We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Weligama Bay Resort
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Weligama
Reviewed 28 April 2014

In need of a relaxing few days in Sri Lanka this hotel met our requirements. It is in a great location on the bay and the rooms have lovely views out to sea. The Marriot construction next door is very large, but over the 4 days we stayed no work was happening on the site and it did not affect our stay in any way.

The room was to a very good standard, clean and relaxing to stay in with a lovely large bathroom.
We found the staff helpful and accommodating.

There is a nice pool, which did get busy at times and you are seconds away from the beach. You can use the body boards for free but don't hire the surf boards from them as you can get them cheaper 5 minutes down the beach.

We ate several times in the hotel. The service could be slow when they were busy and the food was of average quality compared to other meals we had in Sri Lanka but we definitely enjoyed their Arrack cocktail.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had booked a 3 night stay at this hotel. Finding no vegetarian options for breakfast on 2 day also, we politely asked for a vegetarian omelette. Also asked for basic cutlery that was missing and did not get it even after repeated reminders and after waiting for 10-15 minutes. Soured by this, we decided to opt out of breakfast and complained to the kitchen staff. Instead of listening to our complaint, the kitchen staff shouted at us, told us to 'shut our mouth' and said 'this is Sri Lanka not India and we don't serve Indian food'. Someone please tell me since when did vegetarian omelette become an Indian dish?

We met some wonderful people in Sri Lanka but this place was a big mistake. Running a hotel must be a business operation mindful of customers' preferences whether they are Europeans, Americans or Indians.

My being Indian should not have anything to do with my expectation for basic service that i have paid for. Never before have i been shouted at and pointed a finger / glared at by hotel staff for complaining about bad service. Or the hotel must issue an advisory that they do not entertain Indian guests. We would never have wasted our money.

Management did nothing to arbitrate and assuage the matter. We checked out a day early and had to find another option. We were told the online travel agent will reimburse our day's room rent but now the online agent has also refused saying the hotel declined to pay. It has just been a very bad experience.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Kbpooja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katerina P, Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear client,
I have to react on your comment which is absolutely not corresponding with the reality, what exactly happen. Many time you mention in your review, I am Indian, because we are Indian etc.
We keep all clients the same way even if they are from India or from Europe, America etc....
The only problem you had, you have asked our staff in Srilanka to provide full Indian breakfast, which we do not serve, because we are in Srilanka and we serve only local food and continental buffet breakfast, where you can find a large variety of vegetarian items /as you mention you are vegetarian, but you have asked for egg omelette?/
This has been explained to you from our staff, but you did not respect it and wanted just create a problem.
In front of all the clients - you have always pointed "only white people here and preferred" /many time used expression!!!/
After talking to me and screaming to the phone, "only white people here", you did not let me to investigate and find the problem, you just wanted immediate action against everybody because YOU ARE INDIAN and everywhere only WHITE SKIN PEOPLE, which we prefer...
Working long time in hotel business, I have learned, client is mostly right and we have to respect it, I am sorry, but in your case I have to say, not always is client right and has no right to judge for non reason as we are all human.
You have spend here 2 full nights and used all services and pre-paid non-refundable rate, There was no reason to refund the money back to you as you agreed this online conditions and had 25% discount on full rate.
Hope you will understand my point
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Super clean rooms, very tasty food in restaurant, nice staff, family swimming pool with the ocean view, hotel just few meters from surfer waves, palm tree garden and local pet Dasha:)) overall really comfortable, refreshing, family hotel in Sri Lanka. Thank you, very glad we could experinced that.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bubli l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This is definitely one of the most comfortable and well situated hotels in the Weligama Bay area. We have eaten in it on numerous occasions. It is relatively expensive, but you get what you pay for. The Sri Lankan rice and curry dishes are excellent and other foods equally tasty. The grounds are very pleasant as is the swimming pool. Service is friendly and professional. There may be a wait for food but this is a good sign for us - it is being freshly prepared. The hotel is situated right on the beach in Weligama. It is such a great pity that the monstrosity of a Mariot Hotel (which is our opinion ruins the bay because of its height), is being constructed right next door to the Weligama Bay Report. This has destroyed the beautiful views of the sea from several of the hotel's windows. Apart from this, it is a very good hotel with good food and service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We spend 6 lovely days at welligama Bay resort after New Year.
Everything was really nice and I think tha it is the most comfortable hotel in the area.
The food is very nice and not expensive even though the hotel is quite pricy during high season.
But the contruction of the hotrrible Mariot Hotel is a problem in this paradise

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CgrGDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We've spent there a beautiful time in the garden villa which is spacious and very simply but nicely accommodated. The restaurant offers nice variety of food that is really tasty. The staff is very friendly as at most places in Sri Lanka. We simply like it here :-)
Only one bad thing is that there is a construction work of a huge hotel right next to this cozy place. I just don't understand how the officials could possibly agree with that but it's just the reality. On the other hand it's true that it didn't bother us that much.
Anyway worth of a stay here.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in Weligama Bay Resort. The hotel is located directly by the sea and even has a nice pool arena. Our room was spacious, nicely furnished & clean. The stuff was very friendly all the time, but what we really really enjoyed most of all? The excellent food!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krista_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weligama hotels
0.4 mi away
Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#2 of 14 in Weligama
421 reviews
0.2 mi away
W15
W15
#4 of 14 in Weligama
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
We Escape
We Escape
#5 of 14 in Weligama
69 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#3 of 14 in Weligama
166 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#8 of 14 in Weligama
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weligama Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weligama Bay Resort

Address: 254 Matara Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Weligama
#4 Luxury Hotel in Weligama
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Weligama
Price Range: £88 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Weligama Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weligama Bay Resort is 4**** property with 24 rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Weligama Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weligama Bay Hotel Weligama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing