We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go across the street”

Catamaran Restaurant, Weligama Beach
Ranked #44 of 60 Restaurants in Weligama
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
maine
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Go across the street”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We stopped in for lunch and were disappointed with food. I ordered pork which simply a mass of gristle and fat - inedible. They got my companion's order wrong twice!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank beckynmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    12
    11
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Москва, Россия
2 reviews
“seafood”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Delightful fresh lobsters, shrimps and other seafood. Nice location on the beach. The service is slow and leaves much to be desired, especially in high season(

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Anywayanyday

Helpful?
Thank Asya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't judge a book by it's cover!!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

A nice beach, great view, Bob Marly music. Everything was fine. Until we ordered food.. The rice was hard (not cooked well), the salade was sloppy and the fish (??), we are still discussing if could call that fish. Iieek!! For the rice I asked french fries instead, I made clear not to pay for the fries. On the bill, 500rps for the fries (ofcourse I didn't agree). For the rest we paid each 1000rps for a plate fish, rice and salade and was the worst food we had thusfar. Just wanted to share this, don't go there for a meal!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just horrible”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

It is just a nighmare restaurant with a lot of lies and very dirty and not controled kitchen, never more... you can find some small restaurants around and eat more tasty

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hendrik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Didn't even get to order”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

After some fun in the surf we dropped in here for some lunch. Was busy, but not full. We sat and waited. And waited. And waited. After 10 minutes (maybe more) one of us went up to get some menus. He ordered some pineapple shakes at that point. And we waited. And waited. And waited. We decided on some food from the rather expensive menu (we considered it a beach tax for the location right on the sand). The shakes finally arrived and we asked to order. We were told that he couldn't take our order then and that he would come back. He didn't. 15 or 20 minutes later, long after we finished our shakes (that were very good on a hot day!) we walked up and paid for them. We weren't asked about wanting to order food. We walked father down the beach (toward the main road into town) and found a nice little roti place also on the beach. Had a good meal there for a better price.

Helpful?
1 Thank mkinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Catamaran Restaurant, Weligama Beach also viewed

 

Been to Catamaran Restaurant, Weligama Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing