enjoyed directly from the balcony. Room is cosy , well equipped and staff is courteous. Location is next to the ski resort. Perfectly wonderful!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happykl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed both in InterContinental Hotel and in Alpensia Resort multiple times since it was openend around 2009. In the start especially the InterConti tried tried their best to satisfy also foreigner's needs (at that time: European Management) - but after a management change and a new focus on Korean (and Chinese) customers, I absolutely can not recommend this Hotel. It is highly overpriced (only Koreans can save money with a membership). The rooms are in bad shape in the meantime (better cleaning necessary, dirty floors, ... - not really an InterConti Standard), the lobby is unfriendly, staff mostly can't speak English or any other language but Korean, the executive floor is closed, restaurants cleans tables at 21:30 - and asks you to leave at 21:45 (even during a registered new year party), registration desk is unfriendly and gives you the feeling, that you only distrub them, shuttle service to Yongpyong ski resort runs only two times per day, the ski pass is not valid for Alpensia AND Yongpyong - and is also overpriced (discount available again only to Koreans having Korean credit cards or registering on their Korean web site - and also having a Korea resident ID), absolutely no after-ski-fun (restaurants try to close early - even before 22:00).
AND: if you are a member of the IHG club and want to spend your miles - no chance - they blocked booking with bonus miles for the complete year 2014...
I won't go there again. Goodbye InterConti Alpensia ...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpatInSeoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Alpensia Pyeongchang Resort, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear ExpatInSeoul,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the issues you had with most of our amenities and the dissatisfaction you encountered with our service level. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pyeongchang-gun
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Alpensia Pyeongchang
Holiday Inn Resort Alpensia Pyeo...
#1 of 10 in Pyeongchang-gun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite
Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia ...
#2 of 10 in Pyeongchang-gun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kensington Flora Pyeongchang
Kensington Flora Pyeongchang
#5 of 10 in Pyeongchang-gun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
SEAMARQ Hotel
SEAMARQ Hotel
#1 of 25 in Gangneung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.2 mi away
YongPyong Resort Dragon Valley Hotel
YongPyong Resort Dragon Valley H...
#4 of 10 in Pyeongchang-gun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
19.5 mi away
Elf Pension
Elf Pension
#2 of 51 in Pyeongchang-gun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Alpensia Pyeongchang Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Alpensia Pyeongchang Resort

Property: InterContinental Alpensia Pyeongchang Resort
Address: 325, Solbong-ro, Yongsan-ri, Daegwallyeong-myeon, Pyeongchang-gun, Gangwon-do 25351, South Korea
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Gangwon-do > Pyeongchang-gun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Pyeongchang-gun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Alpensia Pyeongchang Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Pyeongchang Resort Alpensia is located in Pyeongchang County, Gangwon province which is the third largest county in South Korea. It s about 2 hours drive away from Korea s capital Seoul and well connected through public transport. The hotel is part of Alpensia, Korea s premier all-year resort, a purpose built, alpine-style village in the Taebaek Mountain region, only 20 minutes drive away from the east coast of Korea is set in the midst of beautiful, unspoiled nature. World-class facilities for all-year leisure, meetings and incentives make Alpensia the perfect choice for a relaxing weekend away as well as for workshops, team-building activities and product presentations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your InterContinental Alpensia Pyeongchang Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Alpensia Pyeongchang Hotel Pyeongchang-Gun
InterContinental Alpensia Pyeongchang Resort South Korea/Pyeongchang-Gun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing