We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel of your nightmares !”
Review of Bay Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Beach Hotel
Ranked #68 of 100 Weligama B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We booked this last minute after a change of plan to our travel schedule without having any information about the place appart from the misleading website.It probably once was a good hotel but 30 years later without any maintenance it has turned it into a dump. We stayed approximately 30 minutes, enough to see the dirty, tired broken rooms,the filthy beach , stray dogs and their excrement everywhere and everywhere we looked in the hotel there was disrepair from the gardens to the restaurant and bar. The other reviews sum it up....just don't stay here , there are so many better places nearby!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ojmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for Bay Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

Managed to escape this hotel after 3 hours. A demolition site best describes this hotel with all the broken windows, rooms gutted, no fronts on them, with broken sun beds stored in them.
The pool advertised as "sapphire blue" was the coluor and density of pea soup, water from a huge hole in the grounds being pumped into it.
The sandy cove was full of wild, dogs and their excrement.
Found it impossible to stay. The manager came to try and convince us there were not any problems!! When I pointed out the hotel was supposed to have been renovated his reply was it is also supposed to have a lift but it hasn't!!
Stay clear of this hotel it is the hotel from hell.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank olive064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We booked a 6 weeks holiday of a lifetime retirement present, which turned out to be a holiday from hell. The hotel beach looked a dream in the brochure but it was actually the beach on the next bay. Every amenity which it states in the brochure just wasn't there. The beach was filthy with dogs mess, fishing boats, rubbish everywhere. Couldn't swim in the sea, sea full of diesel oil. Broken glass in the window frames which was reported and very dangerous but nothing was done about it. Hotel looked more like a prison camp than a holiday tourist hotel. Pack of 12 - 14 dogs on the beach, howling day and night like wolves. Hotel was supposed to be all inclusive but had very limited choice of food and drink. Staff knew the problems and agreed with us, we felt sorry for them, they were all very nice and done as much as possible under the circumstances but their hands were tied. It took us 17 days to be moved to a decent hotel. Do not go to this hotel!!

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

we have used Mercury direct 3 times before and have stayed in such a shambolic hotel and have also visited Sri Lanka x2 before so this was our third visit
the statement of recently renovated is a total misrepresentation of this hotel, we managed to escape after 1 week to another slightly better hotel.
There was a steady stream of visitors leaving this hotel to move to the nest one
.• The sea was not approachable as oil and diesel from the fishing boats floated on the sea and then human and dog’s excrement floating across the bay.
• There was also a sewage overflow creating a stench from the cesspit which when it rained flowed down over the beach.
• Up to 10 wild diseased dogs covered with mange wandered over the grounds and the so called beach area they were defecating, urinating and yes actually mating [tied) on the beach, we were kept awake from the constant howling at night. The dogs were seen wandering the grounds, stairs and corridors this was their patch!!!! Holidaymakers were not welcomed. See the pictures.
• The pool was not useable it looked like a pea soup and look at the photos they show you why!?
• In the grounds/ gardens there were a total of 10 sunbeds, 4 by the pool and 6 others they were an attraction due to the rarity but as to where we could go with them well this was a problem.
• There appeared to be concrete section capped to a drainage run omitting raw sewage onto the lawn near a window outside a room (Mosquito Heaven!!)
We are in the process of seeking compensation for the disastrous holiday

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LouiseexeterDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I had a 3 week package at this hotel with Mercury Direct, who obviously failed to inspect the property properly, as it was incredibly run-down and shabby, and had unrepaired broken windows etc. from a big storm a few weeks before. The so-called "refurbished deluxe rooms" were spacious and clean with new blinds and modern air-con, but they failed to provide anywhere for guests to hang or store their clothes, except a wooden rail with a few hangers on it. I immediately asked for another room and was given an unrefurbished one, very clean and perfectly satisfactory as it had an enormous built-in wardrobe. There are TVs in the rooms but they only show local stations, and the so-called mini-bar is just a noisy old fridge.

I loved the beach, with its colourful fishing boats and many more moored offshore, but the water was badly polluted with diesel, so swimming resulted in sore eyes, sore throat and eventually chest congestion. However there is another beach half a mile along the lane which is unpolluted. The offshore reef is just a swim away, there is some live coral but you need to swim with a local guide who will show you where it is. I found the locals very helpful, particularly a young man named Lalith Manjula (email: lalith.manjula1979@gmail.com), who speaks excellent English and is a mine of information, and can take you to places of interest without trying to rip you off.

The hotel food was excellent, particularly the Sri Lankan specialities (try the delicous dhall curry and string hoppers at breakfast), but as I was on all-inclusive, I have no idea of the cost of meals and drinks. Staff were pleasant and helpful, except for the very rude, aggressive manager, who had a vendetta against me as I broke the hotel rules! I used a computer my first day but was charged Rs.500 for an hour, when the price in a local internet cafe is only Rs.50-100. Wi-fi is available but no doubt at a high price!

If you are planning to do whale-watching, then I recommend the best operator, Raja and the Whales (www.rajaandthewhales.com). Raja the captain is conducting research into blue whales and knows exactly where to find them, unlike the other operators who just try to follow his boat. On my two trips I saw many blue whales, as well as orca, two kinds of dolphins and green turtles. It's an unforgettable experience, particularly the sound of blue whales breathing!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the unrefurbished rooms, which have large wardrobes.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smallspender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Most of the clients were complaining about the beach because there are fishing boats anchoring, This happened after the Tsunami. For the safety of their boats the owners used to
anchor their boats in this area.The Management is already discussed with the Officials concern
to move their boats to another side.The Fisheries Minister has promised them to give a proper
place to anchor their boats.The 99% of the clients are enjoying their stay in this hotel and the
rests who only make such complaints or make troubles.Having done such things they expected
some benefits such as free excursions/mini tours from the hotel.But we did't offer any thing at all
If you see their history those people are always trouble makers, not holiday makers.

Room Tip: All the Deluxe Rooms are perfect sea view . Some Standard Rooms have no sea view.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kavi3434021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

we arrived on 2nd Feb and lasted 2 hours it really is the hotel from hell dirty, broken furniture, 12 foot holes in the ground that they should bury mercury direct in for sending us there, swimming pool dirty brown substance in it 5 broken sun beds beach full of rubbish, dog pooh and boats. Glass everywhere windows on back smashed for 6 years apparently. Please do not book this hotel pictures in brochure not true been holidaying for 28 years never had to move hotel before. Mercury direct moved us to a 2 star hotel they think we should be grateful and told us to "Tolerate" it. Did I mention we are still stuck in this hell hole waiting to be moved again what a nightmare. apparently no 3 star hotels available we can upgrade to 4 or 5 star at our cost then told to get compensation when back home. all we want is the holiday we paid for. Mercury Direct you are a waste of time.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weligama hotels
0.0 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#7 of 14 in Weligama
154 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 14 in Weligama
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Bay Resort
Castle Bay Resort
#12 of 100 in Weligama
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Horizon Inn
Horizon Inn
#7 of 123 in Weligama
21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elsewhere Surf Camps
Elsewhere Surf Camps
#4 of 123 in Weligama
26 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Bay View Villa
New Bay View Villa
#5 of 123 in Weligama
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Beach Hotel

Address: Kapparatota, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Weligama
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing