We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“R&R”
Review of Max Wadiya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ambalangoda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Max Wadiya
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ambalangoda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Max Wadiya contrived to be the most relaxing, most perfect place to spend a week with the family. Though not exactly accustomed to having impeccable house-staff attend to our every need, it was an intoxicatingly easy habit to acquire. Ranjan made us feel utterly at home - his unperturable manner makes him Max Wadiya's greatest asset (he has great kids too, if you're lucky enough to meet them). His oversight in the kitchen - being a skilled chef is only one of his qualities - made evident a quite extraordinary passion for presenting us with meal after meal of the highest quality and diversity. Trips were arranged with aplomb, ease and always at a price we'd never have managed to negotiate ourselves. The house is beautiful, the gardens impeccable, the pool.. the more I think about it, the more I want be be back there this minute! I've forgotten the rather frequent clatter of trains from the line behind the coast road - in fact they strangely became an attribute, not a distraction, as Max Wadiya sits, an oasis, between the perfect paradise of an empty, palm fringed beach and the bustling reality of Sri Lankan daily life. The mosquitos only seemed to find my blood to their taste - the rest of the family had it relatively easy - and I've known much worse (the lavish mosquito nets above every bed performed faultlessly). A special mention for our new friend Ginger. Marks out of 5? 6+

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeeSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Max Wadiya was the first stop on our 9 day holiday in Sri Lanka and a brilliant entry into, for us, a new country. Our plane was late leaving Shanghai so we didn't arrive until about 3:30 in the morning. Despite that, the staff was waiting for us and ready to provide us with food or drink. We were quite happy just to go to bed. When we awoke later that morning, I opened the curtains and truly thought I had arrived in Paradise! Max Wadiya faces the beautiful blue sea and a gentle breeze blows through the palm trees. We were enchanted.
Throughout our three day stay, we were catered to, but not disturbed, as if this was our own personal villa complete with a faithful dog, Ginger. The food was the absolute best we had in Sri Lanka. The villa is lovely, the grounds are lovely, and the staff is brilliant. Too many nice details to mention. We hope to return someday, because it really did feel like our own villa if only for a short time. And I know Ginger misses us!
Ruth, the owner, recommended a driver to us, Amila, who was very good and drove us all over the island.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the downstairs villa, the Tangerine Room, I think it is called.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kateinshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

It would be as much misnomer to call Max Wadiya a B&B as it would be to call it a resort. It is a small, high quality, high-service guest house. You ought to book for full board (3 meals/day) even if you know you'll be missing lunch occasionally because, frankly, the food is that good. The suites are lovely as well as practical: water pressure is excellent, the A/C worked reasonably well (though it was really, really hot outside), the internet connection was reliable and faster than we've experienced at lot more fancier places. They also supply electric adapters as Sri Lankan outlets are different from European or British 200 volt affairs.

The grounds are kept immaculate. The salt water swimming pool is spotlessly clean, as is the rest of the place. There are hammocks for chilling, and the beach about 30 feet from your room. A lot has been written in these reviews about the incredible service provided by the manager, Ranjan. He and his staff treated us as if we were the only and most important guests ever to stay over. We had our meals either at a gazebo overlooking the ocean, or on the veranda of our room.

Room Tip: We were only two but the 'family' suites we saw were amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The rooms are A+, the food A++, the grounds! the pool! the service! All excellent. Mr Ranjan is an experienced head master who runs a tight ship. We were a family of 7, with 3 children 10 yrs and under. Many dear memories created. Visit? Yes, return? Definitely. Thank you Ruth, thank you Ranjan, thank you max wadiya team

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globe trotter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Max Wadiya is wonderful. The service provided by the manger, Ranjan, and his team is impeccable and the food is out of this world -- fresh, locally sourced, impeccably prepared and presented. We stayed in the upper floor suite which is lovely, with breakfast served on our balcony each day. The house is steps from a wide, empty, beautiful beach where we walked each morning. There is also a lovely pool. Great sites, like Galle or Brief Garden are nearby if you can tear yourself away from the peace and tranquility of Max Wadiya. I will surely return!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We were lucky enough to stay in the Blue Suite at Max Wadiya for four nights, and even luckier to have the whole place to ourselves as the other guests had gone on a trip to Yala.. Max Wadiya is the best place we have ever stayed and we loved everything about it. Here are our "best bits";

- The accommodation is wonderful. The Blue Suite where we stayed was beautiful, very private with fantastic views of the Indian Ocean from the balcony (and from your bed!). The whole of Max Wadiya is very tastefully decorated with lots of antique furniture.

- The staff - Ranjan and his team - looked after us so well and we can't praise them highly enough for their kindness, professionalism, and hard work.

- The food is wonderful. Ranjan gave us a menu but we preferred to let him surprise us with different Sri Lankan specialities at each meal. Each meal was a banquet and delicious. Ranjan was also kind enough to give my husband a cookery lesson which he loved.

- You virtually have your own private beach at the end of the pretty gardens. No sun loungers or noisy bars here! Just fantastic stretches of soft white sand and the crashing waves of that mighty Indian Ocean. The little hotel dog, Ginger, loves coming for walks with you along the beach.

- Ginger the dog - he is a legend

- The saltwater swimming pool is a delight. You will never want to swim in chlorine again, and the salt makes it great for floating lazily. There is an Auyurvedic treatment area next to the pool where you can arrange to have a wide range of different treatments - I had the Shiro Dhara which I thoroughly recommend.

- Ranjan arranged a Whale Watching trip for us with Marrissa Water Sports which exceeded our expectations. We saw around 8 blue whales, some less than 20 feet away - goosebumbs or what! Amazing creatures. We also saw hundreds of spinner dolphins swimming alongside our boat. Fantastic way to spend Valentines Day, who needs red roses.

- If you can tear yourself away from Max Wadiya the temples in the area are well worth a visit especially the temple of the reclining Buddha, the largest in Asia.

We loved this place, and are busy planning how we can get back again soon. Thank you Ruth and Ranjan for everything.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Max wadiya was true paradise, we couldn't have asked for more. The place is immaculately looked after, Ruth and the manager Ranjan made us feel extremely welcome. The room was lovely, the food exquisite and the service very personal. We cannot wait to return! Thank you for a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambalangoda
21.3 mi away
Owl and the Pussycat Hotel
14.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
6.8 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#2 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
618 reviews
5.1 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
21.5 mi away
Apa Villa Thalpe
Apa Villa Thalpe
#16 of 33 in Unawatuna
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Max Wadiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Max Wadiya

Address: 147, Galle road | Madampe, Ambalangoda 0351, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ambalangoda
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ambalangoda
Price Range: £193 - £428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Max Wadiya is an award-winning select boutique hotel that offers an authentic Sri Lankan experience beyond 5-star. With a verdant garden opening onto a sweeping unspoiled beach, it offers a sanctuary of peace and tranquillity, a kitchen that rivals the best on the island and a professional and caring staff who will attend to your every need. Two luxury suites provide intimacy and privacy. A connected 3-bedroom villa, rented as a single unit, is just right for a family or group of friends. The entire 10-bed property, which can be expanded with extra beds for children, is perfect for reunions or gatherings of far-flung families. All rooms are en-suite with terraces overlooking the Indian Ocean. A secluded 40-foot infinity pool is a watery alternative to the sea, and ayurvedic treatments and massages are available on request. Tariffs are inclusive of three full meals, taxes, service charge and extras like coffee or afternoon tea. The Wadiya does not serve alcohol but guests are welcome to bring their own, without a corkage fee. The concept: your temporary home on the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Max Wadiya Hotel Ambalangoda
Max Wadiya Sri Lanka/Ambalangoda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing