We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel great pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Palm Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Marawila
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Only stayed here for one night as part of a tour of Sri Lanka so didn't have a chance to have a good look around. Feb 11th stay

Rooms.... Quite comfortable , v large room , clean and nice bathroom but problem with bathroom door shuts and could not open it ! So I just lodged something under it.
Food.....evening meal good selection but lukewarm. Breakfast better plenty of fruit and healthy options.
Bar - good selection of local and European drink ? Lion beer v good. service slow but I learnt v quickly it is par of the course for Sr Lanka so just got used to it

Very nice pool very large and great for swimming, pool boy very obliging bringing towels and moving beds. Very. Ice grounds lake and beach in front . Beach didn't look v nice but I did not go there.
Wish I stayed longer to have a good look around
One thing was a bit unnerving was the 24 hr guards.one was stationed outside my room and was there all night !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzannesreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 933 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

Having just returned from our 14 th visit I am sure we may seem biased., but this hotel is amazing from the welcome on arrival to the spacious Lagoon view rooms , you can't wait to open the curtains to take in the views.
Prior to our visit we were amazed to see a few poor reviews all I can say they listened took on board comments and now the hotel management is better than ever.
Staff are attentive and always smiling nothings too much trouble. Dennam is an asset to the restaurant with his smiling attitude of nothing's too much trouble.
They now have wifi in all main areas including the pool.
The A La Carte restaurant is up and running with a free visit per stay this is cooked by head chef Sumith and a must to try it's also worth booking for extra nights at a very low cost. For all seafood lovers they are offering
Lobster and King Prawns set in the pool area with beautiful lighting ideal for a romantic night.
Can't wait for visit 15 in September

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bakers2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We spent our last night in that hotel and wished we could have stayed longer.
Very nice environment, huge swimming pool with different "levels", it was possible to swim, sunbathe or read a book in the swimming pool.
Huge, comfortable and very clean room with nice view over a garden and a river.
Incredible buffet with a large variety of food and many tasty Sri Lankan meals.
Only 40 minutes away from the airport which was precious on departure day as we left the hotel very early.
Would definitely recommand this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Val_Z_Yoh_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Sadly just arrived home after a brilliant 2 week stay in the club palm bay. Its been a very enjoyable stay made especially pleasant by friendly and smiling staff that couldn't do enough for you, too many to

mention but a special big thank to Denham for all the help and consideration he gave to us and for his great sense pf humour! Had some fun. The hotel caters for everyone has a fantastic pool with great staff, good facilities and must mention Ruwan activities organiser, who is really good at table tennis we challenge you to beat him! The bar area is open, friendly with a relaxing atmosphere with smiling staff always at hand to replenish drinks . Rooms are very spacious and keptclean with beding towels changed daily if required . All set in beautiful gardens by a very picturesque lagoon. Thank you to everyone for making it a holiday to remember we would definitely return for another stay. "Little tattoo, Big tattoo and wives. Keep smiling



Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank karen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here for our anniversary and had an amazing time, The hotel hosts a mixture of families and couples. The staff were very friendly and accommodating particularly Denham who arranged our lagoon boat ride. The location was okay but to do any touring it is a bit of a distance to the main central world heritage sites. The beach nearby is okay and just a couple minutes walk away however we mainly spent time by the ample sized pool. We had a lagoon-front room which had some great views. The food was buffet style and had a good selection and there was entertainment in the evenings every night. Overall really enjoyable and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: request lagoon-front suites for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hemant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had a great time being at the Club Palm Bay. The service was great. We loved the food.
We only stayed here for 9 days, but after the stay we didn't want to leave the hotel. :)
If you are at the restaurant watch out for Denham. He's the most attentive and quickest waiter we had and he and his colleague always took good care of us. The food is always changing and very good. There is always something for every taste. Always try to leave room for a desert as it is very very good. The rooms are big and spacious and held modern. Twice a day cleaners come to look after it. We had a room near the lagoon and enjoyed the great view every single day.
We did not have much to complain about on our stay. The only thing they should try to change is to get a bit more variety in the music they are playing.. :-) it was the same CD on repeat during the whole stay. The only time of the day we didn't have to listen to the same songs was during night time when they had a nice range of life music and shows between the restaurant and the bar. My other suggestion is to get a few more sunbeds and covers for the pool area as some of them are outdated and people are certainly not happy with the old dirty ones and everybody always tries to block the nice ones early in the morning. However, I guess that's a normal habitat.

All in all we have had a great stay and we will definitely come back and I can fully recommend it.

Room Tip: Get a room by the lagoon :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 273Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Having stayed at this hotel before, we have nothing but praise to say for the quality, service and standard this hotel is able to give. On arrival you do not see your cases they are whisked smartly from your taxi by the case person on his big trolley to reception where a very refreshing cold towel and refreshing drink both await your attention.There is no rushing you along, they work at your pace where your case is put on a stand in your room and leave you alone to enjoy your new surroundings. The room was modern and spacious and a joy to be in, every room has a veranda and like the majority of rooms is at ground level yes no stairs, no lift, it is a luxury that all the villas are at ground level ( good for the elderly ) which we are.
Meals are so good that every meal is a variation, they do like their curries but if you examine
carefully there is always an English main course to satisfy the curry hater. The pool is huge and there is always a lot of deck chairs available. This is our 3rd visit and we will come back to our 2nd home for the hotel alone. Danem, one of the good speaking English managers he is particulary attentive and works very hard. If you will let them the hotel loves to give personnal service, just lie back and enjoy it

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lagoon view, there are plenty of them. Ensure you have a room umberella if it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peterhenderson888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marawila
9.8 mi away
Club Hotel Dolphin
Club Hotel Dolphin
#1 of 3 in Waikkal
2,235 reviews
10.6 mi away
Ranweli Holiday Village
1.2 mi away
Sanmali Beach Hotel
Sanmali Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Marawila
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 43 in Negombo
1,060 reviews
13.9 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#2 of 43 in Negombo
505 reviews
14.4 mi away
Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Palm Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Palm Bay Hotel

Address: Thoduwawa, Marawila 61210, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Marawila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Marawila
Price Range: £55 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Palm Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Sunspot Tours, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Club Palm Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palm Bay
Resort All Inclusive Palm Bay
Club Palm Bay Hotel Sri Lanka/Marawila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing