We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning. Clean. Spacious.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Weligama Bay Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Weligama
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning. Clean. Spacious.”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Very polite and well-mannered staff show us to our rooms. A double upgrade to the family suite as it was our honeymoon was a pleasant surprise. Stunning rooms with ample sq footage. A beautiful view of the Bay of Bengal. Clean, well-maintained rooms. Quick responses to reception calls. Lovely food options. Didnt get an opportunity to test the spa but if the rest of the experience was anything to go by, that would've been a great experience too. Two thumbs up for honeymooners. Try the Snorkelling and Diving option recommended by the hotel. It made our trip all the more memorable.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea-facing from what I saw, except the villas. Different Wi-fi hotspots make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    85
    34
    22
    13
See reviews for
94
129
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
shang hai,china
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Generally,it's a nice hotel,large room,nice garden and good service, we even found a turtle on the beach! :))) we booked the family suit on booking,but it's so different with the info on the web,it's said the family suit has two double beds and out door shower,even tell it's a villa! but it's actually a Appartement! it's seems like the suit with a living room,they just put two beds in one room,it's so disappointed us.becouse we have two family,so we need separate space, the manager told us they can give us the other two rooms,but when we back after dinner,they told us they could‘t give us...my friend negotiate with the manager again,they give us two room at last,but it's around 10 already,waste lots of
time.....hope the staff correct the info immediately!

Room Tip: the villa close to the beach & the swimming poor, but the appartment has the nice sea viewing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Stayed at this Hotel for a duration of 2 nights in January 2013. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a Villa, however having stayed there I would suggest that the price was too high in comparison to the quality of the accommodation, especially when you consider alternative places across the area.

The villa was fairly nice except for some dust and stained areas on the walls, possibly due to dampness during rainfall. The bathroom facilities were located to the side of the room in an almost outhouse, the shower cubicle had an open roof covered with a net; however this did not stop a lizard falling into the shower (!)

The Spa was not quite what was envisioned; it consisted of 2 rooms with a range of massages and not much else, although the rice massage was nice.

With regards to the food, I did not think much of the range of dishes and the food itself was not great. The curries were rather watery and I experienced better and more flavoursome dishes elsewhere. The pasta was also dry and the breakfasts consisted of overcooked eggs with the meat looking questionable. I would suggest asking for the chef to make you an omelette as these were tasty and fresh.

A good point about the hotel was the fact that it opens up onto a beach and also that there is a security guard patrolling this boundary at all times, it makes you feel reassured.

In terms of the location it is quite isolated and there is not much around, you have to travel some distance to find nice restaurants and places to see. It appeared to be more of a surfer's hotel and the beach itself was full of people undertaking this activity with not much else going on.

In terms of service, the staff did not really know what was going on most of the time and it appeared that the manager was the individual to speak to in order to obtain straightforward answers as to anything.

The Wifi also failed to work in the villa area and was only accessible at the restaurant and lobby areas. On a very wet night when trying to find things to do for the next day it was inconvenient to have to leave the room in order to use the internet.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabiKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We stayed in the hotel for almost 2 weeks and I must say that we had excellent time! It was not our first visit to Sri Lanka but contrary to our first visit 8 years ago this time we came with our 2 years old son so we required higher standards than in the past. The hotel rooms are spacious and very luxury, especially the bathroom. The room service was also excellent, respecting times when our son was sleeping in the room so they understood to be quiet around. I do not understand complaints to the restaurant’s kitchen in some reviews as I am convinced that the food is EXCELLENT! Also the staff was always so nice to prepare also off the menu dishes for our son… The construction was not loud during our stay and it didn’t bother us at all. We also tried surfing several times and it was great. The whole place was perfect for our son as the pool has also kid’s small pool too. The beach is practically deserted which is nice. I definitely recommend this place, the quality is very high. After our stay in Weligama we travelled around the island and when I compare this resort to other sites claiming similar level, Weligama Bay definitely beats them all. I am definitely planning to come back! Thank you for our wonderful holiday!!! Also few tips: definitely try the aloe vera massage - aloe vera grows in the resort so they use it fresh!

Room Tip: We stayed in the hotel building, not in the villa - the terrace is amazing - with the view of the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michala P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

For the $250 dollars paid per night I was highly disappointed for more than one reason:
First the noise, the construction site next door meant having to wake up to noise of machines.
There were 2 dead cockroaches in the room!
Breakfast was good but i was disappointed to see that they charged me extra for the coffee! Small detail but certainly leaves a bad impression.
I didn't appreciated having to explain to the front desk staff that I was a guest at the hotel every time I walked in from the outside!

The good things:
The rooms were tastefully decorated and the bathroom was good.
The property is big, has a swimming pool and is water front.

Over rated and over priced; look elsewhere if you don't want to be waken up to the noise of construction.

Room Tip: Wait until 2015 when the construction next door is finished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fajer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katerina P, Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear customer,
thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor and your stay in our property.
Unfortunately the construction close to our hotel has nothing to do with our property, as already explained, it is Srilankan Government activity to improve the future Tourism potential in our area, as per official information they will open in 2013. Working hours every day from 8.00 am until 17.30 pm.
Srilanka is a tropical country, where you find insects, we are every day applying to the rooms anti-mosquito spray and tablets to avoid any problems.
Thank you and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Expensive, bad quality of food, unceremonious attitude from staff and manager. Service is awfull. We were robbed by staff when we slept after airplane. Manager is angry woman, which accused us , that we allow to stay our friends for evening drink in hotel restaurant. Also she imagined, that we allow to our friends to stay for the night. She is totally crazy! Sandy fly are everywere and bite very painfully and no one told us about it. You can't sit on the sand, because you will have 10-15 bites, which very itchy a week!! But for good, its near surf spot, very nice for surfing if you are begginer.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dmitry_Osmerkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katerina P, Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear customer,
thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and your stay in our property.
Regarding your comments, let me explain you following:
- you have informed our staff you lost 300 USD, which you did not put to the hotel safe, I have talked to you personally, asked my staff and offered you to call local police to solve the problem, which you did not agreed with and you did not wanted to solve this case.
Regarding your friends stay here in our property, as we are small property, we are looking after every client to avoid problems. After you informed us about the money robbery from your room and after I have seen your friends every day coming to your room and using all facilities, I have been kindly asking not to allow the people to enter your room, only in public area to prevent such a situation, again you did not agree with me and you were trying to argue with me.
Srilanka is a tropical country with a lot of insects, which for the European people is unfortunately unacceptable, but is it only nature.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

Poor first impressions. 2 mins prior to arriving we had seen 2 'superior' rooms were available online but decided to book at reception when we arrived. However the staff tried to convince us only the most expensive rooms were available. The wifi was so poor that we could not even go online to show them the price we had seen!! The wifi was very poor throughout our stay. After much perseverance they agreed to the rate we had seen online......providing us with a room at a 'discounted' rate with no fan, directly beside a construction sight!rooms were nice, dinner at the resturant was very nice, breakfast was very very poor. I can't review the spa as I booked a massage but the therapist went home before my appointment. I would not recommend this hotel, poor value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skippy921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weligama
2.3 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
W15
W15
#3 of 13 in Weligama
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
We Escape
We Escape
#6 of 13 in Weligama
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Weligama
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#2 of 13 in Weligama
137 reviews
2.9 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mirissa
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weligama Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weligama Bay Resort

Property: Weligama Bay Resort
Address: Matara Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Weligama
#3 Luxury Hotel in Weligama
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Weligama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Weligama Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weligama Bay Resort is 4**** property with 24 rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Weligama Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weligama Bay Hotel Weligama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing