We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent experience!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Weligama Bay Resort
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Weligama
Reviewed 15 November 2011

An excellent hotel, good location, excellent service.
Rooms very clean and well decorated.
Small and quiet hotel. Good for rest.
Excellente food.
The employees are very friendly and professional.

Room Tip: All Rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSPinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2011

It's a nice place as a stopover. The hotel is located right at the beach but also right next to the mainroad. We recommand a room in the 1st or 2nd floor. There are also more expensive cottages available but their windows and doors are next to the main walkway to the restaurant so you can't really enjoy your privacy.
The view to the ocean is better on the 1st or 2nd floor.
The location is ok, there is a small town, Weligama in walking distance, Galle a big city is 30min by car and about 3-4 hours from Columbo. Soon the highway will open and cut that time down to 1-2hours.
We stayed there at the end of August and the sea is quite rough at that time. Therefore snorkeling and swimming might be a bit disappointing.
We strongly recommand you to book a licenced tour guide. Our tour guide Pamal was fantastic. He is a young local guy who has a licence for whole Sri Lanka and is usualy booked via the big european travel agencies.
But you can also get in touch with him directly via his website smiletours dot net

Room Tip: 1st or 2nd floor, all rooms have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThePeaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Velice příjemný klidný resort v bezprostřední blízkosti moře. Prostorné pokoje každý den perfektně uklizené s krásnou vyhlídkou na moře. Dostatek velice chutného místního jídla s ochotným personálem. Milá ředitelka resortu po celý den v dosahu a vždy nápomocná řešit jakýkoliv problém, po domluvě možnost i osobního výletu do okolí s námi. Rádi navštívíme tento resort i v budoucnosti.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zdenka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed with my girlfriend at Weligama bay for 8 days. We did book via Expedia and no problem as usual.

The main and for us the only negative thing is location. Not much around, beach which you can hardly swim on...but who cares? You want to try different beaches anyway and if everything is as cheap as in Sri Lanka, who cares for a small travel?

On arrival, we were upgraded to a villa instead of a room - it was explained that because the pool is not fully 100% (we could not swim in it for a day) and that they just opened after reconstruction. But as we are Czech and hotel is owned and run by Czech people, that might helped.
The villas are very nice, clean, spacious, internet connection available...nice play to stay. The staff are very helpful and very very nice - but we are not too demanding, we just want a nice place to stay, calm relax and some smiles around us...which we had although for few days there was small reconstruction going on. Never bothered us. We had the comfort of being almost alone at the hotel except 2 nights as it was off season and hotel just opened after reconstruction, as mentioned.

The food is quite nice, the breakfast was just OK but maybe the selection was not so huge as we were the only people to cook for...and the Czech manager who we joined often for a dinner or drink. But in general, dinners we tried were all nice and I could die for the Kasawa chips they make.

Other than this, hotel was willing to organize what they could although some special services might had been an issue. However, no problem for tuk-tuk or a car, also the trips offered are for good price without heavy charges....we went for trips with very good local guy, so can compare.

So - I would recommend the hotel for people looking for calm nice and small place o stay. If you want to be spoiled with a lot of service, look for some big resort. But if you are looking for cool relaxing place, you don`t care all that much for services as you are independent anyway and want some hidden place, this is where you should be.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flipmode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed here for a week on the final part of a multi trip. We needed to wind down and relax after visiting Malaysia and Borneo. The resort itself is quite a distance from the Airport in Colombo so expect a 5-6 hour journey on the busy coast road. This is the same for most of the hotels in Sri Lanka, in as much as the main tourism on the island is on the south west coast. There is a train however, but somehow this takes just as long as the Taxi to the south west coast and has limited travel times. I am told it offers excellent views and is cheap to travel though. A good option if you are travelling by day and a fraction of the taxi costs.

Taxis from the airport charge a small fortune (Up to £100) for the journey to a south western coast hotels so instead look out for the small mini buses that charge a fraction of the price (£5-£10 + £5 per suitcase) and are often more comfortable and have air conditioning. Avoid the aggressive airport taxi bookers that are available and instead ask someone for the mini bus service. They look like mini square vans, but with windows! As with booking an expensive taxi - expect to share!

The hotel itself I would describe as 'different' to most 5* hotels. Not through deception by any means, but through the wide and misunderstood range of rules that denote what '5*' really means. The sooner the hotel industry sets a wider scope of requirements and with proper and understandable benchmarks for what is 5* is, the sooner people will know what to expect and what is lacking from a hotel. .

I agree and yes I have 'travelled' and stayed 5* and that this hotel is nowhere near the 5 Star standards of other hotels worldwide, but then people must understand that this is Sri Lanka. Anyone travelling outside the resort will see the poverty and difficulties in getting the usual needs of a 5* Resort.

Anyone who has stayed in the 5* Maldives will tell you how difficult it is to obtain decent fresh vegetables (all flown in) or reasonably priced meals that don't taste like they have just been taken out of a freezer! (Fish not included obviously!). The same applies to Sri Lanka. Outside of Colombo there are no major chain hotels with the infrastructure to provide the 'usual' 5*qualities, so anyone expecting Zen infused corporate chain opulence are going to feel let down.

Ok rant over about the Travel industry and back to the Hotel!

The hotel is different, it is well...boutique as the saying goes. There are not a lot of rooms so the lack of corporate chain is made up by personal service. The atmosphere is relaxed, yet well presented. Expect tranquillity with the odd sacred cow wondering onto the resort from the beach! The quirkiness of this place adds to the character.

I would say the restaurant food is limited and a let down for its '5*' status, and that the pool could be cleaner (Especially the defunct hot tub!). I am quite sure there are other resorts that will offer a little more luxury and facilities, but then you can bet they will charge double the cost of this hotel for the privilege. This is value for money considering, the other options available in Sri Lanka.

The rooms are spacious, clean and well presented. The bathrooms are similar to wet rooms and the balcony are also large and sea facing. Furniture in the room is dark wood and toiletries etc. are good quality products.

The beach is excellent and you are in walking distance of the nearest town - Welligama. There are bigger towns nearby like Galle that offer some western amenities but in general we found Welligama had what we needed beach snacks, toiletries etc.

Transport is hit and miss as this is all done mainly by private Tuk-Tuk. There is a guy on the door who is known to the Hotel and is willing to take you anywhere, but in general he will charge 2, 3 even 4 times more than if you flag a Tuk-Tuk from the street. Feel free to ignore him and flag a Tuk-Tuk. Expect to haggle and stand your ground with pricing. If the Tuk-Tuk driver says no, a minute later another Tuk -Tuk will come along that will say yes. Expect to pay on average £1 per mile - NO MORE.

Eating out is probably better than staying in the hotel. Visit Mirissa Beach by Tuk- Tuk on an evening where there are beach restaurants selling authentic fish curries and a relaxing beer. Again do not expect fine dinning, but it is at least run by westerners who know western palettes!.

Places to visit nearby are the Temples, Turtle Sanctuary and Nature Reserves. We did the Temples near Matara, where the largest statue of Budda is and the Turtle Sanctuary. If you walk the street to the Temple the local children come out and say hello and treat you like your some famous movie star! Take sweets to hand out to the children and don't be afraid to say hello back! Watch the priests at the Temple though, they have a fee for Locals and a fee for Tourists when it comes to giving 'donations'. They do not come across as being as pious as you may think, so give what you feel is the right amount!

Blue Whale watching is also recommended. especially before the Japanese chop them all out of existence! Its a once in a lifetime opportunity, though expect to get up early. The hotel will happily provide pack lunch if you tell them you will be missing breakfast. Again haggle the price for this trip with the locals as the prices vary from the equivalent of £20 to £80 each at the hotel. We booked ours through a local Tuk-Tuk driver who we could trust for around £20 each.

Other transport (and a real experience) is the municipal bus service. This costs next to nothing to get around (30p) and are useful for Matara or Galle. If you want to be the centre of attention with the locals, but not intimidated, feel free to use it. The rule is stick your hand out and jump on as quickly as possible. The buses are all in competition with each other so the thinking is, the faster they get to each stop the more passengers they are likely to get. Hence as some people have wrote previously ''there is a lot of traffic noise and bus horns!''

Welligama is the nearest town and as I have said is in walking distance. The best route is via the beach, but as you will find from day one of your arrival to the beach, you will be constantly hassled by touts for tours. Some are ok and feel free to chat to them, but some are persistent. You can politely say no and in most cases they will not press you further. They are however a good source for local information so use them to your advantage - Like knowing where to buy alcohol! Unlike India, Sri Lanka's main religion is 'Theravada Buddhism' and alcohol is frowned upon. You cannot buy alcohol in supermarkets or shops, so look for the 'wine outlet' in Welligama which resembles some 1930 'speak easy' with wire mesh counter! Look shady and ask for as many bottles of the brown stuff that they have while looking around for the local tut tutters...just like the locals do!

In all I liked Sri Lanka, it is unspoilt by major tourism and a refreshing change from places such as Goa that are slowly becoming more western. Sri Lanka has a feel about it that is old world colonialism and to be honest I don't want it spoiled by the Corporate Hotel Chains despite my addiction to them! To be honest this hotel offers as much as you need in 5* luxury, but do not expect full on 5* treatment and facilities, be more open minded. This is an excellent hotel and well worth the value considering the limited number to choose from and the prices on offer.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Subsonic7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

As a repeat guest at this resort, I remembered the service being wonderful and the garden bungalows absolutely gorgeous, but I also recalled the food being very basic. So, when we came down south for a short break with the family, I checked trip advisor to see recent comments regarding the latest developments and saw that someone had written how great the food was....oh dear, how misleading was that comment!?!

We spent 3 lovely days at the resort, but the food was just not on par with any of the other hotels in this category. The staff were amazing and even the chefs came out smiling and were always asking how everything was and made sure we had extra portions, but it was the actual menu that was really sub-standard. The local Lankan food was really tasty, but unfortunately limited to Rice and Curry, String Hoppers and Lamprais. The Western food was edible but just not nice. For example, pasta with cheese was literally pasta and cheese, and potato provencial was simply over cooked potatoes in a tin of chopped tomatoes. To top it off, the prices for food items was extortionate. I do wonder if the menu is purposely not spicy to suit European tastes, but even then, we all appreciate some sort of herbs with our cuisine! There are ways of cooking yummy food without adding chillies after all!

Don't get me wrong, I really love the Weligama Bay Resort for the awesome staff and fantastic value for money in terms of great family-sized accommodation, but I truly hope that the next time we visit we'll be presented with a better array of food. I think the kitchen staff should stick to what they know best, (doing the Lankan food and lots of it), and preferably get some better recipes for the Western stuff that they make!

Room Tip: Garden bungalow is excellent especially for families with young kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GSTColombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Very comfortable hotel with great restaurant and spacious rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weligama
0.4 mi away
Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 14 in Weligama
405 reviews
0.2 mi away
W15
W15
#4 of 14 in Weligama
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#9 of 14 in Weligama
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
We Escape
We Escape
#5 of 14 in Weligama
62 reviews
23.7 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weligama Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weligama Bay Resort

Address: 254 Matara Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Weligama
#4 Luxury Hotel in Weligama
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Weligama
Price Range: £81 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Weligama Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weligama Bay Resort is 4**** property with 24 rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Weligama Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weligama Bay Hotel Weligama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing