We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Weligama to spend an unforgettable holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort)
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Weligama
Reviewed 23 December 2010

This is our second trip to Sri Lanka, both times we have spend our holidays at the Neptune Resort, which is wonderful to relax from the busy and hectic days in London. My husband and I, we loved the romantic blue and white painted chalets of the small Resort, and the wonderful food, a must try is the fresh lobster and chicken in a basket. The owner, her daughter and the manager, were lovely and concerned about our wellbeing during the whole stay. We can only recommend this place to other, a nice place to relax and enjoy your holidays.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobetrotterTurbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2010

**WARNING: DISHONEST MANAGEMENT AND STAFF**

The location is idyllic, perfect for a stop for a night or two between Yala National Park and Colombo. To be honest, the rooms are nice also.

That aside, the manager of the place was creepy and was eyeballing us like we were walking ATM's. At every turn, he was pushing us to spend more money. This is not what you go to an affordable resort for--we were there to take a break near the end of our whirlwind tour of Sri Lanka's Southwest corner.

One of our group rented a surfboard. He hadn't done anything to the board to break anything on it. As we were preparing to check out, the manager (who smelled very strongly of alcohol at the time--11 a.m., by the way) accused him of losing one of the fins on the bottom. He said he would have to buy an entire new set of 3 fins and we had to pay for it. **5000 rupees**. Ridiculous.

Come to find out, the night before the manager had been pushing our driver and guide (very nice and honest guys, fortunately for us) to have a bottle of Arrack and some beers on us--since we were paying, he thought they should go ahead and take advantage, right?

Long story short, the beach is gorgeous but I would have gladly traded this place for a shack on the same beach.

If you do choose to stay here, WATCH YOUR BACK AND YOUR WALLET!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank psbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teena_St, Manager at GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort), responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience, we appreciate every type of feedback, whether positive or negative, we believe that it’ll help us to improve our service in the future. We kindly apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay and assure you that we have taken actions and appointed a new manager. Kindly note that we are always checking the surfboards before renting them out and inform our clients that in case of a loss or damage the customer is free to choose the provider of the repairs, since we don’t want to overcharge the clients. As you know, one negative review on Trip Advisor can really ambush a property’s ranking and in our case we have taken actions to improve our service and would like to offer two complimentary nights at our resort.

If you have any questions, you can contact us any time,
Your management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

This hotel is next door to the Samaru Guesthouse and has standard blue and white painted rooms in well kempt tropical gardens. The restaurant service is non existant so had to pop next door to the more efficient Samaru Restaurant.
Getting the management to crack a smile became my daily challenge. Save one sweet maid, the management are aloof and unfriendly -rare in Sri Lanka esp. round tourist resorts.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurferSoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

A nice place for families, friends, couples. Rooms are clean en well kept. Arrivals are surprised wit flowers on the seeds. And a big basket off fresh fruits . The owner Jamuna is a very kind lady. Makes every holyday dream come trough. She has eye for everything. Good kitchen.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eosHoorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teena_St, Manager at GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort), responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Dear Madam,

we are delighted to see that you have experienced a relaxing holiday at the Neptune Resort,
we want to take the chance to thank you for the positive feedback and offer you a discount of 10% for your next visit as we value our loyal customers, please visit us again.

Best regards,
Miss Yamuna and your Neptune Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: No esperes habitación con vistas, precio desorbitado.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank María P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tzvi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Frans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weligama hotels
0.0 mi away
W15
W15
#4 of 14 in Weligama
277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 14 in Weligama
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#8 of 14 in Weligama
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
We Escape
We Escape
#5 of 14 in Weligama
62 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#3 of 14 in Weligama
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort)

Address: 484, New Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Weligama
Price Range: £46 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good Story Hotel is located in the south of the island, right on the beach in the village of "Weligama." This is one of the best places in the world for learning to surf. Sandy bottom and not fast waves provide security for beginners. Its also popular among longboarders for long right and lelt rides . In a 10-minute drive away there are good reef spots such as Mirissa, Matara, Cabalana, Plantation and Lazy Left. The variety of waves suitable for both beginners and advanced surfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing