We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good restaurant in quiet place”
Review of Jagabay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jagabay Resort
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Weligama
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Hotel is not very modern , but very nice with the very good restaurant . For the money we paid absolutely excellent . Owner is very friendly helping in every moment . As of location it is close to the harbor which is nice if you would like to visit fish market or have trip to for the whales .
We Stephen 3 days with the children , and they enjoy very much beach with the not so big waves , just perfect for fist surfing lessons for 7 and 10 years child's

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
Thank Piotr Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2012

We stayed two nights in this quiet resort, beautiful beach not crowded, delicious food, very kind staff, pleasant garden, good price value, no problem to reach Weligama centre by tuk-tuk. Nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This resort was a real discovery for us! It is located on a peaceful corner of a beautiful sandy beach, a little apart from the crowds of the center! The food was exquisite (esp. fish and curries!!) and the owner (who speaks also English and German fluently) is one of the kindest persons we ever met and has been always extremely friendly and very helpful. We organized a couple of trips with him and we were more than satisfied! Thank you Jagath for making our stay memorable!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Private P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

A large hotel located on a part of the bay that is virtually deserted. It was like having a private beach. The rooms are very clean and have good standard but the whole place seems like it has seen better days. The garden is very nice and they have a small pool. The restaurant is very good and it is good value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buskachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stay here 11 nights in february. Jagabay resort is in the middle from Weligama and Mirissa beach. In any way its take 5 minutes withTUK-TUK and cost 1$. Beach is wide and quite lonely. You can walk long distance. You have good hotel sundecks in any time. There you can fully relax in sun and sounds of ocean waves, take shower after swimming right in the beach. Wery important! Bottom of ocean is flat and hard sandy. You can go easy to swim, also for kids is possible to swim. Waves in Mirissa are really bigger and its nots very comfy. Waves throw you like chip. Hotel is OK! Breakfast all days the same, but in days when hotel is book full, we have buffet breakfast with good choise. Wery close ( 200m) are local cheap fruits shop with really big and good choise. You can eat dinner in hotel, but if you want
more small beach restaurants you can go to Mirissa. Many tourists live in Mirissa. There is busy beach and rooms are moore expensive. I recommend to stay in Jagabay. You have better hotel for the same money, calmness good clean beach and if you want society you can take taxi and have it in minutes and even have good save. We ask in hotel and have to rent cheap motobike to go around. Also we buy in local market kilos of prawns, and chef is cooking its for us in dinner. We make own just prawns partys much cheaper then in rastaurants.
Yes, we spent good time here!

Room Tip: Better take room in 2 or 3 stage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Perazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Jagabay is a lovely little hotel on a great stretch of beach at Weligama. We had a great holiday there. Not at all touristy and very homey. Jagath and his staff do a wonderful job of running the place. We'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jperera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gilles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weligama hotels
1 mi away
We Escape
We Escape
#5 of 14 in Weligama
69 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#8 of 14 in Weligama
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#3 of 14 in Weligama
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa
1 mi away
W15
W15
#4 of 14 in Weligama
304 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#2 of 14 in Weligama
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagabay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagabay Resort

Address: Pelena, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Weligama
Price Range: £33 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jagabay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jagabay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing