We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and ever so helpful people, tranquil getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Tissa Beach Resort
Ranked #42 of 114 Speciality Lodging in Weligama
London
1 review
“Lovely and ever so helpful people, tranquil getaway”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed for four nights. We had a lovely time. Arrangements were made efficiently for us to be collected from Colombo International Airport. Likewise, the hotel was able to organise transport into Galle (where we watched the England versus Sri Lanka test match) and to our next port of call on a trip round Sri Lanka. The level of service and the quality of food were excellent. The surroundings are enchanting: it is like a private beach and the experience is novel. Indeed, the crticisms some have made about this place actually reflect its strenghts: Villa Tissa is out of the way and peaceful and it is neither difficult nor expensive to have transport to Galle, Weligama or Marissa. The architexture of the room place is lovely. The rooms are simple, but I have got to say that I received fewer insect bites during the nights I stayed at Villa Tissa than at any of the other four hotels we stayed at during our trip, thanks to the net around the bed. The fan worked effectively and thus we did not miss air conditioning: in fact it was rather pleasant not to have air conditioning. There is no TV, true; however, during our stay a fellow guest needed the internet in order to work and a high speed broadband connection was sorted out in no time whatsoever.

Room Tip: Room 1 was lovely: on the beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    10
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
13
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This hotel had been recommended by the owner of Ashburnham Estate in Kandy - on the basis of our preference for peace, beach and quality service. It lived up to our criteria although we had expected it to be slightly closer to Mirissa. It is, in fact, about 5 kms west of Weligama (400 RPS by tuk tuk or 15PRS by bus to Mirissa). It is very peaceful with its particular strengths being its pool, a delightful beach (but too dangerous for swimming) and great Sri Lankan curries (the fish curry being particularly good). We stayed for five nights and were alone except for the last night when a Russian couple arrived. They had booked for a week but left the following morning as it was not close enough to the shops and the nightlife. We were pleased it was not close to either. We 'bussed' into Galle, Weligama and to Mirissa with great ease. The bus stop (the single yellow line on the side of the road makes a bus-sized box in the middle of the carriageway) is just at the bottom of the beach road and costs almost nothing. 35rps takes you all the way to Galle in less than an hour. The new owner of the hotel is Dutch and the visitors book is full of Dutch, Russian, and just about every other European nation except UK. Perhaps it is undiscovered by the Brits or the only Brits visiting this part of the south coast are back-packers. This is not a back-packers hotel but neither it is really a boutique hotel. It does not have enough facilities to qualify for that. It suited us perfectly and for those who dream of sitting beside their own private tropical beach sipping their gins and tonic, reading a good book or just sunbathing, then this is for you. It would also appeal to a family group or to a group of friends making their own entertainment (surfing takes place about 500m west outside the reef).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldpostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericia, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

We found this very small hotel by accident – and what a lovely place. If nightlife and bars and citylife is a must for you, do not go here. But if you like unspoilt and beautiful beaches, quiet surroundings and many birds it is another question!
We started our round trip I Colombo, the capital. And there you should choose the old colonial Hotel Galle Face. If you long for country life after some days of city life, go to Villa Tissa in Weligama.
When it is time to go on, the National Park of Yala is not far away.

Room Tip: Choose one of the room that face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ole78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We were supposed to stay for three nights but only stayed for one. It feels like you are staying with friends in their beautiful, beach-front villa and the staff are really friendly and try hard but unfortunately this hotel hasn't quite got it right. There are no windows, only slatted wooden bar-type things, which means creepy crawlies can freely get in and the room is full of mossies (quite annoying), fireflies (quite beautiful) and all other manner of insects at night. It was very quiet when we were there, us and two other guests. The Sri Lankan owner was visiting from Belgium and he was very nice and helpful. They don't serve alcohol as they don't have a licence but you can bring your own to have with dinner. Dinner was light (small portions) and there was no choice (no menu) but we were treated to beautifully seasoned and cooked seer fish, cooked with love. The pool was a highlight. The hotel is in quite a remote location and there is nowhere to go without a tuk tuk. The beach is utterly stunning and deserted - we felt like Robinson Crusoe but unfortunately that didn't make up for the strange "ghost town" feeling at the hotel (the staff leave at night).

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CasaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Having stayed at various 'boutique' hotels around the world, this property does not meet the comfort and luxury afforded by a 'boutique hotel'. Rooms are rather basic and, quite frankly, disappointing. Despite the overpriced rates, there is no TV nor AC in the rooms, the toliet and bathroom needs upgrading and the room is constantly filled with mosquitos and insects. The hotel is not close to any shops and the nearest town (Weligama) is a 10 minute tuk tuk ride away. Rooms are sold on a half board basis only (breakfast and dinner) and the meals served here leaves a lot to be desired. Portions served up for dinner is very very small so be prepared to go hungry. The owner is not present at the hotel and every time a customer wants to complain about the hotel/service (which happened a few times during our short stay), one of the staff needs to get on the phone.
Whilst the hotel leaves a lot to be desired, most of the staff that work here are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mils_londres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weligama hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Was there in Oktober 2010 for 3 weeks. Stayed 2 weeks in the villa and did a one week trip which was organised by the hotel. Everthing was really nice. A very quiet place. Good for realaxing. We had the Villa to ourselves. Super food, and the fuits.... hmmmm
The 6 day trip was organised perfectly. The driver Manju was super nice, like all Srilankan people, he spoke german and english fluently.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyvecetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weligama
11.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
812 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coconut Surf Inn
Coconut Surf Inn
#17 of 32 in Midigama
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dew Drop Villa
Dew Drop Villa
#6 of 114 in Weligama
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Weligama Bay Resort
Weligama Bay Resort
#4 of 13 in Weligama
306 reviews
1.0 mi away
New Bay View Villa
New Bay View Villa
#4 of 114 in Weligama
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lion's Rest
Lion's Rest
#1 of 98 in Weligama
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Tissa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tissa Beach Resort

Property: Villa Tissa Beach Resort
Address: No 64 Kadabeddagama, Gurubebila | ., Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 114 Speciality Lodging in Weligama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Tissa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Tissa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Tissa Beach Hotel Weligama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing