We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel - poorly rated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort)
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Weligama
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Stayed here march 5th to March 10th, paid 50$ per night for a very large & very nice double room with modern air condition, warm water, clean & fresh towels & bedings, etc. IMHO this is by far the best place in the entire Midigam-Weligama stretch. The food was excellent & the hotel staff friendly and helpful. I am somewhat surprised as to how negative many of the other reviews are. The one thing that is true in these other reviews is that the place is half empty, while Samaru which is just next door seems to be full all the time, although it is far less nicer and costs the same.
Regarding surf rentals: Samaru is the King. They have many beginner boards for rent, offer surf lessons, etc.
All in all i would warmly recommend the Neptune and will come and stay here again next time. For 50$ a night, this is by far the best deal around.

A few additional tips: we arrived at the Neptune after two nights at a highly recommended (in tripadvisor) guest house in Midigama. All i can say is that unless u r a 20 years old avid surfer, Midigama guest houses should be avoided. No aircondition, often no hot water, small & minimalistic rooms, etc And nothing really to do when not surfing...
Weligama is better and Mirissa even nicer. Mirissa is just 10minutes tok-tok away from Weligama and reminded me the islands of Thailand (don't raise your hopes, it is still ver different....)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teena_St, Manager at GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort), responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Dear Sir,

thank you for spending your holidays at the Neptune Resort, recently we have received several negative reviews, which we believe to be bogus, since the competition is increasing, we have noticed that few hoteliers are using unfair and dishonest methods to cut off clients from competitive hotels.

Since you have stayed at our hotel I’m glad that you and your friend got the chance to experience our hospitality, if you visit us during the off season we can offer you discounts up to 30% additionally to the 10% discount we offer for our repeated customers. Thank you once again for recommending our resort and giving us a positive feedback.

PS: Next time the Pepper Steak will be on the house.

Kind regards,
Your Neptune Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort)
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2013

we are visited at neptune resort in january 2013...that hotel was very good for us.nice , kindly ,quickly ,& professional staff and management there. foods , service and room conditions are just like a five star.........some peoples are posted some bad comments to the neptune resort...we are really sorrow for it.....because that is not true....specially by the manager ASANKA RUWAN & boss YAMUNA STEIN run this hotel as successfully......... they are know what to do to the relevant time.......an also they are protected our valuable things, my husband also satisfied about the neptune.
we will expect to go next time holiday to neptune resort also too....

weronika & alex

Room Tip: if you want get a cheaper room select a basic room..if not you want a comfortable room you select a...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weronikablar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teena_St, Manager at GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort), responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you for your review about our property on Trip Advisor and for visiting our small resort, Mrs. Yamuna and Mr. Asanka are sending their warm regards and hope to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,
Your Neptune Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

really this hotel is very beautiful..and very clean.just like a paradise.the foods are very fresh..the manager mr asanka is very professional for the hotel trend...an also excellent room and restaurant service..if you want a spend un forgetful holiday you have to go to the neptune resort in weligama.......

ksenia...
russia......

Room Tip: sea side cabanas are very comfortable. wind, sunny ,, is good...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asankaruwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teena_St, Manager at GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort), responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Dear Madam,

thank you very much for the review you posted on Trip Advisor, we were delighted to hear that you were having a great time at the Neptune Resort , it makes us feel happy when our guests are having a wonderful experience at our holiday resort and reading about the experiences is something the Neptune Team is always looking forward to.

We assure our guests that we purchase and use fresh seasonal products from the local market, which helps local merchants to support their families with the income, further we want to make sure that the products are of good quality and taste.

If you are visiting Weligama, we are inviting you to be our guest.

Best regards,
Your Neptune Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

The hotel itself beautifull. Nice garden, nice clean room and that's it. The service is terribble, The price is high. For thet price you can get much better. Some young non edjucated boys are hanging aound. The food is poor. Brakfast is poor and you have to wait a lot for that. Coffe was just braun worm water.....when we asked what is this the boy told...ohhhh would you like stronger? Yes we would like coffee. Originally we wanted to stay 7 days there, but after 1 day we checked out. Fortunetly we didn't pay beforhand the whole period. We were 2nd tie iin Srli Lanka already and we love it, but ot this hotel.

Anna from Hungary and Rauli from Finland

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Villahaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teena_St, Manager at GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort), responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Dear Sir/ Madam,

thank you for sharing your experience with us, we like to receive positive and negative feedback, since we believe that it can only help us to improve our service. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Neptune Resort.

We are trying our best to provide a healthy Continental breakfast, which includes: Tea/Coffee, Fresh Fruit plate/ Fresh Fruit juice, Jam, Butter, Toast, Choice of eggs for only Rs. 500, which is a reasonable price. Our staff member was courteous to offer you another pot of strong coffee for free, we really don’t understand how someone could possibly see it in a negative way and write a review with the heading asking travellers not to visit our resort over of a pot of coffee.

Furthermore we want to kindly remind you that when we inquired about your early departure, you have mentioned that it’s because of the Russian guests, who were staying at our resort during that period, we are not responsible for the behaviour of our clients and hope that you’ll understand our situation.

A negative review on Trip Advisor can really ambush a property’s ranking and the reputation, the Neptune Team would like to invite you back for a complimentary 1 night stay in the future and show you that we have taken all the necessary steps to improve our service.
Kind regards,

Your Neptune Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I slept so well here so why the average rating?

I stayed in 1 of the Cabanas. It's spotless clean. A/C worked well but the hot water wasn't all there and that's usually not a problem but the Cabana did cost $89 per night!
For that money in Sri Lanka, you'd expect things to be perfect.
The breakfast was basic at best. A fried egg, burnt toast, butter and jam.
The location is amazing but for the money you can find something better elsewhere.

Overall a well located, clean and organized resort but for the money you can do much better.

Room Tip: Although the surf boards are only 300 rupees, you're better off renting next door for 400 becaus...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fajer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teena_St, Manager at GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort), responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Dear Sir,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about the Neptune Resort, currently we are offering 4 different type of rooms to cater to all pockets, not only the high end visitors, that’s what we believe helps to gain a competitive advantage.

Before renting the Cabana rooms we are giving instructions how to operate the water heater, 5 minutes before taking a shower it should be switched on and switched off after taking a shower, to ensure hot water.

If you are visiting Weligama again, we are inviting you to be our guest, we’d like to show you the basic rooms, which are comfortable, yet affordable.

Kind regards,
Your Neptune Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

This resort is too expensive according to the quality of the room/bungallow, no charm or nice decoration...nothing special...food average....But the staffs is very nice, managment very nice too and location is perfect, more far than the other one from the road so no noise and perfect beach, specialy for surfing !!! Could be good to think about decoration and confort in bungallow and at the beach terrasse.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djukbaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teena_St, Manager at GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort), responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for rating our property on Trip Advisor, we are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with our service. The Weligama Bay is still an off the beaten track, where you can enjoy the good weather and water sport activities throughout the whole year or simply enjoy a fresh fruit juice while relaxing on the beach.

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding the interior, we will definitely consider your request and try to change it in the future. We hope to welcome you at the Neptune Resort once again, kindly note that we are offering a 10% discount for our loyal guests.

Kind regards,
Your Neptune Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Great location, well kept grounds, food good but not great.
Rooms compact for 3 persons - as with most accommodation in SL no hot water & water pressure low. We did have A/c & fan but we had to move the single bed to feel the air from the fan.
Family run & attractive bungalows - however altho' enjoyed stay, not worth the $99.00 per night. (triple room) $50.00 would probably more appropriate.
But there is not much 3 star accomm. in the area so they can afford to "overcharge".

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weligama hotels
0.0 mi away
W15
W15
#2 of 14 in Weligama
267 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 14 in Weligama
396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#3 of 14 in Weligama
140 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#7 of 14 in Weligama
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
We Escape
We Escape
#5 of 14 in Weligama
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort)

Address: 484, New Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Weligama
Price Range: £36 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort) 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good Story Hotel is located in the south of the island, right on the beach in the village of "Weligama." This is one of the best places in the world for learning to surf. Sandy bottom and not fast waves provide security for beginners. Its also popular among longboarders for long right and lelt rides . In a 10-minute drive away there are good reef spots such as Mirissa, Matara, Cabalana, Plantation and Lazy Left. The variety of waves suitable for both beginners and advanced surfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing