We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic service and ambience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Max Wadiya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ambalangoda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Max Wadiya
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ambalangoda
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

My friend and I spent 4 nights at Max Wadiya and had the most fantastic time.

The service from Ranjan and his team was exemplary - just the right level of attentiveness . Ranjan organised everything we wanted to do - from meal times, trips, cooking demonstration, massages and yoga - with seamless effort.

The rooms were spacious, cool and spotless - lovely touches such as tea, coffee and biscuits, a spare plug adapter, fresh water everyday, turn back service in the evening etc etc.

The most fabulous aspect for me was the food - fresh tasty abundant and beautifully cooked. I loved trying all the different Sri Lankan specialities.

Thank you for a great stay!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sue h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
60
65
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Our family of 17 (8 adults and 9 children ranging from 17years to 14 months) was at Max Wadiya just after Christmas and it was above and beyond our highest expectations! It came highly recommended by friends, but we had to experience it to believe how beautiful and wonderful this taste of paradise is! When we arrived late at night for our 1 week stay, we were a bit tired, and the staff was there to meet every need and make sure we were all comfortably settled into rooms that were both exotically BEAUTIFUL, perfectly clean, and met every need. Of course Ginger adopted us right away and our love was mutual. We loved this sweet dog! Ranjan has such a gentle nature, and yet is so very efficient and pleasant. He could make reservations for transportation to the various places we wanted to visit during the week, even on short notice, including Galle Fort, the silk factory, the turtle hatchery, the amazing tea plantation, whale watching and snorkeling....all within a relatively close distance. The entire staff made us feel like royalty with the wonderful and beautifully presented food at every meal. Adults and children alike were so impressed with the delicious food and we all loved trying every new dish. In fact we had to find hopper pots in the market to take back home with us. The entire staff could not have been more helpful or delightful to visit with. We loved being by the beach, and especially when the local children came to play with our children on the beach. That was so special and unique. They were beautiful and delightful children that we would have liked to see more of. Ruth was wonderful to communicate with us about what we had questions about, as well as her initiative to recommend things to us. She was so pleasant and helpful. The special New Year's Eve they planned for us was so much fun...the local dancers and music, then the fireworks! Wonderful New Year's memories forever! We were sad to leave, and hope to come back! A truly excellent experience at Max Wadiya!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are exotic and beautiful and very clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

What a retreat! Such a great hotel and very family friendly. The staff is so helpful and friendly and the food is soooo good! Our family occupied the entire property, with eight adults and nine kids ranging in age from 1 to 17. It was a great place for everyone. The locals were out fishing every morning and we all helped them pull in the nets. The only drawback is that the train is across the street, but it stops running around 10. This is a great place!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We (a family of 4 adults and 4 children) spent 6 nights at the wonderful Max Wadiya Boutique Hotel for the Christmas holiday. It came highly recommended by friends and it certainly met our expectations. Ruth was wonderful too work with prior to our arrival and Ranjan ensured that our stay was perfect. The entire staff was professional and courteous. Ranjan took care of all our needs including organizing various day trips (Galle, whale watching, snorkeling, lagoon trip in the Madugana River, and the Turtle Hatchery-which was the best part of the vacation for all four children).

The warmth and hospitality of the entire staff certainly made this vacation a memorable one. The food was outstanding and they easily accommodated for both the adults taste and the children’s taste. The beach was pristine and the pool excellent. We spent a lot of time in both places. The dog, Ginger, was loved by all and he liked going to the beach with us. The worst part about Max Wadiya was leaving. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, which was fun filled and relaxing. It was an excellent experience that we would highly recommend and hope to repeat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteSwez5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Max Wadiya was the first stop on our honeymoon and in our eyes it could not have been better. We were treated like royalty by Ranjan and his team from the moment we arrived till the day we left and this hotel experience was without doubt the best of our trip.

We were staying in the blue suite, which had everything we needed, a comfy big four poster bed, our own sitting room area, kitchen facilities, a stereo that connected to our iPod, digital tv (which had a channel showing the Ashes!), and a balcony which overlooked the beautiful gardens and breaking ocean waves.

Our days were spent mainly sunning ourselves by the pool, snoozing in the comfy hammocks, strolling along the deserted beach, and generally relaxing in the tropical paradise presented to us. We also took advantage of some of the excursions offered such as blue whale watching in Marissa, Safari at Uda Wala national park, and a visit to the Unesco heritage site of Galle Fort, which were all amazing experiences. The lasting memory, however, will be the amazing food on offer, which was hands down the best we experienced on our trip. Each night Ranjan and his team lovingly prepared the most delectable local dishes, which will never be forgotten!

All in all our stay at Max Wadiya was perfect and we couldn't recommend it highly enough for those considering a hotel in Sri Lanka. We just hope that one day we will be lucky enough to return!

Room Tip: If you are going all out then you have to choose the blue suite, it seemed to be the most secluded a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLeandro83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed in the Tangerine Suite, the ground floor suite of the two built alongside the original three-bedroomed villa. Upstairs, the Blue Suite is just as lovely and spacious inside, but with a slightly more enclosed-feeling balcony where the Tangerine has a terrace onto the lawn. Also, the Tangerine is the only one that has two showers in the bathroom - one 'normal' tiled one, and one semi-outdoor with stone floor and trough of tropical plants. The normal one was good and powerful, the other less so. Both use solar heated water (with electric heating backup for cloudy periods). Both have good, king-sized four-poster beds with very pretty laced mosquito nets round them. We came to Max Wadiya for a few days of unwinding and reading at the start of out holiday, and it was just great. if I were pushed to make one suggestion, it would be to consider some softer, more 'lounging' seating in the suite. I found myself borrowing extra cushions from other seats to soften the wicker chairs.

The Wadiya isn't selling itself as a 'gourmet' destination - but it could! We kept feeling we were having the very best examples of fine, traditional Srilankan food, even as they managed to ring the changes and offer us something different every day for eight days. At the start of the visit we were shown their extensive menu of breakfast, lunch and dinner menus, including various European and Indian options, as well as many Srilankan ones, but quickly gave up on trying to choose and quickly came to trust Ranjan to put something together for us based on vague directions such as 'Maybe if there are prawns in the market today?' or 'We liked that 'seven vegetable' curry'. He (and his inestimable chef, of course - but on our last night it was himself cooking as chef had to be elsewhere) never let us down. We had great French toast one day for breakfast, an amazing crab curry, coconut about 30 different ways, tasty tandoori chicken, a special banana-leaf parcel of aromatic deliciousness, and sweet, creamy, caramelly puddings of various sorts. Oh, as we had options to eat in our suite, on the terrace, in a pavilion on the lawn, in the main villa, on the sun deck just above the beach, and even on the sand of the beach (I think, we didn't try that one!). Truly, come to Max Wadiya for the food!

We spent the days variously swimming in the sea (and/or playing in the surf) on the immaculately clean stretch of beach just at the bottom of the garden (a public beach but with very few people on or near it - until the first day of the school holidays, when we were joined by a gang of local boys for a little while), pootling up and down the modest but lovely seawater pool, and moving between sun loungers, hammocks, and chairs in various places to quietly read our books. In addition, we tried some of the wide range of Ayurvedic treatments on offer and found them beautifully done, and amazingly reasonably priced (although it's worth mentioning that the Ayurvedic centre is right beside the pool, so may not be that peaceful if you or other residents have kids splashing and larking around just beside you!). The Wadiya offers a range of 5 and 7 day Ayurvedic programmes for wellness, weight loss, etc which you could ask about, or they could usefully put details of on their website, to enable a little bit of planning before arrival.

About the only thing we weren't quite expecting, having read their website and Tripadvisor reviews extensively before we arrived, was to find the Wadiya was right beside the main road, with the train track just beyond. But DON'T WORRY, it's no big deal! The road is not as busy as it once was, now there's a new highway elsewhere taking the trucks south, and the trains are not very frequent. Both quieten down significantly in the early evening, and the nights are quiet and undisturbed. OK, so the trains start up again quite early and do sound their horns a lot, but somehow it didn't prevent us from sleeping well and generally relaxing. I mention it here so that a) you won't be as surprised as I was, and b) because if you really want to get away from all the hustle-bustle sounds of normal life, then maybe I'd regretfully suggest you look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Blue Suite - upstairs and private. Tangerine Suite - ground floor and opens onto the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattAlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Took me a few days to sit down and write this review - I had not realized how difficult it is to describe perfection!

Without doubt our five night stay at the Max Wadiya has been our best holiday experience to date. We had very high expectations having read the fabulous reviews on Tripadvisor, but our stay at the Max Wadiya far exceeded our expectations.

First let me start with the email interaction with Ruth to firm up our booking. Her responses were quick, extremely clear and her attention to detail was amazing. I knew right then that we were in good hands.

Next the location of Max Wadiya. I can't imagine a nicer setting. You walk from your suite to the verandah, and from there on to the lawn, and from there on to the beach and into the sea. The beach is pristine, very safe and best of all, you have it all to yourself!

We stayed at the Tangerine suite - which was very spacious and elegantly furnished. It has a very convenient kitchenette for making tea/coffee and a fridge for keeping the wine and beer cold.

And how can I forget the food! Every meal was a delight. Every meal had a different menu and every dish was delicious! Even the way the food was laid out and presented was outstanding. I can't remember the last time I have eaten so much.

But in the end what made our stay at the Max Wadiya truly exceptional was the warmth and hospitality extended to us by Ranjan and his team. We felt at home the moment we walked in. They quietly and efficiently took care of our every need. Ranjan organized a whale watching trip for us - with a picnic breakfast included. The next day my wife and I had perhaps our best massage experience ever at the Max Wadiya. On Christmas eve, we were treated to a traditional Sri Lankan dance performance that was truly magical.

Very clearly the team at Max Wadiya love their job and genuinely care for their guests. It is very rare to see this level of dedication and motivation - and I guess the credit for this should go to Ruth for her superb organizational skills.

In summary, our stay at the Max Wadiya was outstanding in every aspect - the location, the comfort, the food and the hospitality. We are definitely going back to the Max Wadiya as soon as we can!

Room Tip: The Tangerine suite is on the ground floor, is airy and has lots of natural light. Ideal if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rogercharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambalangoda
11.0 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
6.2 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
14.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,368 reviews
14.3 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
8.5 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Max Wadiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Max Wadiya

Property: Max Wadiya
Address: 147, Galle road | Madampe, Ambalangoda 0351, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Ambalangoda
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ambalangoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Max Wadiya is an award-winning select boutique hotel that offers an authentic Sri Lankan experience beyond 5-star. With a verdant garden opening onto a sweeping unspoiled beach, it offers a sanctuary of peace and tranquillity, a kitchen that rivals the best on the island and a professional and caring staff who will attend to your every need. Two luxury suites provide intimacy and privacy. A connected 3-bedroom villa, rented as a single unit, is just right for a family or group of friends. The entire 10-bed property, which can be expanded with extra beds for children, is perfect for reunions or gatherings of far-flung families. All rooms are en-suite with terraces overlooking the Indian Ocean. A secluded 40-foot infinity pool is a watery alternative to the sea, and ayurvedic treatments and massages are available on request. Tariffs are inclusive of three full meals, taxes, service charge and extras like coffee or afternoon tea. The Wadiya does not serve alcohol but guests are welcome to bring their own, without a corkage fee. The concept: your temporary home on the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Max Wadiya Hotel Ambalangoda
Max Wadiya Sri Lanka/Ambalangoda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing