We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look out, it's dangerous!”
Review of Bay Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Beach Hotel
Ranked #67 of 95 Weligama B&B and Inns
Weston-super-Mare
Level Contributor
167 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Look out, it's dangerous!”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I had a 3 week package at this hotel with Mercury Direct, who obviously failed to inspect the property properly, as it was incredibly run-down and shabby, and had unrepaired broken windows etc. from a big storm a few weeks before. The so-called "refurbished deluxe rooms" were spacious and clean with new blinds and modern air-con, but they failed to provide anywhere for guests to hang or store their clothes, except a wooden rail with a few hangers on it. I immediately asked for another room and was given an unrefurbished one, very clean and perfectly satisfactory as it had an enormous built-in wardrobe. There are TVs in the rooms but they only show local stations, and the so-called mini-bar is just a noisy old fridge.

I loved the beach, with its colourful fishing boats and many more moored offshore, but the water was badly polluted with diesel, so swimming resulted in sore eyes, sore throat and eventually chest congestion. However there is another beach half a mile along the lane which is unpolluted. The offshore reef is just a swim away, there is some live coral but you need to swim with a local guide who will show you where it is. I found the locals very helpful, particularly a young man named Lalith Manjula (email: lalith.manjula1979@gmail.com), who speaks excellent English and is a mine of information, and can take you to places of interest without trying to rip you off.

The hotel food was excellent, particularly the Sri Lankan specialities (try the delicous dhall curry and string hoppers at breakfast), but as I was on all-inclusive, I have no idea of the cost of meals and drinks. Staff were pleasant and helpful, except for the very rude, aggressive manager, who had a vendetta against me as I broke the hotel rules! I used a computer my first day but was charged Rs.500 for an hour, when the price in a local internet cafe is only Rs.50-100. Wi-fi is available but no doubt at a high price!

If you are planning to do whale-watching, then I recommend the best operator, Raja and the Whales (www.rajaandthewhales.com). Raja the captain is conducting research into blue whales and knows exactly where to find them, unlike the other operators who just try to follow his boat. On my two trips I saw many blue whales, as well as orca, two kinds of dolphins and green turtles. It's an unforgettable experience, particularly the sound of blue whales breathing!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the unrefurbished rooms, which have large wardrobes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smallspender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    9
    3
    3
    10
See reviews for
8
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Most of the clients were complaining about the beach because there are fishing boats anchoring, This happened after the Tsunami. For the safety of their boats the owners used to
anchor their boats in this area.The Management is already discussed with the Officials concern
to move their boats to another side.The Fisheries Minister has promised them to give a proper
place to anchor their boats.The 99% of the clients are enjoying their stay in this hotel and the
rests who only make such complaints or make troubles.Having done such things they expected
some benefits such as free excursions/mini tours from the hotel.But we did't offer any thing at all
If you see their history those people are always trouble makers, not holiday makers.

Room Tip: All the Deluxe Rooms are perfect sea view . Some Standard Rooms have no sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kavi3434021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

we arrived on 2nd Feb and lasted 2 hours it really is the hotel from hell dirty, broken furniture, 12 foot holes in the ground that they should bury mercury direct in for sending us there, swimming pool dirty brown substance in it 5 broken sun beds beach full of rubbish, dog pooh and boats. Glass everywhere windows on back smashed for 6 years apparently. Please do not book this hotel pictures in brochure not true been holidaying for 28 years never had to move hotel before. Mercury direct moved us to a 2 star hotel they think we should be grateful and told us to "Tolerate" it. Did I mention we are still stuck in this hell hole waiting to be moved again what a nightmare. apparently no 3 star hotels available we can upgrade to 4 or 5 star at our cost then told to get compensation when back home. all we want is the holiday we paid for. Mercury Direct you are a waste of time.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weligama hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Leominster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We were perturbed the minute we drove into to the hotel. Rooms are shabby and was initially not clean. Beach is a danger zone, broken glass dog mess everywhere. Smell of diesel as soon as you open your door. Stairs to beach dangerous, broken windows and no balustrade so nightmare if you have children. Not enough sun beds so went to early birds! That said the staff are wonderful and food was good. Spoilt our idyllic holiday. We are moving to another hotel up the coast.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else to avoid disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Even as we drove down the drive I had that feeling that this was not a good hotel. It is so tired and run down. The staff were not really interested. As we were shown to our rooms, there was a cockroach on the wall, the corridors recked of curry. Once inside the room, the bathroom was dirty and all in all it was in need for a good purge! My daughters' room had a broken window and these rooms were classed as superior! By the way, the web site photos are not what you actually see.
We were on a tour and even our driver was grateful that we left as his quarters were terrible.
The location was at the end of the bay where a lot of fishing boats were on the beach, which made it impossible to use to sunbathe or swim. The swimming pool was to the side of the hotel with no direct access from the main enterance of the hotel. It was not very appealing.
SO WE JUST WALKED OUT!

Room Tip: Just don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Absolutely terrible! We walked in, walked round and promptly left! Dirty, old, signs falling off Walls, dirty, oh and did I mention dirty!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracyab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We were stay one night.But nothing to say good thigs about the hotel.Only the location good.Food was good dinner and brekfast ,but luch they have given only rice and curry and that also not tate.I think it should change the mangment and should be renew the hotel.Room also was not clean and our room AC has broken.Room balcony also dirty.Me we were thought to enoj in swmming pool .but that also not clean .Bay beach hotel sites says they have Tea Making facility.But room they havn't gien that.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Niluka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weligama hotels
0.0 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Weligama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neptune Eco Villas
Neptune Eco Villas
#9 of 111 in Weligama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Top of the Hill
Top of the Hill
#18 of 95 in Weligama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Castle Bay Resort
Castle Bay Resort
#11 of 95 in Weligama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Frangipani Home
#32 of 95 in Weligama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
1.2 mi away
ALOHA Home & Kitchen
ALOHA Home & Kitchen
#17 of 111 in Weligama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Beach Hotel

Property: Bay Beach Hotel
Address: Kapparatota, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Weligama
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing