We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Near the beach and the waves” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Weligama Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Weligama Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Weligama
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Near the beach and the waves”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

A good place to surf and have diner near the beach; The rooms are very nice and the staff at the lobby very friendly. a good restaurant with all types of food and just near the beach. A nice small swimming pool.
Just nearby, they build a Marriotts, so it can be noisy and we hope it wont affect this hotel. you can rent surf and boards, but the material is not in a good shape.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    79
    34
    22
    11
See reviews for
91
125
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

We spent 4 nights there. The villa was perfect and the bathroom was huge. I would add that the reception and swimming pool staff were really kind. In the restaurant, sometimes you have to double check your bills. Nevertheless, I found the price for value really high for an hotel just closed to main road with quite a lot of traffic and the construction of the new hotel bring a lot of noise during the whole day. If you have to pay 250 $/ night in such kind of hotel, you would like to spend your time in a place where you could rest. Location was excellent and you have a beautiful beach in front of your hotel. Wifi worked only in the restaurant and at the reception. The restaurant was good but you don't have a large choice as in others and the asked 50 $ per person for the new year's dinner which was a robbery for rice and curry and some kind of fish and some shrimps. At a lower price you can eat rock lobster and a sea-food platter in a lot of restaurants not far from the hotel.

Room Tip: Chalet are excellent but quite expensive. You can find hotels in Mirissa for a better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XAVE2614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katerina P, Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear client,
thank you for your review about our property on Tripadvisor and thank you for your visit in our property.
Just a few words regarding your complaint towards the NYE menu - our hotel provided this year large variety of buffet incl. all kind of salads, soups, meat, fish, hot buffet, desserts corner etc., no rice and curry has been provided into the menu, so far I can remember, you have not participate our NYE evening incl. DJ s program and midnight firework. All our clients has been very happy and enjoyed the evening and food and drinks with us. The rate of 50 USD includes all facilities taken during the evening incl. welcome drink - champagne.
The construction close to our property is the Srilanka Government activity to improve the Srilankan Tourism, conc. they are building Marriott Hotel which our hotel has nothing to do with.
Hope this explain all your comments.
Thank you and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

Stayed at Weligama bay Resort for 5 nights at the beginning of our Sri Lanka holiday. Weligama is still untouched in many ways and this suits us fine. Great Beach for beginner and more experienced surfers as there are sand bottom all along the beach. The staff has been helpful in every way, even though the cook could do better. They have an arrangement with a regular tuk tuk driver who even acted as a guide with reasonable good english when we created our own tour including the tea plantation, Galle Fort and the sea turtle hatchery. All together a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sevilhaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

We spent 5 nights here after our tour of the island and stayed in a Garden Villa. The room was massive with loads of storage space and had a large bathroom with a semi-outdoor shower which I loved! The bed was comfortable and each day was scattered in fresh flower petals.

The staff were fabulous and absolutely nothing was too much trouble - even bringing a dish of prepared aloe to soothe our sunburn (self-inflicted by sitting in the pool drinking beer for far too long!). The pool was one of the biggest we had experienced on our tour and would have been perfect for laps had we brought our goggles with us.

The hotel was excellently placed for whale watching from Mirissa, the town of Weligama just 5 minutes away by tuc tuc and the train station not far away for trips to Galle.

As the hotel was full to capacity for 4 of the 5 days, breakfast was a buffet and was very extensive with western food and some sri lankan goodies too - loved the banana cake. Even on our last morning, breakfast was a la carte and we had a choice of three or four different breakfasts to choose from.

Others have complained that the food was expensive. Yes, you can eat much cheaper in Sri Lanka but to have a great ocean view with good ambience, extensive selection of food and no plastic tablecloths, we found the price of the food very reasonable.

The beach is beautiful but the sea off Weligama is best for surfing or learning to surf, although it was very calm at times for swimming. There are little coves nearby or more sheltered areas of beach which are perfect for swimming.

Yes, there is a hotel being built next door and we did experience some disturbance from it but Katerina and her staff (and Dasha the Hotel Dog) were so wonderful that we were able to forgive this noise.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clhtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

Just returned from my 2-week vacation spent in this hotel. It was a great time and I am so glad we chose this place to stay. Before we went I read something about the construction going on just next door and was a bit worried, but it turned out to be OK - the noises never disturbed us, and the site is actually to the side of the hotel so it does not spoil the view by any means.
The hotel stands right on the ocean, so you can have breakfast enjoying the magnificent view and sea breaze. We were staying in a villa which was just perfect - huge bathroom with a hot water shower and a bathtube, nice clean room with lots of space, two separate wardrobes which we liked so much as we are two girls with lots of clothing :) The big advantage is that Wi-Fi internet is available all over the hotel territory - in the room, at the pool, at the restaurant, everywhere - so we could share the sea view with our frinds on Skype :)
The staff was so friendly, everybody welcoming you all the time! Special thanks to Katerina who was so helpful with just everything. We also enjoyed some massage spa treatments which were just amazing, you'd stay relaxed for another couple of days and at such a good price. Don't miss this opportunity. I will defenitely recommed this place to anyone for premium-class service and great ocean location. Would love to come again some time!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dina U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

We have enjoyed a beautiful stay in Weligama Bay resort during 1st Nov to 14 th Nov 2012 and it was the best time we ever had!
The hotel location is perfect: right on the beautiful beach of Weligama with Weligama village only 5 min drive.
The rooms are clean and spacious, A/C and the cozy atmosphere of the place make you feel safe and right at home! The staff is super friendly and nice and the spa center has one of the best massages ever.
The place is perfect to travel with your partner or with kids!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkaAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanka
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is a nice and cosy place with newly built chalets. The room rates are high, and the food is good but i guess not worth the price. We could not enjoy a buffet as all meals were set menu s. Meals are tasty, but lack variety.
The people are friendly.
The pool was a small one.The Hotel does not boast of a large garden as it is built in a small plot of land,but the beach is isolated and next to the hotel is the sunday fish market with all the boats lined up.
The flower vase inside room had mosquito s breeding.Nobody has bothered to clean up or change the water.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Himantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weligama
2.3 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.2 mi away
W15
W15
#3 of 12 in Weligama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Weligama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#2 of 12 in Weligama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
2.9 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 9 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
14.0 mi away
Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weligama Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weligama Bay Resort

Property: Weligama Bay Resort
Address: Matara Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Weligama
#3 Luxury Hotel in Weligama
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Weligama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Weligama Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weligama Bay Resort is 4**** property with 24 rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Weligama Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weligama Bay Hotel Weligama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing