We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average rooms, noisy & overpriced” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Weligama Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Weligama Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Weligama
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average rooms, noisy & overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

For the $250 dollars paid per night I was highly disappointed for more than one reason:
First the noise, the construction site next door meant having to wake up to noise of machines.
There were 2 dead cockroaches in the room!
Breakfast was good but i was disappointed to see that they charged me extra for the coffee! Small detail but certainly leaves a bad impression.
I didn't appreciated having to explain to the front desk staff that I was a guest at the hotel every time I walked in from the outside!

The good things:
The rooms were tastefully decorated and the bathroom was good.
The property is big, has a swimming pool and is water front.

Over rated and over priced; look elsewhere if you don't want to be waken up to the noise of construction.

Room Tip: Wait until 2015 when the construction next door is finished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fajer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katerina P, Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear customer,
thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor and your stay in our property.
Unfortunately the construction close to our hotel has nothing to do with our property, as already explained, it is Srilankan Government activity to improve the future Tourism potential in our area, as per official information they will open in 2013. Working hours every day from 8.00 am until 17.30 pm.
Srilanka is a tropical country, where you find insects, we are every day applying to the rooms anti-mosquito spray and tablets to avoid any problems.
Thank you and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    79
    34
    22
    11
See reviews for
91
125
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Expensive, bad quality of food, unceremonious attitude from staff and manager. Service is awfull. We were robbed by staff when we slept after airplane. Manager is angry woman, which accused us , that we allow to stay our friends for evening drink in hotel restaurant. Also she imagined, that we allow to our friends to stay for the night. She is totally crazy! Sandy fly are everywere and bite very painfully and no one told us about it. You can't sit on the sand, because you will have 10-15 bites, which very itchy a week!! But for good, its near surf spot, very nice for surfing if you are begginer.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dmitry_Osmerkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katerina P, Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear customer,
thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and your stay in our property.
Regarding your comments, let me explain you following:
- you have informed our staff you lost 300 USD, which you did not put to the hotel safe, I have talked to you personally, asked my staff and offered you to call local police to solve the problem, which you did not agreed with and you did not wanted to solve this case.
Regarding your friends stay here in our property, as we are small property, we are looking after every client to avoid problems. After you informed us about the money robbery from your room and after I have seen your friends every day coming to your room and using all facilities, I have been kindly asking not to allow the people to enter your room, only in public area to prevent such a situation, again you did not agree with me and you were trying to argue with me.
Srilanka is a tropical country with a lot of insects, which for the European people is unfortunately unacceptable, but is it only nature.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

Poor first impressions. 2 mins prior to arriving we had seen 2 'superior' rooms were available online but decided to book at reception when we arrived. However the staff tried to convince us only the most expensive rooms were available. The wifi was so poor that we could not even go online to show them the price we had seen!! The wifi was very poor throughout our stay. After much perseverance they agreed to the rate we had seen online......providing us with a room at a 'discounted' rate with no fan, directly beside a construction sight!rooms were nice, dinner at the resturant was very nice, breakfast was very very poor. I can't review the spa as I booked a massage but the therapist went home before my appointment. I would not recommend this hotel, poor value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skippy921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

A good place to surf and have diner near the beach; The rooms are very nice and the staff at the lobby very friendly. a good restaurant with all types of food and just near the beach. A nice small swimming pool.
Just nearby, they build a Marriotts, so it can be noisy and we hope it wont affect this hotel. you can rent surf and boards, but the material is not in a good shape.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

We spent 4 nights there. The villa was perfect and the bathroom was huge. I would add that the reception and swimming pool staff were really kind. In the restaurant, sometimes you have to double check your bills. Nevertheless, I found the price for value really high for an hotel just closed to main road with quite a lot of traffic and the construction of the new hotel bring a lot of noise during the whole day. If you have to pay 250 $/ night in such kind of hotel, you would like to spend your time in a place where you could rest. Location was excellent and you have a beautiful beach in front of your hotel. Wifi worked only in the restaurant and at the reception. The restaurant was good but you don't have a large choice as in others and the asked 50 $ per person for the new year's dinner which was a robbery for rice and curry and some kind of fish and some shrimps. At a lower price you can eat rock lobster and a sea-food platter in a lot of restaurants not far from the hotel.

Room Tip: Chalet are excellent but quite expensive. You can find hotels in Mirissa for a better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XAVE2614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katerina P, Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear client,
thank you for your review about our property on Tripadvisor and thank you for your visit in our property.
Just a few words regarding your complaint towards the NYE menu - our hotel provided this year large variety of buffet incl. all kind of salads, soups, meat, fish, hot buffet, desserts corner etc., no rice and curry has been provided into the menu, so far I can remember, you have not participate our NYE evening incl. DJ s program and midnight firework. All our clients has been very happy and enjoyed the evening and food and drinks with us. The rate of 50 USD includes all facilities taken during the evening incl. welcome drink - champagne.
The construction close to our property is the Srilanka Government activity to improve the Srilankan Tourism, conc. they are building Marriott Hotel which our hotel has nothing to do with.
Hope this explain all your comments.
Thank you and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

Stayed at Weligama bay Resort for 5 nights at the beginning of our Sri Lanka holiday. Weligama is still untouched in many ways and this suits us fine. Great Beach for beginner and more experienced surfers as there are sand bottom all along the beach. The staff has been helpful in every way, even though the cook could do better. They have an arrangement with a regular tuk tuk driver who even acted as a guide with reasonable good english when we created our own tour including the tea plantation, Galle Fort and the sea turtle hatchery. All together a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sevilhaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

We spent 5 nights here after our tour of the island and stayed in a Garden Villa. The room was massive with loads of storage space and had a large bathroom with a semi-outdoor shower which I loved! The bed was comfortable and each day was scattered in fresh flower petals.

The staff were fabulous and absolutely nothing was too much trouble - even bringing a dish of prepared aloe to soothe our sunburn (self-inflicted by sitting in the pool drinking beer for far too long!). The pool was one of the biggest we had experienced on our tour and would have been perfect for laps had we brought our goggles with us.

The hotel was excellently placed for whale watching from Mirissa, the town of Weligama just 5 minutes away by tuc tuc and the train station not far away for trips to Galle.

As the hotel was full to capacity for 4 of the 5 days, breakfast was a buffet and was very extensive with western food and some sri lankan goodies too - loved the banana cake. Even on our last morning, breakfast was a la carte and we had a choice of three or four different breakfasts to choose from.

Others have complained that the food was expensive. Yes, you can eat much cheaper in Sri Lanka but to have a great ocean view with good ambience, extensive selection of food and no plastic tablecloths, we found the price of the food very reasonable.

The beach is beautiful but the sea off Weligama is best for surfing or learning to surf, although it was very calm at times for swimming. There are little coves nearby or more sheltered areas of beach which are perfect for swimming.

Yes, there is a hotel being built next door and we did experience some disturbance from it but Katerina and her staff (and Dasha the Hotel Dog) were so wonderful that we were able to forgive this noise.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clhtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weligama
2.3 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.2 mi away
W15
W15
#3 of 12 in Weligama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Weligama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#2 of 12 in Weligama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
2.9 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 9 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
14.0 mi away
Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weligama Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weligama Bay Resort

Property: Weligama Bay Resort
Address: Matara Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Weligama
#3 Luxury Hotel in Weligama
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Weligama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Weligama Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weligama Bay Resort is 4**** property with 24 rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Weligama Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weligama Bay Hotel Weligama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing