We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magnificant location, gorgeous home and great...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ambalangoda, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Swedish first
Any
English first
CormackNZ
Kuala Selangor, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Magnificant location, gorgeous home and great staff”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Family of 4 (kids aged 7 and 9) had a brilliant end to our Sri Lankan holiday in this beautiful Villa on the Beach complimented by some of the nicest food we had on our journey.

The beach is mere cm's from the front lawn and relaxing made easy by the warm breeze and sound of waves lapping. Morning swims and perfect sunsets was the order of the day.

Hikkaduwa is only 15mins down the road (or very cheap Tuk Tuk) for those who need a bit more action although it is difficult to drag yourself away from this idyllic spot. Ambalangoda town was a bit more local and has some charming shopping and places to eat.

The staff are amazing and ensure you book in Pryanthi (maybe spelt wrong) to cook some meals for you, she is very good.

We will be back.

NB: despite being close to the road, this house is quiet and as peaceful as you could hope for.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B W
Bern, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“An 8 day nightmare”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
8
people found this review helpful

I booked the house for 34 nights but fled from there after only 8 nights.
First the positive: the house itself, the staff.
The negative things leading to my “escape” in no particular order (the directions are all sea-facing):
1. Immediately behind the house (about 1m/1.5m) runs a very busy road. This means very frequent honking of tuk-tuks, cards, motorbikes, buses, lorries.
2. Property on the left: building/renovation work (sawing, polishing, hammering) starting, with shorter or longer interruptions in between) at 6.30am and sometimes finishing only 10pm and later. This every day during my reduced stay.
3. Property on the right: a car/lorry body shop with ensuing noise: hammering, drilling, metal polishing, sawing etc. from 6.30am to 10.30pm with interruptions of various duration. This every day during my reduced stay.
4. The beach dogs leaving their mess everywhere.
5. Owner on the left burnt rubbish on my last day there, making the yard and the house unusable for about 4 hours until the air had cleared again.
6. The beach is full of debris (shoes, plastic, light bulbs, bottles, etc.) and is not being cleaned.
7. Leaving the garden and turning left, the houses belong to the locals. On the piece of land from their property to the beach a lot of rubbish.
8. To the left and right on the beach empty properties.
9. Every morning the smell of burning rubbish.
10. The towns and village around are rather dusty and charmless affairs.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: the sea
Liked least: the noise from three sides
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nein.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
ENGLISH:
Dear Sir,

On behalf of the whole team, I would like to respond to your comment.

We are grateful for your positive opinion on the house and the home staff.

About your negative opinion on the area:
As I said in our previous exchanges, you've been exposed to unusual discomfort. Indeed, your dissatisfaction concerned the noise from neighbors: I was surprised and upset too. From this unforeseen trouble, I questioned the manager. As he told me, this noise was unusual in this New Year Sri Lankans time. Unfortunately, I could not foresee the noisy work of these small local companies which needed to finish the work before the festive period. Unfortunately, we could not prevent people from working or control the sound of public spaces. Nevertheless I understand your reaction and I apologize for the inconvenience.

At the end of your first week, my manager asked the neighbors on the additional work period. They said one more week, what the manager told you. That's why I proposed you one week rental at no extra charge. You refused.
Finally, I am surprised of your critics about the beach, the city and surrounding villages. The usual comments and my personal experience don't seem to confirm this opinion:
The road: Like most vacation rentals, the house is bordering the coast and the road (main road along the south coast), "Galle Road" which I indicated on the house description.
The beach: Indeed, the houses are occupied by local and mainly by fishermen: Local life continues despite tourism. Moreover, the beach bordering the house which is away from the crowds is an almost wild beach that the official authorities do not clean. Albeit away from mass tourism, this beach receives waste from the ocean coming aground every night. Therefore the house keeper cleans every morning the beach in front of the house. In spite of our will, we will never eradicate the global pollution problem.
The city: Ambalangoda is a small lively city of Sri Lanka famous for the masks, not very touristic but authentic and not to far the house. Crossing the road we discover the quiet side streets of the village; the charm of local life or the temples.
The area: You had the opportunity to discover the tourist town of Hikkaduwa (15 minutes by tuktuk), renowned for surfing, nightlife, restaurants and shopping. Also to go to visit the turtle farms, boat rides lagoons, mines of moon stones, without forgetting the fortified town of Galle, world Heritage of Unesco (1 hour).
Please believe in the sincerity of my investment to satisfy customers. This house is dear to my heart and I try to make a nice holiday home for all guests.
Maybe the lifestyle of Ambalangoda doesn't meet your expectations.
However, I like apologize for the inconvenience.

FRANCAIS:

Monsieur,
Au nom de toute l'équipe, voici une réponse à votre commentaire.
Sur votre avis positif à propos de la maison et du personnel, nous vous remercions.

Sur votre avis négatif concernant le lieu en location :
Comme je vous le disais lors de nos échanges précédents, vous avez subit des désagréments inhabituels. En effet, votre insatisfaction concernait le bruit des voisins dont j’ai moi-même été surprise et surtout contrariée. De ce fait imprévu et après m’être informé auprès du manageur, je vous ai répondu que ce bruit était exceptionnel en cette période du nouvel an Sri Lankais. En effet, je ne pouvais malheureusement pas prévoir qu'il y aurait une charge de travail plus importante pour ces petites entreprises locales dont les projets devaient finir pour cette période de fête. Et malheureusement, nous ne pouvions pas non plus empêcher les gens de travailler, ni contrôler la sonorité des espaces publics. Néanmoins je comprends votre réaction et m'excuse de la gêne occasionnée.
A la fin de votre première semaine, notre manageur questionna les voisins sur la durée des travaux. Il vous a alors transmis l'information : il restait une semaine de travaux après votre départ. C'est pourquoi je vous ai proposé une semaine de location, sans frais supplémentaire. Vous avez refusé.
Enfin, je suis surprise de vos reproches à propos de la plage, de la ville et des villages alentours. Les commentaires habituels ne semblent pas confirmer votre avis et mon expérience personnelle ne le confirme pas non plus :
La route : Comme la plupart des locations de vacances du secteur, la maison est en bordure de la côte et de la route (route principale qui longe toute la côte sud) « Galle Road » que j’ai indiqué sur le descriptif du site.
La plage : En effet, les maisons sont occupées par les locaux et principalement par les pécheurs : La vie locale continue malgré le tourisme. De plus, la plage qui longe la maison qui est à l'écart des foules, est une plage presque sauvage que les autorités officielles ne nettoient pas. Bien qu'épargnée du tourisme de masse, cette plage reçoit les déchets de l'océan qui viennent s'échouer chaque nuit. C'est pourquoi le gardien nettoie chaque matin l’accès en face de la maison. Malgré toute notre volonté, nous ne pourrons jamais éradiquer ce problème de pollution global.

La ville: Ambalangoda est une petite ville vivante et animée du Sri Lanka réputée pour les masques, pas très touristique, mais authentique et pas très loin de la maison. C'est en traversant simplement la route que nous découvrons les paisibles petites rues du village, le charme de la vie quotidienne locale ou encore les temples.
La région : Vous aviez la possibilité de découvrir la ville touristique d’Hikkaduwa réputée pour le surf, sa vie nocturne, les restaurants, et les magasins (15mn en tuktuk). Les fermes de tortues, la promenade en bateau sur les lagunes, les mines de pierres de lune, sans oublier la ville fortifiée de Galle, patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco (à 1h).

Veuillez croire en la sincérité de mon investissement pour satisfaire les clients. Cette maison me tient à coeur et j'essaie d'en faire une maison de vacances agréables pour tous les hôtes.

Malheureusement, peut-être que la culture Sri-lankaise et le mode de vie qui en découle n'est pas fait pour vous satisfaire.

Cependant, je tiens encore à vous présenter toutes mes excuses pour la gêne occasionnée.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
4
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean house and the view
Liked least: Cold water in the shower
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cricri371
Saint-Omer, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2017 for a stay in December 2016
Google Translation
3
people found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreas32
Konstanz, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation
3
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2015
Cher Monsieur,

Quel bonheur de lire votre commentaire !

Au nom de toute l'équipe merci d’avoir pris le temps de laisser votre avis ! Nous en sommes très touchés.
Toujours important pour les vacanciers, je suis particulièrement très heureuse et ravie d’apprendre que votre séjour vous ait donné satisfaction, tant au niveau de la situation de la maison que de la qualité des services.
Merci aussi à vous pour l'attention que vous avez porté au soin de nos équipements.
Toujours soucieuse de rendre le séjour des vacanciers le plus agréable possible, votre satisfaction est ma plus belle récompense ainsi qu’au personnel qui travaille quotidiennement à vous offrir un service correspondant à vos attentes.
Elle nous encourage d’avantage, et vous nous avez redonné de baume au cœur !
Si l’occasion de revenir au Sri Lanka se présente pour vous, toute l’équipe sera ravie de vous accueillir de nouveau à Lankamiya !

Alors… Merci encore et bonne continuation à vous.
Bien cordialement,
Mme Duflos.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nygrene
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 for a stay in December 2013
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing