We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience with well educated experts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Leopard Trails Camp Yala Sri Lanka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This is a long over due report, but I promised myself I would write this as we had the most amazing time here.
It was part of our honeymoon in Sri Lanka and we had chosen to do one night at the campsite - in hind site I would recommend 2 nights if possible. After being collected from the meeting point, we were excited to see our campsite and were not disappointed. The tents are really comfortable, clean, well equipped, have outdoor showers and flushing toilets, perfect!! We went out on a dusk and a dawn Safari and were optimistic as to what we would see - this brings me to the most important part of our review, our guide/ leader Aaron. Aaron was awesome, I believe if it wasn't for his knowledge, expertise and patience, we would not have seen half the animals & birds that we did. Over the 2 trips out, we saw 3 leopards, this is something we will never ever forgot and felt so lucky.
Because of our safari experience, we were so happy to have chosen Leopard Trails, especially after seeing some of the other jeeps in the park and the way they drive. Our guys were safe and definitely more experienced. Food was really tasty, plentiful & service was great! They even arranged a special evening meal for us under the stars as a honeymoon treat, so thoughtful and yet again, further enhanced our experience. We even heard the elephants moving around at nighttime, so exciting!
These guys are definitely the best, it's clear to see and we would highly recommended this experience, well worth the treat!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeopardTrails1, Manager at Leopard Trails Camp Yala Sri Lanka, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your feedback is very important to us and we take your comments very seriously in order to improve the experience we provide at Leopard Trails. Once again thank you for trusting us again with your safari tours in Sri Lanka.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed and felt comfortable in our spacious tents with flush toilets and alfresco showers. Thank you for commenting on a two night stay. Time and time again like you mentioned guests have had a better experience staying for two nights.

We also understand that the quality of guiding immensely enhances the experience of any safari and we are happy that Arran was able to exceed your expectations in this aspect of your experience. Thank you for mentioning our guides conduct in the park we take this very seriously at Leopard Trails. We are pleased you enjoyed the food.

It was a great pleasure hosting you at camp and we look forward to welcoming you at Leopard Trails in the future, maybe at our new camp in Wilpattu National Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

314 - 320 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

I very rarely give a 5 Star rating to any establishment. But credit is due Where cred it is due...
Every element of the leopard trail experience was top notch. From the food to Arrans guiding made it a truly special stay for us at leopard trails

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AroshEdiriweera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeopardTrails1, Manager at Leopard Trails Camp Yala Sri Lanka, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your feedback is very important to us and we take your comments very seriously in order to improve the experience we provide at Leopard Trails. Once again thank you for trusting us again with your safari tours in Sri Lanka.

We are glad that Arran’s enthusiasm and knowledge in wildlife brought upon a better experience on your safaris and at camp.

It was a great pleasure hosting you at camp and we look forward to welcoming you at Leopard Trails in the future, maybe at our new camp in Wilpattu National Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Had an excellent stay here in July, even though it was just for 02 nights. The food was fantastic and very well prepared, really enjoyed the campfire at night.The staff were very welcoming, their guides who I met at camp were very knowledgeable and the safari jeeps used were very comfortable and extremely good for viewing the widlife. Had 3 safaris into Yala and got sightings of 03 Leopard, a herd of elephants, birds and an excellent Sloth Bear sighting which was the highlight. Would love to come back to Leopard Trails.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay at least 02 nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank RiazCader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeopardTrails1, Manager at Leopard Trails Camp Yala Sri Lanka, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your feedback is very important to us and we take your comments very seriously in order to improve the experience we provide at Leopard Trails. Once again thank you for trusting us again with your safari tours in Sri Lanka.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed and felt comfortable in our spacious tents with flush toilets and alfresco showers. Thank you for commenting on a two night stay. Time and time again like you mentioned guests have had a better experience staying for two nights.

We also understand that the quality of guiding immensely enhances the experience of any safari and we are happy that Arran was able to exceed your expectations in this aspect of your experience. Thank you for mentioning our guides conduct in the park we take this very seriously at Leopard Trails. We are pleased you enjoyed the food.

It was a great pleasure hosting you at camp and we look forward to welcoming you at Leopard Trails in the future, maybe at our new camp in Wilpattu National Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Went for a couple of days and LT was most definitely the highlight of our holiday. The tents were clean, secure and well-equipped. The beds were comfortable and the general ambience seemed luxurious whist maintaining a natural feel - the outdoor showers especially! The food was excellent, the mini ‘pol rotti’ with jaggery spread was a particular favourite (everyone should try this), the staff were incredibly attentive, and the camp fire with open bar was an added bonus. The safaris were well timed and the guide (Jerome) was an expert in his field - he spent time explaining a lot about the other animals and plants in the park without focussing on a leopard-chase (which many guides in the area tend to do) – we were of course duly rewarded with two leopard sightings (including one at close quarters). Unforgettable experience, we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Preveen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Such and Amazing Experience! Rangers Arran & Jerome definitely make the whole experience unforgettable and fun! The staff was lovely and the property beautiful! Definite must for anyone visiting Sri Lanka! LOVED IT!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nushani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I really enjoyed my stay with leopard trails. The guiding was great and over the course of our 4 safari's we saw all of the animals that we were hoping to see. The food was good and some of the meals were very authentic.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JWN7478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We were promised leopards and that' s what we got-10! Plus great rides in the park, birds bears, elephant deer, crocs and even a visit to the beach. A real camp atmosphere. The very dry conditions were ideal for finding leopard but the area did not " look at its best" as most waterholes were dry. Great guides, great drivers who mainly managed to avoid the crowds, good food and plentiful alcohol gathered round the camp fire at night. Great fun!
There is inevitably quite a drive to get into the park as no-one can stay inside the park now. Plus of course the early morning starts, so get over your jet jag first!

Room Tip: All tented
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank jane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yala National Park hotels
9.9 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
1,652 reviews
1.3 mi away
Yala Safari Camping
Yala Safari Camping
#4 of 47 in Yala National Park
156 reviews
9.3 mi away
Uga Chena Huts
Uga Chena Huts
#3 of 47 in Yala National Park
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Wild Trails - Yala
Wild Trails - Yala
#11 of 47 in Yala National Park
82 reviews
1.1 mi away
Big Game Camp
Big Game Camp
#1 of 7 in Katagamuwa
252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kulu Safaris Sri Lanka
Kulu Safaris Sri Lanka
#6 of 47 in Yala National Park
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopard Trails Camp Yala Sri Lanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopard Trails Camp Yala Sri Lanka

Address: Yala National Park | Yala, Yala National Park, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Yala National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Yala National Park
Price Range: £475 - £530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leopard Trails bespoke tented safaris redefine the original tented safari with convenient modern-day amenities, all the while staying true to the romantic ambiance of a by-gone British colonial era filled with adventure. Tented Safaris is the most authentic form of safari, a true immersion into the sights and sounds of the wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Leopard Trails Camp Yala Sri Lanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing