We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nirvana”
Review of Max Wadiya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ambalangoda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Max Wadiya
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ambalangoda
Certificate of Excellence
Egersund, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nirvana”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Paradise. Heaven. Nirvana. When it comes to Max Wadiya, it’s easy to run out of superlatives that haven’t been used up in all the other reviews. We stayed for two weeks and every second of our time there was perfect. Wonderful from the moment we arrived and were greeted with mango juice, inviting staff, including the super friendly dog Ginger (Ginger is so polite and sensitive that I am sure he will leave non-dog lovers alone.) The owners even called from Amsterdam to make sure everything was to our satisfaction (it was). Every meal was a culinary experience. Leave yourself in Ranjan’s hands, and, trust me, you won’t be disappointed. I’ve never seen anything like this level of service and I’ve been to over 70 countries as a journalist and private traveller and stayed in every kind of accommodation imaginable. The staff and the place were so genuine, nothing slick or rehearsed about this hospitality. “The boys” were always there when you needed something, but were never intrusive. The accommodations (we had the blue suite) were just what we wanted, with a sitting group, a small kitchen to keep our beer and white wine cold and our tea hot plus a great bathroom. We loved the antique furniture and being able to dine on our own large veranda overlooking the ocean. (You can hear the roar of crashing ocean waves from bed, so if you’re a light sleeper, bring earplugs as we did.) After our morning swim in the ocean, we found ourselves chatting with friendly Sri Lankan fishermen or kicking a soccer ball around with local children. We’d swim laps in the pool each day (you have to do something to work off all the great food) and then find one coconut drink treat waiting for us at poolside.
Ok. So here I am trying to think of things to say that might be different: 1) My wife is a senior executive who has been extremely stressed and busy for the past two years. I had not seen her succeed in putting her job aside, even on vacation, until we got to Max Wadiya. It took about two minutes for her to say, “What job?” 2) We left for a couple nights to explore other parts of Sri Lanka with the help of the great driver Ranjan found, it was only a matter of hours before we started feeling homesick for Max Wadiya.
There is only one bad thing about staying at Max Wadiya. You will be ruined, spoiled forever, and may never find anything to measure up.

We will be back. Again and again and again.

Thanks!
Doug (This text has been vetted and approved by Eva)

Room Tip: One of the suites for couples, the villa for famlies or groups of friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
62
66
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

A four hour flight from Dubai, and a 2.5hr drive down the western coast of Sri Lanka is where you'll find Max Wadiya on the beach.
We are a married couple over 40 and were looking for a place to stay for a week with authentic home-cooked Sri Lankan food. A place that was peaceful, but still among the community.
We didn't book through tripadvisor, but went straight to the website to book all-inclusive. Before booking and after booking the email communication was excellent. Ruth, the owner, explained anything we needed to know and arranged airport transport for us. She even called us from Amsterdam in our room to make sure we had settled in OK after we arrived.
Whilst we were there we used the tuc-tuc service many times and most places are within half an hour. We visited the Mask Museum, Galle Fort, the little Tsunami Photo Museum, the Government Souvenir Shop and the Dudley Silva Batik shop. One day we went to Cactus cafe on the coast for lunch. The driver waited while we had a delicious meal. Along the way, the driver was very willing to stop and explain monuments and let us look around. He waited for us on every journey and took us back loaded with our bargain shopping (and booze)! Just ask Ranjan to order you a tuc-tuc at a certain time and he arrives.
It was sad to see the ruins from the tsunami dotted all along the coast, but rather than make you completely miserable it gave you an insight into the people and explained why they are so generous with their time and smiles. We were amazed at how many strangers smiled and said Hello.
Everyone mentions the food prepared and cooked by Ranjan and his team,,, so I shall keep it short. Take some elastic-waisted trousers with you!
We had the tangerine suite and it has everything you need. What I enjoyed the most was being able to make myself a drink in the suite's small kitchen at odd hours of the night whilst I watched videos on my ipad, and my husband carried on sleeping in the four-poster bed with mosquito-netting all around.
I also enjoyed the sound of the real-live train going past a few times a day, hooting to let you know there was life outside the confines of the villa.
We went in October and for the first few nights we had fantastic thunder storms. Coming from Dubai, that rain was a real treat for us. The rest of the week was perfect weather for lounging about in the lovely garden (on the hammocks) or in the marvelous pool, walking on the beach or travelling about in the tuc-tuc.
I keep coming back and editing this review to add more as I remember it, but, wary that you might be bored reading it I shall finish on my personal favourite experience and that was watching the fishermen bring in the early catch at the bottom of the garden on our last morning. I've added a photo of it.
Would we go there again?
Yes.
Would we recommend it to you?
Yes.
Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: Try to book a suite. They are like granny flats, with a small 'proper' kitchen, and lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheilaKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We found Max Wadiya on Trip Advisor and was awed by the amazing reviews given by all their guests. Surprise surprise that here I am now, giving a piece of my own too! :) Max Wadiya was indeed an amazing getaway for couples- young and old, families, and group of friends. Ranjan and his team of boys(men!) were very helpful, down to earth and kind to us during the entire duration of our stay. They were helpful but did not pry into our privacy which was great! The sea was very rough during our stay but we truly enjoyed the salty pool. The food served was very fresh and tasty. It was close enough to Galle when we wanted to do a little sight seeing. There were some noises coming from the trains--but we wouldn't complain about it cause it is what makes the place what it is! Having some of those Sri Lankan sounds while we're tucked away inside the cosy resort. We would definitely return again the next time we're in Sri Lanka! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plfoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We chose to stay at Max Wadiya because of the amazing reviews and were not disappointed.
The delightful staff led by the incomparable Ranjan made us feel so welcome and thoroughly spoilt. It was as if we were at home enhanced by elements of luxury.
We stayed in the Villa at the beginning of our holiday and chose to return at the end where we experienced the suites. The quality of the bedrooms and bathrooms was high, with all the necessary air conditioning, fans and mosquito protection.
Ranjan and his staff took great pride in the quality and variety of their cuisine. Every meal was carefully prepared and presented and we enjoyed our cookery lesson. The warm salt water pool, Ayurevedic massage, advice and care were truly wonderful. An experience to remember!

Room Tip: The suites provide additional space and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie-Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We (4 adults, retirement age ish!) arrived at Max Wadiya after a long, tiring journey and were immediately impressed by the warm welcome whcih we received from Ranjan and his staff. We stayed for 3 nights and were so sorry to leave that we re-booked for the end of our holiday. The rest of Sri Lanka was fantastic - amazing scenery, ancient sites and friendly people but it was really lovely to return to Max Wadiya. It felt like coming home and we were treated like a mixture of family and royalty. One of the highlights of our stay was the cooking lesson from Ranjan. I've come home armed with spices and a cookery book but sadly, I don't think that my efforts will ever match Ranjan's. A great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We are a family of 2 adults and 2 children. We stayed at Max Wadiya for a week, where we had the place to ourselves for most of it, and it was such a relaxing week. We lazed in the garden/ by the pool and on the beach. The food for amazing! The staff were excellent. And we felt very safe here. IT was great for the kids as they were so happy just to play on the beach and in the pool. And the beach we had to ourselves. Rajan, the manager, arranged trips for us to the tea plantation, elephant orphanage, turtle sanctury etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJackson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Max wadiya is a great place for a relaxed holiday.
We are a family of two adults and two teenagers from Israel, and we stayed in the villa for four nights at the end of August.
This small boutique hotel is beautifully decorated and excellently maintained. the service of the staff is outstanding, and we enjoyed the delicious food, the hospitality, the pool and different relaxing areas and the little surprises that awaited us every day.
We hardly left the villa, since we enjoyed it so much. The personal experience made it feel like home away from home, and we definitely recommend it to anyone traveling to Sri Lanka.
Many thanks to Ruth, the owner, who helped us arrange our trip and of course to Ranjan, the manager,for his hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaweis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambalangoda
10.2 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
5.1 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
15.2 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
JUCE Ambalangoda
JUCE Ambalangoda
#2 of 22 in Ambalangoda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Hambantota Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Six Degrees North
Six Degrees North
#3 of 22 in Ambalangoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Max Wadiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Max Wadiya

Property: Max Wadiya
Address: 147, Galle road | Madampe, Ambalangoda 0351, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ambalangoda
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ambalangoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Max Wadiya is an award-winning select boutique hotel that offers an authentic Sri Lankan experience beyond 5-star. With a verdant garden opening onto a sweeping unspoiled beach, it offers a sanctuary of peace and tranquillity, a kitchen that rivals the best on the island and a professional and caring staff who will attend to your every need. Two luxury suites provide intimacy and privacy. A connected 3-bedroom villa, rented as a single unit, is just right for a family or group of friends. The entire 10-bed property, which can be expanded with extra beds for children, is perfect for reunions or gatherings of far-flung families. All rooms are en-suite with terraces overlooking the Indian Ocean. A secluded 40-foot infinity pool is a watery alternative to the sea, and ayurvedic treatments and massages are available on request. Tariffs are inclusive of three full meals, taxes, service charge and extras like coffee or afternoon tea. The Wadiya does not serve alcohol but guests are welcome to bring their own, without a corkage fee. The concept: your temporary home on the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Max Wadiya Hotel Ambalangoda
Max Wadiya Sri Lanka/Ambalangoda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing