We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful relaxed stay”
other traveller has booked this property
The view from the veranda
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view from the veranda
Living room panoramic The living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
The view from the veranda
Living room panoramic
The living room
The living room
The bedroom entrance
Antique doors and king size bed
One of the two bedrooms
The ensuite bathroom
The living room
Afternoon light in the living room
Afternoon light in the living room
Afternoon light in the living room
The veranda
The veranda
The veranda
The veranda
The kitchen corner
Sunset in the living room
Sunset on the veranda
Sunset on pool
The coconut trees bunch
The pool and the beach
View from the pool
Sunset on pool
Temple flowers on the veranda
Breakfast
The beach in front
Beach panoramic in front
The beach at sunset
The wave
The catamaran
Turtle on the beach in front
Baby turtles first dip
Bathing in the ocean in front
On the laguna
On the laguna
On the laguna
The fishermen in front of the house
The beach
Ambalangoda market
At the temple behind
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ambalangoda, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
StefanieJ...
1 review
“Wonderful relaxed stay”
Reviewed 7 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We really enjoyed our stay in Villananda. Not quite a touristic area, which we like. Staff was extremely friendly and caring. House was very comfortable and stylish. We really liked the architecture. Our favorite place was the porch. Sitting there with a cup of tea, a glass of wine watching the rough waves made us really happy and extremely relaxed. We will really recommend this accommodation to our friends in DXB. Thank you Sanpad and your team!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2018
Thank you Stephanie, we are really happy that you spent a nice time in Villananda. The team is working hard for that :-)
We will be happy to welcome you or your friends in the future,
Kind regards,
Nicole
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marktufty
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely villa”
Reviewed 17 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This is an amazing villa right on the beach. Lovely garden & pool area where you can literally step onto the beach, very well kept & clean. The staff, led by Kuma, are friendly, polite & cook amazing meals to your order. We were here for 12 days on honeymoon & had a wonderful time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa Z
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Most Dreamy Villa”
Reviewed 27 January 2018 for a stay in October 2017

This review is long overdue. My husband and I had an incredible 4 night stay during our honeymoon in October. Let me start off with my experience with the booking. Bruno was a great resource and very responsive to all my questions. Once booked, he shared with me a guide to the city and surroundings, a menu, and all the information we could possibly need for our stay - transport, transfers, tours, etc. Before we arrived, he also had the house manager arrange a rather complicated transfer: the hired a driver to pick us up from another villa we were staying at 4 hours away, drive us to udawalawe national park 3 hours away, wait for us while we went on a safari, and then drive us to Villananda 3 hours away. The fact that they were able to arrange this complex transportation was greatly appreciated.
Now on to our stay. When we arrive at the villa we were greeted by Kuma, the chef (and house manager during our stay) and 2 other house boys. Kuma gave us a tour of the house, explained that they were always available - we just had to ring a bell - and prepared a splendid dinner for us. Breakfast is included, and all other meals you pay for but they are very reasonably priced. Kuma is an excellent chef and every meal was incredible. I still think about the curry and rodis he prepared.
The villa is gorgeous. You can enjoy a dip in the pool, or go to the beach which is right at your footstep. We went in low season, and there was not a single soul on the beach, which made our stay even more relaxing. Speaking of low season, people might be discouraged because September and October have quite rainy forecasts - don't be. It only rained twice, and both times they were quick, hard showers.
Kuma also helped a arrange tuk-tuks for local tours, and a in-villa massage. Everyone at the villa, led by Kuma, was incredibly kind and helpful, and truly made our stay even more memorable. We loved our satay here, and cannot wait to be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris W
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paradise is here !”
Reviewed 25 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Paradise is here !

556239144

This is our second review to Villananda, a great dircetly on the beach. We just wanted to tell you that we spent really wonderful days in the Villananda again this year !

The new staff is at least as nice and friendly as the staff 2 years ago was. They all have now a place in our hearts and we can not complain about anything !

Wasantha, the manager, is very nice and helpful and has fulfilled all our wishes again and again. He made us very much possible and always supported us wherever he could.
The same applies to Kuma, the chef, who can cook very , very well and is a very special person, extremely helpful, caring and nice. He was a kind of "mom", both to us as guests and to the staff of Villananda :-)

Wasantha and Kuma have repeatedly brought us surprises that you have heard from our many joint conversations between the lines. Truly unbelievable!

It was a pleasure to have long conversations with both Wasantha and Kuma.

Also Madushan, Lahiru, Madusankha, Thilina and all others we can only mention positively. Always nice and friendly and they always there when you need them.
.
The breakfast was delicious every day, with local fruits and above all much more than 2016, and always well presented.
The coffee was also much better than 2016, much stronger and tastier. Also the toast was always cooked perfectly this year. Please keep it that way ;-)

In summary: our visit to Villananda in 2018 was an absolute dream, we are totally recovered and want to come back.

best regards, Doris and Walter

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome G
1 review
“A wonderful place with fantastic people”
Reviewed 13 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Having never been to Sri Lanka every thing was a discovery and I can’t image a better place to discover this beautiful country from. The house is lovely with impeccable location on the beach, the staff are adorable and go a long way to make your stay the most enjoyable possible. Between the great cooking and the good advise regarding traveling from the house to local activities, All in all a great time and place, I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian37...
England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best holidays we have ever had”
Reviewed 10 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

A truly wonderful & memorable 17 day holiday. A beautiful villa, terrace, gardens, pool, with beach beyond. … what more could you want. What also made our visit so special was Wasantha, Kuma & team. They were brilliant…nothing was too much trouble & it was their mission to ensure we had the best time. Kuma’s food was fantastic, he was very passionate about his cooking & dinner was always served with a huge smile. A must is a BBQ on the beach, fantastic food, a little table set up with lighting, the crashing waves… magical.

This was one of the best holidays we have ever had. A true experience... a holiday of a lifetime.

Thank you all so much.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty W
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A special place to stay and explore Sri Lanka”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have just returned from two amazing weeks in this beautiful villa. It is as stunning as it looks in the pictures and the swimming pool and beach views are incredible. What makes this villa so special is the staff, they are incredibly attentive and hard working but also friendly and gave us an insight into life in Sri Lanka. From the very first evening, after a long journey we arrived to a beautiful curry, water and a fridge of beer! Wasantha - the manager - makes sure you are comfortable throughout the stay and arranged many trips and excursions for us. This enabled us to enjoy the beauty of Sri Lanka with many unforgettable experiences.
At the start of the trip, our son fell and gashed his leg. Wasantha was brilliant coming with us to the hospital and helped as he needed stitches. His calm manner averted a situation becoming upsetting. The staff at the villa made a fuss of our son and he was made to feel special.

Kuma, the chef, is a wonderful cook and a kind and friendly presence- our children adored him. We ate at the villa most days and experienced most of his delicious menu - we highly recommend the banana pancakes and devilled tuna. He is very proud of his cooking and will spend time selecting the right ingredients for you. The breakfast are a real highlight with an array of colourful fruit.

We celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary with a barbecue on the beach. It was an unforgettable experience cooked over cinnamon branches. The staff also purchased a surprise cake and Isuru got out his guitar to play and sing for us. The memories of that evening will live long beyond this holiday.

The beach is almost deserted although the sea is very rough in August. We saw a few people on the beach some of whom joined us in games of cricket. Like everyone we met in Sri Lanka people were kind and friendly. My husband even got to help some local fishermen whose boat had capsized.

The villa interior is immaculate and cleaned daily and the A/C bedrooms are a relaxing way to end any day. Wasanatha organised taxis and tuk tuks and we often had a regular tuk tuk driver who we built up a relationship with. However, if you get the opportunity, go to Galle on the train which is picturesque.

We can't recommend this beautiful place and the amazing staff highly enough. This certainly was the holiday of a lifetime and we look forward to returning again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing