We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Weligama Bay Resort
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Weligama
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Great location, lovely beach with volleyball court and good waves for surfing. The buildings are in nice style with wooden floors, air conditioning and really comfortable beds. There is medium size swimming pool and restaurant where they serve amazing fish, steaks and salads. You can also borrow surf from the resort, free of charge. The staff is kind and helpful. Ideal for families with children!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatejC899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2013

This is an excellent place - clean and friendly with great food and a nice beach-side bar.
We went there in February 20013.
The only negative was the large number of day-visitors using the pool.
There is building site next door but, as we out most of the day whale- watching, we hardly noticed it.
We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Villa rooms are very peaceful - room service do an evening anti-mosquito service as standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugh-Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We didn't stay here but had dinner one night and it was the best dinner on our whole trip! Staff were so friendly and nice, restaurant had nice candles on the tables and it was really clean and super relaxing atmosphere. We ordered the seafood platter and it was amazing. Also got the fruit platter for desert which was super good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Our first choice (Number One Marissa) was full for our first two nights so we stayed in Welligama Bay Resort instead. Aesthetically, it was a functional place, although the interior of our garden villa was fantastic and the bathroom superb. The beach, however, was beautifully desterted and excellent for novice surfers.

The major disappointment was the food - it was poor at best. Further, there is an eight storey hotel under construction right next to it (something which our tour operator failed to mention).

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madzuko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Very polite and well-mannered staff show us to our rooms. A double upgrade to the family suite as it was our honeymoon was a pleasant surprise. Stunning rooms with ample sq footage. A beautiful view of the Bay of Bengal. Clean, well-maintained rooms. Quick responses to reception calls. Lovely food options. Didnt get an opportunity to test the spa but if the rest of the experience was anything to go by, that would've been a great experience too. Two thumbs up for honeymooners. Try the Snorkelling and Diving option recommended by the hotel. It made our trip all the more memorable.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea-facing from what I saw, except the villas. Different Wi-fi hotspots make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CasLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Generally,it's a nice hotel,large room,nice garden and good service, we even found a turtle on the beach! :))) we booked the family suit on booking,but it's so different with the info on the web,it's said the family suit has two double beds and out door shower,even tell it's a villa! but it's actually a Appartement! it's seems like the suit with a living room,they just put two beds in one room,it's so disappointed us.becouse we have two family,so we need separate space, the manager told us they can give us the other two rooms,but when we back after dinner,they told us they could‘t give us...my friend negotiate with the manager again,they give us two room at last,but it's around 10 already,waste lots of
time.....hope the staff correct the info immediately!

Room Tip: the villa close to the beach & the swimming poor, but the appartment has the nice sea viewing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Stayed at this Hotel for a duration of 2 nights in January 2013. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a Villa, however having stayed there I would suggest that the price was too high in comparison to the quality of the accommodation, especially when you consider alternative places across the area.

The villa was fairly nice except for some dust and stained areas on the walls, possibly due to dampness during rainfall. The bathroom facilities were located to the side of the room in an almost outhouse, the shower cubicle had an open roof covered with a net; however this did not stop a lizard falling into the shower (!)

The Spa was not quite what was envisioned; it consisted of 2 rooms with a range of massages and not much else, although the rice massage was nice.

With regards to the food, I did not think much of the range of dishes and the food itself was not great. The curries were rather watery and I experienced better and more flavoursome dishes elsewhere. The pasta was also dry and the breakfasts consisted of overcooked eggs with the meat looking questionable. I would suggest asking for the chef to make you an omelette as these were tasty and fresh.

A good point about the hotel was the fact that it opens up onto a beach and also that there is a security guard patrolling this boundary at all times, it makes you feel reassured.

In terms of the location it is quite isolated and there is not much around, you have to travel some distance to find nice restaurants and places to see. It appeared to be more of a surfer's hotel and the beach itself was full of people undertaking this activity with not much else going on.

In terms of service, the staff did not really know what was going on most of the time and it appeared that the manager was the individual to speak to in order to obtain straightforward answers as to anything.

The Wifi also failed to work in the villa area and was only accessible at the restaurant and lobby areas. On a very wet night when trying to find things to do for the next day it was inconvenient to have to leave the room in order to use the internet.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKD-London1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weligama hotels
0.4 mi away
Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#2 of 14 in Weligama
421 reviews
0.2 mi away
W15
W15
#4 of 14 in Weligama
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
We Escape
We Escape
#5 of 14 in Weligama
69 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#3 of 14 in Weligama
166 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#8 of 14 in Weligama
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weligama Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weligama Bay Resort

Address: 254 Matara Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Weligama
#4 Luxury Hotel in Weligama
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Weligama
Price Range: £88 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Weligama Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weligama Bay Resort is 4**** property with 24 rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Weligama Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weligama Bay Hotel Weligama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing