We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Weligama Bay Resort
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Weligama
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Amazing Garden villa, great services and nice beach with a lot of waves. We had a great time and I have to recommened this hotel especially because of the great manager that runs it. Will come back for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetrKalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2010

We spent 8 days at Weligama Bay Resort. The journey to the hotel takes a bit longer but you can be sure that it´s worth for it. Moreover there´s still something interesting to see from a car window. And when you reach the hotel you can simply say, well I am home.
All rooms are big enough and have a direct view to the garden and ocean. Rooms are simply but well equipped and the interiors colors are very comfortable. I liked flowers decoration on our bed which the room staff arranged every day.
There is a pool in the garden, next to the beach restaurant and just few steps from the white sandy beach. The beach is one of the nicest I´ve ever seen. It´s wide with a slow entry into the water so that it´s also good for children. The high of waves depends on an actual weather.
I am not fan of Asian cuisine but what the two chiefs cooked for us was simply delicious. Their fried noodles with curry or Sri Lankan´s original rice and curry ..hmm. Afternoon coffee with cake and papaya fresh juice for my girlfriend..sweet dot.
You can visit some interesting places which aren´t far from the hotel. So that you can rent the most widespread local vehical called tuk-tuk. You can visit tea plantation with small factory; the spicy garden which is located next to the lake with small islands; turtle farm where you can set free small turtles (for fee USD 10) or you can watch the dolphins and whales. My recommendation - take high sun protection along!
The hotel facilities include a SPA. I experienced three procedures and was more than satisfied. And the prices were reasonable.
All the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful especially ladies at reception and waiters. I guess that all staff tried doing their best to satisfy us.
I am very choosy person but this hotel filled my expectations for 100% and I will definitely return.
There is only one thing that may disappoint you. And it is when you have to leave home.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moravak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We spent one week in February in the Weligama Bay Resort and we have to say that it is the best hotel in this location. The hotel looks still very new after several years since its opening. Cleanliness of the whole hotel is very good. Rooms are very nice and very spacious and all of them are facing the ocean. European management of this hotel is doing very good job and you can see it in lots of details. You can order local cuisine but also several ,,European ,, meals  in the Cutty Sark Restaurant that is located just next to the beach. Everybody from the staff is very friendly and always with a big smile. There is a great spa with wide choice of massages. Although the hotel is quite far from Colombo airport, this place is worth it. If you drive through this location you should stop at this hotel at least to enjoy the best cup of coffee which is served on this island.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Novaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

We spent 4 nights in the Weligama Bay Resort in January and were really happy with our stay there. We had a villa and the rooms were lovely and very clean and modern.
Service was fantastic, whenever we needed something they reacted very quickly and were happy to help us out with any questions we had. If anything they were a little too attentive as the cleaners were quick to clean the rooms, even if we were still there.

We had the breakfast buffet every morning and dinner in the hotel one night. Although the buffets weren't as extensive as other hotels we stayed in, the food was still very good, and the cocktails were lovely!

I can't really talk about value for money as it was part of a package arranged with our driver, so overall for us it was, however looking at the rack rates the rooms are quite expensive, though I imagine that you can bargain them down, and agents will get better rates than you can get direct.

Overall I'd definitely recommend the Bay Resort!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liv968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

We were traveling with 2 years old baby and this place is just perfect. The hotel looks like it is bright new and is designed in a tasteful modern way but keeping the Sri Lankan traditions. We stayed in one of the bungalows next to the pool hearing the ocean right outside of our terrace. We felt very welcomed and the personal were able to fulfill all our special needs that we and mostly the baby need. Specially we'd like to point out the hotel's kitchen that offered great seafood /grilled fish in a banana leave/ as well as the local Sri Lankan specialites /Curry with prawns/. The stuff in the restaurant were flexible and very relaxed although one might think that sometime there was no hurry to get your bill. Nice and slow. The atmosphere of the evening dinners especially was all that you dreamed of on an exotic vacation. But what we enjoyed the most was a glass of wine in the night pool listening to the ocean and knowing that the baby was sleeping silently few steps away.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MineapolisLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

We stayed 1 night in this resort for New Years Eve. We stayed in the hotel section not the bungalows. The rooms were quite nice with balconies with great views. Comfortable bed and bedding. Nice pool and beach was okay. No explanation upon arrival as to what the hotel offered nor was there anything in the room regarding info on the hotel or what to do in the surrounding area.
We did not feel the service was up to the standard of the hotel. Breakfast buffet was disappointing to say the least, we had better buffets at $50/night establishments. New Year Eve Dinner Buffet was also disappointing, food was totally overcooked and some foods not edible. Service for food was extremely slow even for a sandwich we waited 45 mins.
Overall paying $260 for 1 night at this hotel was far more than it was worth. If you can get a much lower price than we did then maybe its worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fleur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights at short notice and what a find! Only recently opened, it has to be one of the best locations on the south coast. We had a Garden suite which was beautifully fitted out and extremely spacious. The garden led onto the magnificent Weligama Bay, great for walking and full of interest-fishermen, surfers etc. The swimming here was excellent.. The food was very good and as with many hotels in Sri Lanka the chef would prepare what you wanted and when you wanted it within reason. For a change try the lovely hotel Neptune restaurant next door. Our only concern would be where they would locate all the sun loungers if they were busy.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weligama
0.4 mi away
Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 14 in Weligama
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
W15
W15
#4 of 14 in Weligama
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#8 of 14 in Weligama
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
We Escape
We Escape
#5 of 14 in Weligama
62 reviews
23.7 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weligama Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weligama Bay Resort

Address: 254 Matara Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Weligama
#4 Luxury Hotel in Weligama
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Weligama
Price Range: £82 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Weligama Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weligama Bay Resort is 4**** property with 24 rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Weligama Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weligama Bay Hotel Weligama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing