We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place we stayed on our whole Sri Lanka trip ”
Review of New Bay View Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Bay View Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The best place we stayed on our whole Sri Lanka trip ”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

This place is epic! The view from all rooms is first class. The ocean is literally lapping against the side of the building. Beautiful clear water that is calmed by a reef allowing swimming on basically your own beach! Food was exceptional with great owner and staff. You can hear the ocean in your room. Rooms are large and have sliding glass doors opening out onto private balcony! Clearly popular as owner extending property but there was no noise to speak of. Owner offered free snorkelling gear and the use of his tuk tuk for just the cost of petrol!Just an amazing place and unbelievable value for money!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank aidasnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    22
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
14
59
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Bay View Villa was our favourite place at the coast. Best value for money, beautiful setting, very good food and nice staff. Stunning views from balcony and restaurant terrace. Even with the one hour rain today we enjoyed the close and remote beach.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Volker S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The mini hotel in the village of Kapparathotta is a very nice place to stay if you love ocean. The hotel has a small beach with corrlas. Also you can go along the rock wall to the left from the beach and climb the rock from which you can see beautiful vistas of open Indian ocean! So marvelous!!!
Every day you can fall asleep and wake up with the sounds of waves! Isn't it wonderful!!!
The breakfasts are good with fruits, juices as well as creative!
The rooms are neat and clean. Hot water in the bathroom.
The owners and localpeople around are very friendly and nice! Suresh does his best to please the clients as well as to help to make their stay as interesting as possible.
I love to stay there!

Room Tip: All rooms are good enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Max Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My friend and I came here after finding this place on a little walk. We loved it so much we checked out of our little guest house to stay for the two days we had left. We loved it so much we couldn't leave and spent an extra day there. The food was fantastic and Aquila the great chef even gave us a free cookery lesson the morning we left so we could make dhal to his amazing recipe. Just chilling out on our porch and watching the sea was exactly what we needed and we couldn't ask for sunsets any more beautiful. Suresh the owner and all the staff there completely looked after us the whole time and we both felt a little sad to be leaving. I really hope this review is enough to encourage anybody to stay here as it really is a Sri Lankan gem that should you be lucky enough to find this place I'm sure will leave with such happy memories.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanoshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Bay View Villa is located in amazing place in Weligama. And Beside the Bay View Villa, there is a little mountain is the sea. And sun rice and sunset is always comes to the restaurant desk and is makes lovely feeling always. And the nature around the hotel touching heart and mind to be in peace is an amazing place and for romance also just great.

And the rooms and service are excellent and the staff who works there very friendly and specially the foods (Fresh seafood) are best and always having fruits and seafood’s.

And tours, meditation and Yoga, scuba diving, whale watching and many of activities and specially Friday night BBQ is just great. And stick fishing.

To have a lovely feeling and holidays for a rest. Bay View Villa is perfect.

Thank

Room Tip: Every rooms are just perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaai1243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weligama
0.5 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Weligama
135 reviews
3.7 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mirissa
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
W15
W15
#3 of 13 in Weligama
226 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#2 of 13 in Weligama
137 reviews
1.9 mi away
Weligama Bay Resort
Weligama Bay Resort
#4 of 13 in Weligama
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Bay View Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Bay View Villa

Property: New Bay View Villa
Address: 251 29a, Bandarawattha, Kapparatota, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Weligama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New Bay View Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely comfort rooms will be your accommodation for your stay in "New Bay view villa". 9 Double rooms ( A/C and Non A/C), Hot water, Comfortable king size beds, All Bedrooms with in side Bathrooms, WiFi Beach and the sun set. Air-port pick and drop up. You will have a homely feeling during your time here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your New Bay View Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing