We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very expensive” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aussie Swiss Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aussie Swiss Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 77 Weligama B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Franceville, Gabon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Really expensive hotel. For the price we paid in aussie swiss hotel, must have a swimming pool, a private beach, free lobsters, free massage and an open bar!
Really expensive hotel. For the price we paid in aussie swiss hotel, must have a swimming pool, a private beach, free lobsters, free massage and an open bar!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kantien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    19
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
41
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

I rarely write bad comments after 4/5 years traveling in Asia 2/3 times a month. As per other comments on Aussi Swiss Beach Resort, if you have a room it seems good...but...

We booked on internet the room through AGODA and paid 100% of the 2 rooms. When we arrived at 2.00PM, the manager told us that he has no more room for us. Then he tried all scams to keep our money!

1/ He was holding the email he received from agoda but at the same time told me that it was my fault because I badly made the booking on AGODA!!! How come if he received the reservation??? In top of that, one week earlier we send them email to ask them for a room for our driver. They answered to us, saying that they well received our booking!
2/ After accepting that they have done over-booking, they proposed us to find for us another hotel that they would pay... They proposed us an hotel 60% cheaper but wanted to keep the difference!
3/ After telling them that we want our money back and will find a room ourself, the manager told us that he can only reimburse 70% of the value...We needed to enter in a strong " fight" to get back our money from those non honnest people.

Their attitude is absolutely non acceptable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alexisscheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussieswiss A, Manager at Aussie Swiss Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hi Alexis
As you know you have booked 2 single rooms and arrived 4 people. After us questioning, you said this has happened by mistake but your driver told us, you have done this with all the hotel you booked and stayed at. The question arrises who is dishonest. You say you travel 4/5 times a year how can such mistake happen in all the hotels you book.
We don't keep money that doesn't belong to us and we also don't fight as the war is now over and we are happy about the nice and peaceful situation.
You also requested and got more money back then you paid to AGODA.
For your future travels we wish you all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

A little cute hotel by the quiet beach. Enormous room with a poster bed, a balcony with a wonderful ocean view. Great sea food under the palm trees (they have the best chef of all food places on this beach - we checked, he really is the best!)
The entire time we were trying to imagine what Fritz is like as a person and more importantly, where is he anyways? It seemed that he disappeared without a trace leaving behind a meticulously built hotel, a golden retriever that understands Swiss German, and a... Fritz Garten.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Misha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gelsenkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

It´s really a nice and quiet place. The food at the resort is also really good. Even that it´s immediately at the beach it could have a pool (sorry, I love pools...) and the deco in the rooms could be more cosy. I recommend the massages.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

The rooms are large, spotlessly clean with large 4 poster beds and mozzie nets. Lovely spacious balcony with views through the palm trees to beautiful Weligama bay. The chef cooked up some delicious seafood. Sonia and her husband run this place so well and have made it both beautiful and hospitable. I highly recommend it. Also the beach is fantastic and well suited for families with small children.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Bridget M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twyford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

The moment you get through their gates it's like another world. The attention to detail is fantastic and I wish I were still there.
This is not your sort of place if you want a lively beach resort although you can get to Mirissa by tuk for about 250-300 lkr. The small hotel fronts a deserted beach and if you walk about 2k along it to Weligama, you may see a few fishermen or the odd cow grazing at the back, but that's about it.
The name is misleading in that it's a truly Sri Lankan experience. Ameeri, the owner isn't a proper Aussie, (lives there in the close season) or I wouldn't have got away with being English and a cricket fan.
The Chef, Karu, is fantastic and will suggest dishes or cook what you ask for. Nothing is too much trouble and the quality of everything was outstanding. From the creamiest scrambled eggs to the Chinese style marinated bream? we appreciated it all. The curry was as good as we've had although I'm still not sure about having it for breakfast as well!
The rooms were great, large, quiet air con and mosquito nets, Lovely balconies and shaded by the coconut palms. No pool but with the sea 50m away, we didn't want one. Well done Ameeri (not sure of spelling) and hope to come back next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abe1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abu dhabi
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We originally intended to stay for one night but loved the hotel and surrounding area so much that we stayed for 4 nights and wished we could of stayed longer. The hotel is in a beautiful location on a quiet beach. The owner and his staff could not of been more friendly. They arranged several trips for us and even a special beach BBQ with a band for one of our friends who was celebrating his birthday. As previously mentioned the cook Karu continues to produce excellent and memorable meals using local fish and produce.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petrina w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weligama hotels
3.0 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.1 mi away
W15
W15
#2 of 12 in Weligama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.1 mi away
We Escape
We Escape
#8 of 12 in Weligama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#3 of 12 in Weligama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Weligama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.0 mi away
Weligama Bay Resort
Weligama Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Weligama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aussie Swiss Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aussie Swiss Beach Resort

Property: Aussie Swiss Beach Resort
Address: 23 Modarawatta | Pelena, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Weligama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aussie Swiss Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owed business and our target is to spoil you and make your holiday as perfect as possible. Can it get any better then this? Our rooms are spacious and have huge king size beds with luxurious mattresses. All are air-conditioned with a big attached bathrooms. The view from your balcony is superb towards the ocean. The restaurant serves tasteful Sri Lankan and western cuisine and will amaze you palate. Any trips you want to plan our manager LAL is more then happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aussie Swiss Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing