We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUNGLE RUMBLE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Palm Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Marawila
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The day outing organized was superb!!! The support provided by helping us to create a jungle atmosphere was outstanding. The service levels were great and staff went out of their way to accommodate our requests and make us feel special. All who participated in the event had a fabulous day and the reviews we have received from the 280 members have been great. A thumbs up for the team at Club Palm Bay and a special thank you to Denham!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NadineHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Good accommodation, food and friendly staff. Best to stay on site as beach is small and the sea whilst we were staying was too rough for the fishermen to go out let alone swim.

Be prepared for long journeys to see any sites 4 hours to Kandy, 2 hours to the Elephant Orphanage.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room overlooking the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks with friends. Off season so the hotel occupancy was minimal. It was on an all inclusive basis. I must point out that I have been on many all inclusive holidays and am fully aware that certain items one has to pay for such as imported spirits. However at Palm Bay you will be required to pay for basic items. E.g. Bottle of water at the bar - u pay for. Bottles delivered to your room (6 to 8 bottles) are free. Go figure that out. Ditto for soft drinks in the buffet restaurant. But u could easily walk into the buffet with a glass of coke from the bar. Go figure ?

Apart from that the staff are very polite and friendly and I know they dont make the rules up. The setting is perfect - tranquil, peaceful. Like a sanctuary. Sea is to choppy/rough to swim in.

Excursions. Right outside the hotel you want to ask for SUNILA Fernando. There are 2 brothers sharing the same surname but we went with SUNILA. He well and truely looked after us and the price was a lot better than what the holiday rep quoted us. He will tailor make your excursions to what you'd like. Highly recommend him for trips. Honest and trustworthy as well.

My only gripe, and this is UNFORGIVABLE. I asked for a wake up call on the day of my departure for 7am. My pick up was 9am. The wake up call was even entered into the system. The call NEVER came. By meer chance I woke up at 8am, just in time to get to the pick up point. When I queried this at reception (same member of staff on duty in the morning as at the time I booked my wake up call) - I was given a lame excuse of ''sir my colleague this and that...''. This is not acceptable. I could have missed my flight back home. The hotel needs to look into this. I departed on the 12th June and was at the reception at 8:45am.

Apart from that little episode - I had a great time. Good food, good staff.

Room Tip: Yala National Park can be a bit of an anti climax ONLY if you've never been on an African Safari...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Atboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed for two weeks at the beginning of May. During the time we were there the hotel had quiet periods as well as busy times. During the quiet times, evening meals were taken in the a la carte restaurant and on one evening a special and excellent meal was arranged for us with the meal being prepared by the head chef. The food was generally of a very good standard with selections that covered all tastes. The waitresses and waiters were very efficient.
All the staff were courteous and polite and the managerial staff were monitoring everything that was happening.
Tours could be arranged with local offices and these were far more flexible and better price wise that using travel company services.
Our room was on a lagoon with an exceptional outlook. It was large and had a good deal of storage facilities. There was a fridge in the room which was welcomed for providing cool drinks when required.
The pool was never very busy when we were there so we had no problems getting a good position. The pool boys were excellent and by the time we came out from breakfast our mattresses and towels were organised.
The grounds are extensive and well maintained. The staff were continually cleaning up and cutting the grass.
Wildlife, both animals and birds were around all the time. the only problem was with crows in the pool. The hotel tried to keep on top of them but how do you control wild birds.
the hotel is a good bit out of Mariwila so tuk tuks had to be used to go into town. The hotel should consider providing a shuttle bus. No one would object to paying a reasonable cost for a round trip.
Not quite a four star hotel but just about there if a few little niggles are resolved.

Room Tip: If not already requested ask for a lagoon view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rowdy1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have just spent 10 excellent nights on an “all inclusive” basis at the Club Palm Bay Hotel; this being my second visit. The hotel is an hours car journey from Colombo airport and you are welcomed with nice cold flannel to freshen up and a colourful delicious cold cocktail, also the booking process is very quick and efficient.
As this is the quiet season in Sri Lanka the number of guests ranged between 150+ to as low as 10 on some days. However, although the guest numbers fluctuated the standard and quality of both food and service remained consistently high.
There is a buffet served both lunchtime and evening and the choice and quality of dishes is varied and of a high standard. When the guest numbers were low instead of a buffet the hotel provided an “A la carte menu” with plenty of choice which was waiter served at the tables which were set around the pool or in the gardens.
The hotel facilities are very well maintained and built around a lagoon, the rooms are spacious; there are some beautiful gardens and a very large pool. The Wi-Fi in the hotel has improved since my previous visit and is now available in the Reception, Dining areas and the Bar. All of the staff are very friendly and do make time for you, with nothing being too much trouble.
I stayed during May 2014 and travelled solo, my only complaint on this visit was that I could not stay for longer, you are guaranteed an excellent relaxed holiday at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank P8LPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful holiday here but not what expected. This is definitely not a four star hotel. The food was on the most part very good but the a la carte rrestaurant was closed for the duration of our stay which was disappointing. The hotel was dirty and in need of a good refurb, the same goes for the pool, the fountain was falling apart, not what we expected from the photos. The rooms were also poorly finished. On the most part the service was good but we did find there were preferences to some nationalities and on occasion others were given preferential treatment. We had a problem when a huge conference that took place had a party with loud music that went on into the middle of the night keeping us awake. Admittedly after complaining at reception it was turned down but dissappointed it even happened in the first place. Overall we did manage to have a nice holiday and enjoyed our time here but felt it needed some changes and a definite rethink on its star rating. We got it at a good price, but would have been sorely disappointed if we had paid more!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katharine2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed 1 night. Everything good. Good for families. Spacious rooms. Lots of games. Big swimming pool. Environment is beautiful in the afternoon. Day time outside is bit hot. Rooms are separate chalet type. Enjoyed v much

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinky-colombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marawila
9.8 mi away
Club Hotel Dolphin
Club Hotel Dolphin
#1 of 3 in Waikkal
2,392 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sanmali Beach Hotel
Sanmali Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Marawila
100 reviews
10.6 mi away
Ranweli Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#7 of 44 in Negombo
1,569 reviews
12.8 mi away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#6 of 44 in Negombo
1,605 reviews
13.1 mi away
Waves By Tranquil
Waves By Tranquil
#21 of 44 in Negombo
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Palm Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Palm Bay Hotel

Address: Thoduwawa, Marawila 61224, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Marawila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Marawila
Price Range: £36 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Palm Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sunspot Tours, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Club Palm Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palm Bay
Resort All Inclusive Palm Bay
Club Palm Bay Hotel Sri Lanka/Marawila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing