We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small quiet place right infront of the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort)
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Weligama
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A small quiet place right infront of the beach”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

nice hotel with a good view of the weligama bay. The rooms were clean. It is a great place to relax, because they have a great beach front area and you can just rest for hours even by looking at the sea. There aren't much of a crowd on the beach, so you wont be disturbed. The staff was very helpful to us.
When it comes to food, we felt that the quantity was not enough for the money paid. Nevertheless, the food was tasty and we loved the deviled chicken. Overall we had an awesome relaxing time in weligama and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: if you want a sea view, then go for a A/C cabana
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanithJayawardana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    33
    19
    15
    22
See reviews for
16
71
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Nice hotel with well kept a garden and clean rooms (with hot water).
But thats it. The hotel is close to a well used high road, that is a huge problem for you cant get a decent rest if you are staying in a room which is on the street side.
The food is average, the service poor.
For the price i payed they do not deserve two stars.
The owner or manager were unfriendly and not dedicated.
The room itself was okay, clean but no decoration and the fan was not above the bed so it was useless
The place itself is very good but for that amount of money you can find much more batter places than this.

Room Tip: Better go for one at the beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galle, null, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Neptune resort is one of the best in waligama, Sri Lanka.. Its a great place to relax.. The food is great and service is quick... Also the staff is very friendly, Perfect location, nice beach an best place to go surfing..

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malinga U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teena_St, Manager at GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort), responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Dear Mr. Malinga,

thank you very much for the kind review on Trip Advisor, it is our ultimate goal to satisfy our customers and make their holidays memorable. Weligama is still an off the beaten track and we are proud to say that it’s one of the best surfing spots in down south. We hope that you enjoyed your surfing lessons and invite you to be our guest whenever you are in Weligama, if you are interested in surfing lessons, don’t hesitate to contact us, we’ll be glad to assist you. Thank you once again for the kind review.

Kind regards,
Your Neptune Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matara, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

Neptune resort is one of the best place i'v ever stayed in.the place is beautifull and the room are clean enough.staff is very friendl.......Resturent is nicely arranged and the best resort i'v visited in weligama,sri lanka.so i would like to recommend all the people who are visiting weligama to visit the neptune resort.......

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Himasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Stayed here march 5th to March 10th, paid 50$ per night for a very large & very nice double room with modern air condition, warm water, clean & fresh towels & bedings, etc. IMHO this is by far the best place in the entire Midigam-Weligama stretch. The food was excellent & the hotel staff friendly and helpful. I am somewhat surprised as to how negative many of the other reviews are. The one thing that is true in these other reviews is that the place is half empty, while Samaru which is just next door seems to be full all the time, although it is far less nicer and costs the same.
Regarding surf rentals: Samaru is the King. They have many beginner boards for rent, offer surf lessons, etc.
All in all i would warmly recommend the Neptune and will come and stay here again next time. For 50$ a night, this is by far the best deal around.

A few additional tips: we arrived at the Neptune after two nights at a highly recommended (in tripadvisor) guest house in Midigama. All i can say is that unless u r a 20 years old avid surfer, Midigama guest houses should be avoided. No aircondition, often no hot water, small & minimalistic rooms, etc And nothing really to do when not surfing...
Weligama is better and Mirissa even nicer. Mirissa is just 10minutes tok-tok away from Weligama and reminded me the islands of Thailand (don't raise your hopes, it is still ver different....)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teena_St, Manager at GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort), responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Dear Sir,

thank you for spending your holidays at the Neptune Resort, recently we have received several negative reviews, which we believe to be bogus, since the competition is increasing, we have noticed that few hoteliers are using unfair and dishonest methods to cut off clients from competitive hotels.

Since you have stayed at our hotel I’m glad that you and your friend got the chance to experience our hospitality, if you visit us during the off season we can offer you discounts up to 30% additionally to the 10% discount we offer for our repeated customers. Thank you once again for recommending our resort and giving us a positive feedback.

PS: Next time the Pepper Steak will be on the house.

Kind regards,
Your Neptune Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2013

we are visited at neptune resort in january 2013...that hotel was very good for us.nice , kindly ,quickly ,& professional staff and management there. foods , service and room conditions are just like a five star.........some peoples are posted some bad comments to the neptune resort...we are really sorrow for it.....because that is not true....specially by the manager ASANKA RUWAN & boss YAMUNA STEIN run this hotel as successfully......... they are know what to do to the relevant time.......an also they are protected our valuable things, my husband also satisfied about the neptune.
we will expect to go next time holiday to neptune resort also too....

weronika & alex

Room Tip: if you want get a cheaper room select a basic room..if not you want a comfortable room you select a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weronikablar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teena_St, Manager at GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort), responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you for your review about our property on Trip Advisor and for visiting our small resort, Mrs. Yamuna and Mr. Asanka are sending their warm regards and hope to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,
Your Neptune Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germond-Rouvre, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2013

really this hotel is very beautiful..and very clean.just like a paradise.the foods are very fresh..the manager mr asanka is very professional for the hotel trend...an also excellent room and restaurant service..if you want a spend un forgetful holiday you have to go to the neptune resort in weligama.......

ksenia...
russia......

Room Tip: sea side cabanas are very comfortable. wind, sunny ,, is good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asankaruwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teena_St, Manager at GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort), responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Dear Madam,

thank you very much for the review you posted on Trip Advisor, we were delighted to hear that you were having a great time at the Neptune Resort , it makes us feel happy when our guests are having a wonderful experience at our holiday resort and reading about the experiences is something the Neptune Team is always looking forward to.

We assure our guests that we purchase and use fresh seasonal products from the local market, which helps local merchants to support their families with the income, further we want to make sure that the products are of good quality and taste.

If you are visiting Weligama, we are inviting you to be our guest.

Best regards,
Your Neptune Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weligama
2.2 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
370 reviews
0.0 mi away
W15
W15
#3 of 13 in Weligama
226 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Weligama
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#2 of 13 in Weligama
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
We Escape
We Escape
#6 of 13 in Weligama
44 reviews
3.1 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mirissa
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort)

Property: GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort)
Address: 484, New Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Weligama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good Story Hotel is located in the south of the island, right on the beach in the village of "Weligama." This is one of the best places in the world for learning to surf. Sandy bottom and not fast waves provide security for beginners. Its also popular among longboarders for long right and lelt rides . In a 10-minute drive away there are good reef spots such as Mirissa, Matara, Cabalana, Plantation and Lazy Left. The variety of waves suitable for both beginners and advanced surfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing