We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cooking Lesson!”
Review of Meewitha

Meewitha
Ranked #3 of 107 Restaurants in Weligama
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sri Lankan
Description: Really home made foods. Vegetarian currys, fish currys, chicken currys, prawn currys, cuttle fish currys, milk currys, hot spycy currys, medium spycy currys, No spycy currys (pure coconut milk and true spices with preparing). Noodles, fried rice, kottu, Soup, devilled, fried potatoes, Fresh seafoods, fresh fruit juices, Hot pancakes, Western and traditional breakfast, Dessert and hot beverages. Vegan options and Gluten free optins.
Restaurant details
Description: Really home made foods. Vegetarian currys, fish currys, chicken currys, prawn currys, cuttle fish currys, milk currys, hot spycy currys, medium spycy currys, No spycy currys (pure coconut milk and true spices with preparing). Noodles, fried rice, kottu, Soup, devilled, fried potatoes, Fresh seafoods, fresh fruit juices, Hot pancakes, Western and traditional breakfast, Dessert and hot beverages. Vegan options and Gluten free optins.
Reviewed 14 November 2018

Traveling as a German couple, we took a 2 hour cooking lesson in the kitchen of this small restaurant, taught by the couple who runs the restaurant. They taught us how to prepare traditional Sri Lankan curry dishes including chicken, dal, coconut sambal and my personal favorite: coconut roti.

The food was truly amazing and also we really did learn how to prepare it ourselves so we can now recreate that delicious food back at home. Both our hosts took their time to explain everything to us in detail, let us take pictures and answered all our questions. The price was very reasonable - you have to consider that you not only get a great meal (plus a lot of leftovers to take home with you) but also take up 2 hours of their time.

So we owe a great thank you to our hosts/teachers for this experience! We can 100% recommend both eating and learning to cook at this place!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DombuTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2018 via mobile

I was here several times because the food was just incredibly awesome.
I had a prawns plate and can only highly recommended it.
Zdenek from Prague

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank zdenek3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

One of the best curries I have had. Tasty, full of flavours, nicely presented and a great balance of colour and textures.
Well worth a visit.
Couple of points:
1. Tables are few, diners are many. Get there early and/or be prepared to wait or share a table.
2. Food is prepared to order so expect to wait especially if you arrive after a group. Don’t fret - chill, talk to your partner (it’s what people did before smartphones and does not need wifi or a recharge) or if you are solo join a table and make a friend or 2.
3. Soft drinks only but you can BYO if you really want a beer or whatever.
4. GO EAT THERE!

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank MJKSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

We came here for dinner after reading so many good reviews and we were not dissapointed! We ordered rice and curry, kottu and some fruit juices. The food was amazing and flavours were just perfect. Service was fast and very friendly and kind. I felt that we were taking care of. The food was so good that we ordered also breakfast for the next morning (you should pre-order it and they make it for you the time you want).

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank ida_eveliina88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chamreggae, Owner at Meewitha, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2018

Hi eveliinak,
Thank you so much for the great review and hope to see you again.
Thank you
Best regards.
#Meewitha crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2018 via mobile

Such an amazing place! Food is super delicious and the portions are so huge! The owner is a very nice guy - he always smiles and happy to see you! I've visited this place 3 times already and definitely will come again! If it's important for someone - they also have gluten free options and options for kids. So, don't hesitate and give it a try!

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Lada2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Meewitha also viewed

 

Been to Meewitha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing