We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A nice place to stay in the bay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samaru Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Samaru Beach House
Ranked #14 of 77 Weligama B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay in the bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

The "guest house" has a nice place in front of the bay.
6 rooms with fans and a/c and 8 more soon.
The beds are ok and relatively quiet.
The cooking is great and the staff is very friendly.
They also have boards to rent and they are in good state (NSP).
We stayed 4 days and 4 good days.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Loubrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    30
    14
    5
    12
See reviews for
8
33
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

They are quite rowdy bunch of people running this place. Who can turn violent very easily. Saw them pick fights w/ multiple guests without good reason.
Rooms and rates are reasonable. But would recommend staying at another place.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

I stayed at the Samaru Beach House together with a few friends in July 2013. It was the last station of our round trip, just a few days at the beach to relax before flying home. And it was truly a nice experience to stay here. The manager of the house was most welcoming and helpful in every matter. He was extremely friendly and gave us a very good price on the rooms - without even asking for it (by the way, this place has great value for money even if you pay the regular price!). The food at Samaru was fantastic! We were all really surprised to see a small guest house like this featuring such a superb cuisine. Probably some of the best food I've ever eaten in a hotel in Sri Lanka. The sea at Weligama is quite chippy (especially in summer, should be better in winter), it's a paradise for surfers and everyone who loves jumping in the waves. And I need to mention one thing: Beware of the sand flies in that area! We were bitten by these tiny creatures while lying on the beach and two of our group had their legs sprinkled with red spots which itched and stayed for weeks. Of course, this is not the fault of the hotel and does not diminish my oppinion about it even a bit, just take care and make sure you apply some insect repellent while lying on the beach. I do not know, whether this is just a seasonal problem or restricted to that particular area. Maybe we were just unlucky.
To sum it up, we had a great time at Samaru and enjoyed every bit of our stay. Make sure you stop by here if you plan a trip to the south coast!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

If you go to Sri Lanka, don't have Westerner expectations or it is best you stay home.
Life is slow, service is poor on the island. Don't forget you are on holiday in a beautiful country. So, just chill.

The Pros: This guesthouse is ok if you travel as a group of 5/10 people and want to surf. That's it.

The Cons: Rooms are overpriced for the region. The guesthouse is definitely taking advantage of the location. For now. A 200-rooms hotel is being built a few meters away and will definitely ruin the beach.
The food and service are really bad.
Too much noise on the morning if you are staying in the room downstairs.
It is the last place you want to have diner at on the evening. There is no atmosphere. Tedious.

I suggest to stay in Merissa and visit that sport during the day. US$11 surf rental / day.
Surfing is best on the morning till 11 am and from 5pm to sunset.

If you don't surf, if you want more authenticity, Dickwella might be a better option.

Room Tip: Upstairs room are quitter. 6 & 7 get the WIFI signal from the dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

This place is in a great spot and the rooms are clean. To be fair , the guy did give us a fan room downstairs for 2000 rupees which is 1500 off what we read as the normal price!
The room was nice and clean and everything worked fine, it also had an actual spring mattress which was a first for us in Sri Lanka !
The surfing "lessons" were a waste of money! They literally ha us lie down on the boards and stand up a few times, then it was off into the waves. Because there was myself and my wife, she ended up getting most of the lesson while I figured it out myself, may as well just rent a board and have a bash yourself and save some money! If you have small kids I'd say the beach here is a lot safer than Mirissa .
The food was nice although way over priced! Just down the road at Mirissa things are about 150 - 200 rupees cheaper and there is a fantastic vibe on the beach where you can get a whole grilled fish , chips and salad for 800 rupees! Here a fried rice was 500! If you're on a slight budget like we were waking into town for food is a much cheaper option!
I think the killer blow for us came when we got the bill and there was a 10% service charge over the whole bill, including the room! First time we have struck that here and a bit of a joke we think!
All in all I think staying in Mirissa and coming here to surf is a much better option, it's only 4.7 km down the road( we had bicycles) and overall a cheaper place when you have happy hour drinks at night and cheaper food!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellysulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

This is one of those places that you leave, not quite sure.

We stayed at this place for two weeks. Although it looked like it had great potential, that thought was quickly retracted having experienced a few question marks. We took one of the top double rooms, half board costing $66 per day. The rooms are atrocious, their moderately cleaned, the towels are in a terrible state (bring your own) and the bathroom has no working hot water. The water is weak in the shower head that has the hot water, their two separate showers, one that's normal temperature and the other that is warm/hot. There is a technique to showering in this shower but I'll save you the explanation :).

That's for the room. Now to the food/service - although the young guy runs around trying to make sure everyone gets their orders - it takes too long. The menu is bland and gets absolutely no stars in execution.

Comfort in this place is a little unexpected, as it's a small group of people, if you're not an extrovert and want to befriend everyone it may be frowned upon. So be prepared to be judged. The clientele are a little sketchy, a group came in 5 children, 3 adults, there was absolutely no supervision on the kids that were in the room next door. Bring ear plugs for sure! We asked the owner if he would have a word with the parents, as the kids were yelling, screaming, slamming doors until 2am at one point, nothing was done. It's not the owners fault, questionable parenting.

All in all, very reluctant 3 points. I would hope that Charmender (the owner), considers upping the service, menu selection, and cleanliness of the room - plus change the towel! Their apparently opening another place across the road without direct access to the beach, so do expect much of the same perhaps.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dixiefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

We booked the Samaru for a short break, calling the day before to ensure the booking was in place. We turned up to find that there was no room for us (we were not alone in this experience as another pair of travellers were going thought the same thing when we arrived as well). After a long journey this was the last thing we really needed!! The hotel staff were trying to fob us off with substandard accommodation across the street (they clearly were friends with the owner), and when we refused it they simply stopped helping us (despite the fact that we were later to find out that there were plenty of rooms in the guest house next door!!)

Don't trust them, if you are headed Weligama way I would suggest you don't bother with these and head straight to the property next door (Bay View) it's cheaper, more reliable and unlike Samari they haven't been spoilt with greed by being mentioned in the recent rough guides and lonely planets guides!

Room Tip: Don't bother just head next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weligama hotels
0.1 mi away
W15
W15
#2 of 12 in Weligama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#3 of 12 in Weligama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
We Escape
We Escape
#8 of 12 in Weligama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort)
0.2 mi away
Weligama Bay Resort
Weligama Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Weligama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Weligama Ocean Breeze Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samaru Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samaru Beach House

Property: Samaru Beach House
Address: 544 New Bypass Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Weligama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Samaru Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samaru Beach House Hotel Weligama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing