We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough hotel shame about the staff”
Review of Heritage Weligama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heritage Weligama
Ranked #60 of 112 Weligama B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Our driver booked us in to this hotel for the night when something went wrong with our original booking. The room was good - well the telly didn't work, nor the Internet but that has been the same throughout Sri Lanka - but when we went for our evening meal we were reduced to pointing at the menu and guessing as we couldn't get a coherent response from the, ostensibly, English speaking waiters.

The next morning we were off to look for whales (zero, zilch) and the hotel staff at 6am seemed to consist of two security guards whereas most hotels here are a buzz at that time - so no pack up breakfast as arranged.

We were back from the whales around 10am and there was confusion about the bill, about whether we could or couldn't stay another night etc. Whilst things were getting cleared up we asked for tea. It took over half an hour to arrive.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Culebronchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

We a family of 4 stayed there during the weekend.The place was quiet even though the main galle -matara road is adjacent to it. If you have the a/c on and the doors closed the room is sound proof. The view of the bay from the up stair room is very good.The food was very good as long as it was sri lankan .The freshly caught fish in curry was delicious.We had no issue with the breakfast.But I must say there was no choice in the food at all.Dinner had no sri lankan option

The sea has to be reached by crossing the road but not a big problem as it is not so busy. The beach just opposite is good for a swim though we did not, due to lack of time.
The staff were co-operative especially the one at the restaurant.(couldn't get his name). Could do with more staff in the restaurant. the artificial water fall was irritating due to the noise.

The rooms were nice,clean and spacious.There were a few leeks in the roof over the corridor and at the entrance to the room which we informed to the reception. Hope it will be attended to without delay.rooms had tea making facility which we appreciated.

The garden is spacious and a good place for kids to play. can be a bit boggy during rain.

Room Tip: rooms on 1st floor facing road have a good view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shifa_ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This hotel has clean big rooms, nice beds, good a/c and big bathroom. Cleaned to a high standard each day. Unfortunately is across a busy road to the beach, this ruins the garden as you are road side and is loud in the bedrooms. The hotel is also rather a long way around the bay which means you can not swim or surf in the beach just across from the hotel. The breakfast was poor, and they need more staff.

Room Tip: The first floor is definitely better than the ground floor but all will suffer from road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAA988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

A very pleasant location on the Matara road, the waterfall from the roof infront of the open dining area looks very inviting and the huge banner proclaiming internation cusine a further draw.

The menu is quite frankly rather disapointing , same as any beach restaurant along the cost.

The outside dining area is well appointed and maitained very well. Tables are a bit cramped.

Staff are pleasant, helpful but maybe inexperienced.

It was a quite lunchtime being out of season. Sadly what they did not have on the menu was not apparent until half an hour or so after our order was placed.

The adjacent table of four Sri Lankan business men has Rice and Curry which looked fantastic and from the way they tucked in must of been good.

Our simple meal by comparisson was bland, freshly made for sure. Chicken curry looked sad but the sauce was actually very good.

We got what we ordered however a more experienced waiter would of told us we need not order extra rice as it came with rice. Not his fault but obviously a little more traing is needed.

All in all an average meal in pleasant surrounding, the waterfall is quite noisy but fun.

I would go back in the hope it is better when busier.

Hotel looks good and the pictures of the rooms suggest GHF Hotels have given them a face lift. Never saw them.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank northt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stopped over at heritage and was very satisfied with the welcome, staff & rooms. Exceptional views of the ocean and room were immaculate. The only negative thing was they require more staff for food service.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pwitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

me and my family stayed here for a day and found it very relaxing and pleasant,the staff is very courteus and pleasent,we were provided with two connecting rooms which were spacious and clean.food was really tasty and nice.only thing which was lacking here was a pool.other than that everything is perfect to spend a quiet holiday.worth visiting again

Room Tip: the connecting rooms on the older block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank imran67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Nice hotel, the rooms are clean and modern. It is a nice place to relax and just enjoy the time.
The beach is just infront the hotel, you need to cross the street to get there.

Food in the hotel is ok, they have the traditional Sri Lankan dishes and some western and Chinese options

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pedroadrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weligama hotels
1 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#3 of 14 in Weligama
180 reviews
0.4 mi away
W15
W15
#4 of 14 in Weligama
326 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brizo weligama
Brizo weligama
#11 of 112 in Weligama
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 14 in Weligama
434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Weligama Bay Resort
Weligama Bay Resort
#7 of 14 in Weligama
345 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jagabay Resort
Jagabay Resort
#12 of 14 in Weligama
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Weligama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Weligama

Address: Weligama, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Weligama
Price Range: £26 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Heritage Weligama 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Heritage Weligama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing