We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Sri Lankan Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Palm Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Marawila
towcester
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Great Sri Lankan Experience”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Have just returned from a great 2 weeks here. It was low season and there were fewer guests which meant that we got a lovely lagoon view room which was very spacious and had loads of cupboards and clothes space (something that some hotels sadly lack).The aircon system in our room was also excellent. On occasions there were only a few people to enjoy the huge swimming pool and no problem getting your 'usual' sunbeds.
Foodwise there are always plenty of curry dishes but if you are not into spicy food there should be something tasty to suit everybody. For me the star of the show were the deserts. There are always a variety of dainty tasty selections and magnificent main puddings such as chocolate cashew, apple pie etc. I could have lived on these alone ( and put on quite a bit of weight!)
The staff are very polite and all seem keen to please.
We got a great deal from Kenwood travel on an upgrade to all inclusive. It was literally to good to refuse. And we were so glad we took it....there would not have been many outlets close to the hotel to go to and a tuk tuk ride into the nearest town would have been called for.
I won't dwell long on the one slight hiccup....there was the 'full moon' festival while we were there which meant no alcohol was served for 2 days to comply with local laws. Unfortunately no information was given to us about this and we actually heard about it from a local tour guide. It was only confirmed when we actually asked the management about it. Had we have been given reasonable notice of this we could have planned for it. Anyway after some haggling and pointing out that we(and some other British guests) had paid for all inclusive (and alcoholic drinks) a satisfactory solution was arrived at. I hope that some good will come of this so there can be better communication re such things in future.
As wildlife lovers we were really impressed. There are no monkeys round the hotel but the crows have developed their thieving skills to almost rival monkeys, so be wary about leaving any tasty morsels unattended. The resident chipmunks are so cute and are well used to being fed around the grounds and rooms. they will quite literally be eating out of your hands.
Being surrounded by lagoons there is also some bonus wildlife to go looking for around the grounds. We were lucky enough to witness 2 giant water monitors (about 2 metres long) writhing and rolling about in one of the lagoons to the rear of the hotel pitch and putt course. They looked like a couple of crocs fighting but were in fact mating. Now I personally love snakes and go looking for them but don't worry if you don't like them, chances are you won't see any. I saw 3...one small one in the water, one small thin one crossing the grass, and wait for it...my jewel in the crown, a magnificent cobra about 5 ft long (again close to the lagoon at rear of hotel) which i watched at close quarters for several minutes.Apparently even the locals and security people etc
say I was very lucky to see this as they are very rare around there.
For tours you would be advised to seek out one of the very locals close to the hotel rather than pay much more for organised ones via holiday reps etc. Slimline tours about 200yds left from the main gates are apparently very good and the fellow guests that used them were very impressed.
They will also change money at a better rate than the hotel.
Alternatively there is Fernando who is often to be found outside the main gates and lives a couple of hundred yards down on the right. He is an extremely nice friendly bloke (and built like a rugby player) and will also do any type of tour. If you are into wildlife then he must be your choice...he is quite an expert. We used him to go to a wetlands sanctuary about an hours drive away where we saw various different birds and also monkeys and giant squirrels.He has a comfortable people carrier with good aircon.
Also if you do find any spare titbits, there are half a dozen friendly dogs live around the beach outside that could always do with a spot of fuss and food. Fernando and the tuk tuk drivers do their bit to keep them fed etc but if you are a dog lover, every little helps as they say.
Ok I've rabbited on enough, to sum up this was a really great experience. you feel well and truly pampered and if you can get a good all inclusive deal take it.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are very roomy, loads of storage space, a fridge and adequate bathroom and shower (hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ross m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    345
    109
    52
    30
See reviews for
221
445
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heacham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Had a great time, food was good, I like curry so really was at home, my wife does not like curry but there was always something on the menu, all in all, food very good. Beer is great with two types generally available, local spirits terrible. Room very big and apparently well cared for and clean, however, when packing to leave I checked under the bed to see if we had left anything, it was extremely dirty beyond the daily brush area, and I mean extremely dirty. One of the wardrobes had a pile of what looked like sawdust in the corner at the bottom of the wardrobe. Now having said that the cleanliness and wardrobe were not up to scratch I would still return as the positives certainly overcome the negatives. I suggest the general manager and the new customer relations manager go and do a check. I also do not understand why four people came to the room one day to carry out an "audit". They counted coat hangers and ashtrays but never even looked at the cleanliness, a waste of time. In the restaurant there are plate warmers, beware these are dangerous! I severely burnt my finger on one, they are worn out heaps of junk, they are dangerous and should be removed, General Manager please ask Mr Costa, also your Food and Beverage Manager and Doctor who treated my finger how dangerous these are, they are rubbish, dangerous for children and adults.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank helderkruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Situated in a wonderfull location in the costal belt. Hotel sandwiched by the sea and the river.large well maintained property. Very large swimming pool for kids as well as adults in adding special from other hotels. Restaurant serves eastern and western food very friendly hotel staff. Overall worth to stay.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank srishan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have recently returned from one of the best holidays we have ever had.This was my first visit in Sri Lanka, to Club Palm Bay Hotel and it was an awesome experience.The views from the room are stunning.The Lagoon is amazing,the rooms are large and cleaned daily.The service was excellent, all the staff are always smiling and ready to attend to your needs.I was on a lot of holidays, but here is ideal place for a vacation.For all the beauty of this place,we will certainly coming back.Thank you to every one.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Life15081979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Palm bay hotel is a very calm, nature loving, mind relaxing & a very classy hotel to visit.. i recently visit with my friends.. really friendly management..& Ideal place for a vacation, nice view & very delicious food.. huge rooms & a good service place like no other.. i should say a must visit place. I'll return again soon

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Angel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We are currently planning our 10th visit to Club Palm Bay.
We stay for a month every February,we can always depend on the friendliness of this Hotel,excellent rooms,excellent staff,excellent food.
We have stayed,for short periods, in many Hotels around Sri Lanka ,none comes close to the atmosphere of this Hotel.
Many people consider the surroundings to be tired, we consider the surroundings to be ‘lived in’ and each visit is equal to ‘going home’
We have many friends who share our view,and return to the Hotel repeatedly.
Our stay is always met with the best possible service from all the staff.
Our resident representative is always on hand to cater for our needs,this includes arranging extended tours to the various ‘must see’ sights on the island.
The Hotel is well placed geographically to be able to sample the delights of the Island in comfort and far from the bustle of the south.
We are guaranteed a wonderful relaxed holiday the moment we walk through the front door

Room Tip: Rooms next to lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ben4735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Just returned from two weeks at the Club Palm Bay,very large clean rooms,towels and bedding changed daily,lovely views of lagoons from our bed room 122. I am on Gluten free diet staff very helpful even labeling gluten free food.Thank you to every one.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marawila
9.8 mi away
Club Hotel Dolphin
Club Hotel Dolphin
#1 of 3 in Waikkal
2,160 reviews
10.6 mi away
Ranweli Holiday Village
1.2 mi away
Sanmali Beach Hotel
Sanmali Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Marawila
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#2 of 43 in Negombo
1,028 reviews
13.4 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 43 in Negombo
1,446 reviews
14.4 mi away
Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Palm Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Palm Bay Hotel

Property: Club Palm Bay Hotel
Address: Thoduwawa, Marawila 61210, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Marawila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Marawila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Palm Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Palm Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palm Bay
Resort All Inclusive Palm Bay
Club Palm Bay Hotel Sri Lanka/Marawila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing