We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous location”
other travellers have booked this property
The deck, the pool and the laguna
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The deck, the pool and the laguna
Lunch on the veranda The living room with TV and DVD
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
The deck, the pool and the laguna
Lunch on the veranda
The living room with TV and DVD
The view from the veranda
The deck
The kitchen corner
The Villa from the river
The massage table
The inside patio
The inside patio
The inside patio
The inside Dining room
The dining Table
The living room and the dining room
One of the main bedrooms
One of the main bedrooms
One of the main bedrooms
View on the patio and the bathroom from the bedroom
The inside and outside ensuite bathroom
One of the two main bathrooms
The small room
The small room
The ensuite small bathroom
The ensuite small bathroom
The pool and the view early in the morning
Your boat at sunset
Your boat at sunset
Your drink at sunset
Nightime
Drink
The garden
The green and white garden
Ganesh welcomes you
The inside patio
The inside patio
The Villa
Sunset in front of the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ambalangoda, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
donatienn...
1 review
“Fabulous location ”
Reviewed 24 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Wonderful place in a secured area, well looked after, perfect for a family and children, beautiful view an surround, close to many interesting and/or historical sites. Great staff and great food, we would recommend it to anyone who intend to visit Sri Lanka!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2018
Thank you Donatienne, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in Gangananda! We will be happy to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Nicole & Bruno
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIGJONHer...
HEREFORD
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My idea of paradise”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed in this Villa for 2 weeks over Christmas and the new year 4 adults and 2 children. It was amazing I have to say the best Christmas holiday ever. The villa is even better than the photos, all the staff were so friendly and could not do enough for you. We ate most nights at the Villa including a BBQ on the beach on Christmas Eve and another on New Years Eve at the Villa with fireworks . The Villa is located in a small village where we were made very welcome and even played cricket with local children which they loved.
We visited the Turtle hatchery and went for a safari to see the Elephants etc also a trip to see the whales ( but be aware it is 2 hours on the boat but would not advise for young children our grand children 6 and 4 did not enjoy ) Wasantha the manager at the villa and his staff made everything perfect you will not be disappointed. My son loves to fish and they will take you out on the lagoon or you can use the Kayak, also the wild life in the garden Chip monks, Fruit bats, Iguana mongoose and huge monitor lizards in the lagoon and a haven for bird life Eagles king fishers herons etc.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackH1182
1 review
“Better than the pictures!”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Where to start?...

The Villa itself is absolutely stunning and quite simply the pictures do not do this place justice? The villa is 5 star and the location is amazing. At the end of a track in a rural Sri Lankan village sitting on the edge of the lagoon. By day we saw eagles, monkeys, lizards and went fishing and by night we watch fruit bats and fire flies.

The pool was perfect for all levels of swimmers and the house was kept to an immaculate standard for the entirety of our stay.

The Staff...

The staff of the villa made this holiday for us. They were absolutely amazing. From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble. The house manager Wasantha helped organise every bit of the holiday from days out to a new laptop charger which he personally collected from Colombo. The boys at the villa were welcoming, polite, attentive and hard working. The way they interacted with us and our children was absolutely amazing and we will miss them all very much. Some of the friendliest, caring and nicest people you could ever hope to meet.

The local villagers also made the holiday very special. We played cricket in the evenings out on the street and they invited us to their street party one evening which was very special.

If you are looking for the holiday of a lifetime look no further.

We can't recommend this place highly enough. 10/10 across the board.

Thankyou so much for having us and making our holiday so perfect.

Jack, Emma, John, Jenny, Scarlett and Charlie

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren M
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Total relaxation!!”
Reviewed 14 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed at this villa for 9 nights for our honeymoon and the place completely exceeded all expectations. From booking through to departure, we can not find any negatives to comment on. The surroundings are beautiful with so much wildlife to enjoy. We spent all our days by the pool which was so quiet and peaceful listening to the birds chirping and the flow of the water in the lagoon. The manager Wasantha and the other staff (Batika, Kumar, and the chef (not sure of his name) made our stay even more enjoyable. Wasantha especially went out of his way to ensure our stay was perfect. He even presented us with a personalised gift for our honeymoon on departure which was a lovely touch. Each morning we were served breakfast at our chosen time (the fresh fruit plate they serve first is delicious!), and you can order lunch and dinner from the menu with a few hours notice (we usually ordered lunch after breakfast but did not eat dinner at the villa). The food was cooked freshly by the chef in the service house and was very tasty, generous portion sizes and reasonably priced. The owners of the villa have a boat which they can take you out in on the lagoon. We did this twice and saw huge water monitor lizards swimming in the lagoon. Although we went to Hikkaduwa for dinner each night (cost between 700 and 850 rupees each way) there is actually no need to leave the villa at all. There is a small shop just outside the villa which sells everything you would need. The villa is in a small village so if you do venture out you can see how the locals live which is really interesting. Overall we had an amazing stay and can't recommend this place highly enough! We hope to be back one day soon!For anyone looking for recommendations of things to do/places to eat in the surrounding areas please see my other reviews around this time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna R
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing huge villa. Total relaxation”
Reviewed 16 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This was our 2nd stay at Ganganada and it was just as good as the first.
This is such a modern, spacious villa. It's lovely having 3 bedrooms, huge living area and private pool rather than being cramped into a hotel room.
The staff are all great and really helpful. The marmalade and passion fruit jam at breakfast are so good that this time I preordered 4 jars to take home with us!
The food at the villa is fantastic, however the last night we went to Mangrovia Lagoon Restaurant, just outside Hikkaduwa, right on the Lagoon- one of the most memorable meals I have had in a long time. Absolutely stunning location serving gorgeous homemade Italian food. A Sri Lankan lady owns the restaurant and she does all the cooking and service. She worked in a restaurant in Italy for over 20 years so she really knows her stuff.

Back to Gangananda, I couldn't recommend this place highly enough. Great for families or for a small group of friends. Total relaxation, a great place to unwind and recharge the batteries whilst watching the water monitor lizards swim in lagoon and monkeys jumping in the trees. Bliss

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouPaul17...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A week of luxury”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed in this wonderful house for the last week of our three-week holiday in Sri Lanka. It was the cherry on the cake of an absolutely wonderful trip to this beautiful country.
The house itself is stylish, comfortable and cool. One of our favourite features was the outdoor solar-heated shower. The pool is wonderful and the views over the peaceful lagoon just breathtaking, with eagles, kingfishers and all manner of other bird life to watch, plus lizards, geckos and chipmunks.
By far the best thing about this house though is the staff, from the lovely house manager Chanaka to the chef, gardener and house boy, nothing was too much trouble, everything was done for us with a big smile and they genuinely wanted us to have the best possible experience.The food was delicious, we went on a lovely river tour on the boat, and Chanaka even sorted out a day in Colombo to watch the test match cricket, once he found out we were all cricket fans.
I would recommend this holiday home to anyone who wants to spend some time relaxing and enjoying the tranquility of this wonderful part of the world.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex K
1 review
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

If God was looking for a place to spent his holiday, He would choose Gangananda!
A wonderfull villa with an extremely nice and helpfull manager and staff (including taxi and tuktuk drivers), in a stunning environment near a beautiful river and forest with a lot of colorful animals and flowers. Good and tasty food (as well breakfast as lunch and dinner). Possibility to make tours and trips, all of them arranged by the manager who made it his holy grail to fully satisfy the clients, and I mean 'fully'! Way to go Chanaka :-)!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The kindness of the Singalees people and the stunning nature
Liked least: A lot of annoying insects (flies, mosquitos, ants,...)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing