We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort)
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
W15(Weligama)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
We Escape(Weligama)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Green Rooms(Weligama)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Surfer(Weligama)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jagabay Resort(Weligama)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
110
35
19
15
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
35
19
15
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barnice poolsurf schoollocation is amazinggood vibesbungalowchilltrainersbeginnerswishesoceansessioninstructorparadise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Stayed here march 5th to March 10th, paid 50$ per night for a very large & very nice double room with modern air condition, warm water, clean & fresh towels & bedings, etc. IMHO this is by far the best place in the entire Midigam-Weligama stretch. The food was excellent & the hotel staff friendly and helpful. I am somewhat surprised as to how negative many of the other reviews are. The one thing that is true in these other reviews is that the place is half empty, while Samaru which is just next door seems to be full all the time, although it is far less nicer and costs the same.
Regarding surf rentals: Samaru is the King. They have many beginner boards for rent, offer surf lessons, etc.
All in all i would warmly recommend the Neptune and will come and stay here again next time. For 50$ a night, this is by far the best deal around.

A few additional tips: we arrived at the Neptune after two nights at a highly recommended (in tripadvisor) guest house in Midigama. All i can say is that unless u r a 20 years old avid surfer, Midigama guest houses should be avoided. No aircondition, often no hot water, small & minimalistic rooms, etc And nothing really to do when not surfing...
Weligama is better and Mirissa even nicer. Mirissa is just 10minutes tok-tok away from Weligama and reminded me the islands of Thailand (don't raise your hopes, it is still ver different....)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teena_St, Manager at GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort), responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Dear Sir,

thank you for spending your holidays at the Neptune Resort, recently we have received several negative reviews, which we believe to be bogus, since the competition is increasing, we have noticed that few hoteliers are using unfair and dishonest methods to cut off clients from competitive hotels.

Since you have stayed at our hotel I’m glad that you and your friend got the chance to experience our hospitality, if you visit us during the off season we can offer you discounts up to 30% additionally to the 10% discount we offer for our repeated customers. Thank you once again for recommending our resort and giving us a positive feedback.

PS: Next time the Pepper Steak will be on the house.

Kind regards,
Your Neptune Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

we are visited at neptune resort in january 2013...that hotel was very good for us.nice , kindly ,quickly ,& professional staff and management there. foods , service and room conditions are just like a five star.........some peoples are posted some bad comments to the neptune resort...we are really sorrow for it.....because that is not true....specially by the manager ASANKA RUWAN & boss YAMUNA STEIN run this hotel as successfully......... they are know what to do to the relevant time.......an also they are protected our valuable things, my husband also satisfied about the neptune.
we will expect to go next time holiday to neptune resort also too....

weronika & alex

Room Tip: if you want get a cheaper room select a basic room..if not you want a comfortable room you select a sea view cabana. those are very comfortable.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weronikablar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teena_St, Manager at GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort), responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you for your review about our property on Trip Advisor and for visiting our small resort, Mrs. Yamuna and Mr. Asanka are sending their warm regards and hope to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,
Your Neptune Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

really this hotel is very beautiful..and very clean.just like a paradise.the foods are very fresh..the manager mr asanka is very professional for the hotel trend...an also excellent room and restaurant service..if you want a spend un forgetful holiday you have to go to the neptune resort in weligama.......

ksenia...
russia......

Room Tip: sea side cabanas are very comfortable. wind, sunny ,, is good...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asankaruwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teena_St, Manager at GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort), responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Dear Madam,

thank you very much for the review you posted on Trip Advisor, we were delighted to hear that you were having a great time at the Neptune Resort , it makes us feel happy when our guests are having a wonderful experience at our holiday resort and reading about the experiences is something the Neptune Team is always looking forward to.

We assure our guests that we purchase and use fresh seasonal products from the local market, which helps local merchants to support their families with the income, further we want to make sure that the products are of good quality and taste.

If you are visiting Weligama, we are inviting you to be our guest.

Best regards,
Your Neptune Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

The hotel itself beautifull. Nice garden, nice clean room and that's it. The service is terribble, The price is high. For thet price you can get much better. Some young non edjucated boys are hanging aound. The food is poor. Brakfast is poor and you have to wait a lot for that. Coffe was just braun worm water.....when we asked what is this the boy told...ohhhh would you like stronger? Yes we would like coffee. Originally we wanted to stay 7 days there, but after 1 day we checked out. Fortunetly we didn't pay beforhand the whole period. We were 2nd tie iin Srli Lanka already and we love it, but ot this hotel.

Anna from Hungary and Rauli from Finland

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Villahaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teena_St, Manager at GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort), responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Dear Sir/ Madam,

thank you for sharing your experience with us, we like to receive positive and negative feedback, since we believe that it can only help us to improve our service. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Neptune Resort.

We are trying our best to provide a healthy Continental breakfast, which includes: Tea/Coffee, Fresh Fruit plate/ Fresh Fruit juice, Jam, Butter, Toast, Choice of eggs for only Rs. 500, which is a reasonable price. Our staff member was courteous to offer you another pot of strong coffee for free, we really don’t understand how someone could possibly see it in a negative way and write a review with the heading asking travellers not to visit our resort over of a pot of coffee.

Furthermore we want to kindly remind you that when we inquired about your early departure, you have mentioned that it’s because of the Russian guests, who were staying at our resort during that period, we are not responsible for the behaviour of our clients and hope that you’ll understand our situation.

A negative review on Trip Advisor can really ambush a property’s ranking and the reputation, the Neptune Team would like to invite you back for a complimentary 1 night stay in the future and show you that we have taken all the necessary steps to improve our service.
Kind regards,

Your Neptune Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I slept so well here so why the average rating?

I stayed in 1 of the Cabanas. It's spotless clean. A/C worked well but the hot water wasn't all there and that's usually not a problem but the Cabana did cost $89 per night!
For that money in Sri Lanka, you'd expect things to be perfect.
The breakfast was basic at best. A fried egg, burnt toast, butter and jam.
The location is amazing but for the money you can find something better elsewhere.

Overall a well located, clean and organized resort but for the money you can do much better.

Room Tip: Although the surf boards are only 300 rupees, you're better off renting next door for 400 because of the bigger selection.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fajer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teena_St, Manager at GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort), responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Dear Sir,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about the Neptune Resort, currently we are offering 4 different type of rooms to cater to all pockets, not only the high end visitors, that’s what we believe helps to gain a competitive advantage.

Before renting the Cabana rooms we are giving instructions how to operate the water heater, 5 minutes before taking a shower it should be switched on and switched off after taking a shower, to ensure hot water.

If you are visiting Weligama again, we are inviting you to be our guest, we’d like to show you the basic rooms, which are comfortable, yet affordable.

Kind regards,
Your Neptune Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews