We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kulu Safaris Sri Lanka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Excellent! Kulu Safaris Yala is by far one of the greatest camping experiences one could have. With a lovely scenery and setting plus amazing staff, I could easily say it was one of my best trips to the region. From the moment you arrive, you know you are going to have a great time as you are welcomed so warmly by the staff. The management helps you plan out any safaris or trips you want to do in the area without you having to worry about a thing. The safari is so wonderful, the trackers make sure you do not miss seeing a single thing. You also get to enjoy crackers and cheese along with fruit juice in the middle of the jungle, which I thought was a nice touch. The location is so peaceful and quiet, where the only noises your hear are peacocks and other animals. The tents are state of the art to ensure you are completely comfortable. Every meal is divine, always served with a variety of dishes and freshly grown fruits. I highly recommend Kulu Safaris for any and every adventurous nature lover out there!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KuluSafaris, Manager at Kulu Safaris Sri Lanka, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Kimberly,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.

It was a pleasure to host you at camp and I'm glad that you enjoyed our services. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you plan to experience Kulu Safaris once again.

Wish you all the very best!

Management - Kulu Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had a wonderful time at Kulu Safaris recently, and the staff including Ramini our host and naturalist made sure we did not lack for anything. Food and drink, service, the family tent, the wildlife, the park's tracker, Yala NP in itself despite the severe drought and obviously (too) high visitor numbers

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelteamlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KuluSafaris, Manager at Kulu Safaris Sri Lanka, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at Kulu Safaris.

Please do contact us anytime should you plan to visit Sri Lanka in the future, will be more than happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you once again.

Best Wishes!

Management - Kulu Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

In July we were a group of seven people mixed in age from 25 to nearly 60 who stayed at Kulu Safaris for one night. Now, one month later, it stands out as the absolute highlight from our three weeks in Sri Lanka.

Although we only had one night, we had plenty of time to make two safari trips. With no time pressure, we could stop and shoot photos as we were stunned by every new corner of the road. Our guide could not be better. His knowledge, storyteller skills and excellent mood were a pleasure to experience.

The campsite was very nice, with surprisingly comfortable accomodation in the middle of the jungle :) We were all truly astonished by the food they managed to cook for us and how they made every meal special.

This is the first time I've written a review on Tripadvisor, only because I want to contribute for Kulu Safaris as well as I want Yala National Park to be maintained what it is today; a pearl of nature where people can watch beautiful animals in their elements without threatening them.The guys at Kulu Safaris have my full trust in their work for the park and the animals!

Erlend
Norway

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ErlendGj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KuluSafaris, Manager at Kulu Safaris Sri Lanka, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Erlend,

Many thanks for this detailed review, really means so much to us.

Although your stay was for one night, we are glad that you were able to fully experience the beauty of the park and the services at camp.

Please contact us anytime should you plan to visit Sri Lanka. We would be glad to welcome you once again.

Wish you all the very best!

Management - Kulu Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a wonderful time at Kulu Safaris recently, and the staff including Ramini our host and naturalist made sure we did not lack for anything. Food and drink, service, the family tent, the wildlife, the park's tracker, Yala NP in itself despite the severe drought and obviously (too) high visitor numbers, the whole package was great - also for our 8 and 10 old daughters. We have been on several safaris so know what to expect (seasonal climate differences resulting in more vs less sightings, buffer zone locations, other jeeps racing to sightings, and other things that are outside the staff's control). We saw several leopards, which made this a unique experience. We were somewhat unpleasantly surprised that our jeep driver literally raced back to the park gates at dusk on our final game drive. After two flat tires on one day he must have wanted to make up for lost time and/or get to the gate before closing, but he ended up scaring both animals and guests. Not safe and not needed, either. All in all our (high) expectations were met.

Room Tip: The family tent is great if you have children under 12, otherwise go with separate tents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CJV236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KuluSafaris, Manager at Kulu Safaris Sri Lanka, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Claartje,

Many thanks for your review. It was really a pleasure to host you at camp and I'm pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with at Kulu Safaris.

I'm sorry that you had to experience two flat tires in one day and that our driver had to rush back to the gates before dusk. We have spoken to our team and has taken necessary steps to evade such situations.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Best Wishes!

Management - Kulu Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We spent 2 nights at Kulu Safari camp in Yala and had an amazing time. Couldn't have asked for better service, the food was phenomenal and Kulu's own safari jeeps were comfortable, quiet and well equipped! The fluid operations were complimented by the warm hospitality which made our two night stay very special.

What we loved:

- The attention to detail by the the camp staff, their warm demeanour, the "can-do" attitude for any request, promptness of service. We also appreciated how our tent was spotless and was tidied up while we were away on safari. Punctuality was a pleasant surprise - when we wanted coffee at 4.30AM before the morning round, coffee was served at 4.30 SHARP! (punctuality is a rare commodity in Sri Lanka).
- Loved the refreshing "post-safari-beverage" we were greeted with every time we returned to camp. Very thoughtful and hit the spot!
- The tents were large, immaculately clean, the beds were comfy. Particularly loved there there was ample space to spread out camera equipment as well as luggage
- Bathrooms also spacious, water pressure was awesome and well ventilated
- Comfy camp-chairs on each deck made for great lounging.
- Food was great, both in terms of taste (pork curry was so good we requested an encore the next day!) as well as selection - the meal plan was well thought out, so the menu included both eastern and western dishes. I personally hate waiting too long to be served between main course - dessert - tea/coffee, and the staff picked up on this from the first meal and were prompt with ensuing courses - Impressive!
- Kulu's jeeps (modified land cruisers) were great. Allowed for 360 degrees of views and photography, probably the most comfortable jeeps I have explored Yala in, and the drivers were patient and obliging. Refreshingly drove AWAY from the notorious Yala traffic jams - conduct inside the park seems to be one of Kulu's core values. Yet we had some great sightings. I also loved how refreshments were chilled, and everything from cooler boxes to cups to bottles were extremely ergonomic.
- GREEN!!! Much of the camp operations were run predominantly off solar and there was absolutely NO PLASTIC used. Water and beverages were in re-usable bottles, we charged our phones and camera batteries off solar powered power outlets. And enough power for the freezer to churn out some amazing mango ice cream :)
- Linen was soft and clean, towels were great, bath mats were never allowed to get soggy, the tents were lockable (although we never did)

Improvements: could include a way to communicate with kitchen staff from the tent (walkie-talkies could prove expensive?), but nothing that a short stroll to the centre of camp couldn't solve. Besides that, there wasn't a whole lot to complain about, so we loved our two night stay.

Room Tip: The North side of camp as a bit more denser foliage to it and more shade so tents might be a bit coo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shehan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KuluSafaris, Manager at Kulu Safaris Sri Lanka, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Shehan,

Thank you very much for this detailed review. It was an absolute pleasure to host you at camp.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please contact us anytime in the future, We would love to welcome you once again.

Management - Kulu Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I really enjoyed my two day Yala National Park safari with Kulu Safaris. The staff were so hospitable and so friendly. Even better you have the benefit of a naturalist who travels with you and who explains and names all the wildlife for you. The tents are very roomy and comfy and provide for all your needs. The food was lovely and I so enjoyed being met with a gin and tonic at the end of each evening safari. It would have been particularly lovely if the 'tank'/lake had been full of water as the view from the campsite would have been great, however its the dry season and rain has been very scarce. For me this did not diminish the experience at all. I was lucky to see close at hand, elephants, leopards, sloth bears, mongooses, langar monkeys, many many birds and spotted deer. What a treat. I felt my needs were very well met. This is a team that try very hard to please and I'm very appreciative of their efforts. Im very glad I went to Yala and very pleased I picked Kulu.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KuluSafaris, Manager at Kulu Safaris Sri Lanka, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Louise,

Thank you for the overwhelming feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your two nights at Kulu Safaris and that our team members were able to make your stay a memorable one.

Yala National park has an amazing diversity of animals and it's great that your were able to experience it.

Please do contact us should you plan to visit Sri Lanka in the future, will be more than happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you once again.

Thank you once again.

Management - Kulu Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We recently visited Sri Lanka, and had pre-booked 3 nights staying with Kulu Safaris in Yala National Park.

The Accommodation was great, huge tents with wooden decking, and really comfy chairs. The tent had ample plugs for charging batteries but the view was disappointing - overlooking a field of cows. The service was a bit slow, and the beer and wine quite warm - we asked them to put it in the freezer and this did improve slightly.

Manjou (our guide) and the driver and staff were all very friendly, and did there utmost to try and find us a leopard.

We were in camp with another couple for 2 nights and 3 game drives - and I felt that the guides wanted them to see everything and rushed through the park at quite a speed - not what I expected, as at that speed you are missing things that may be lurking in the bushes.

After the other couple left - things did improve considerably , and although they still drove quite quickly, they had now come to realise we were avid photographers and so stopped more often at various bird sightings. I do understand it must be difficult to try and please all your clients - as some may not want to stop and take lots of photos - (luckily the other couple were great and didn't mind us taking our time when the opportunity arose).

Obviously we wanted to see Leopard - as that is what Yala is known for - our first leopard was in the distance, and got up and walked away, but we were lucky as there was only one other vehicle! Our second sighting was of a leopard up a tree - miles (it felt) away - but the road was blocked with vehicles trying to get a glimpse - not a pleasant experience.

On our final game drive we were very fortunate that Manjou spotted a pair of mating leopards playing - and not a vehicle in sight - heaven! We sat and watched them for about 5 minutes before they disappeared into the bushes.

My one small disappointment was with the facilities - this is a permanent camp and you would think there would be a bar area, for when you wanted a drink, but unfortunately whenever you wanted a drink you had to find someone to ask - although they did bring the drink to your tent.

Manjou our guide was extremely friendly and he did do his best to make sure I could see whatever animal we came across by moving out of his seat so I could see to take photo's. He even provided sand bags for us.

Each day we picked up a park tracker - what a waste of time!!! Why do they have to do that? He did nothing and just sat there. (Is this a ruling that you have to have a national park tracker?) I don't think he spotted anything that we hadn't seen already, or that Manjou had already spotted. (This is not a reflection on Kulu Safaris - as I think they have to have one). I was told there are good and bad trackers and that it has been known for some to fall asleep!!!!

The food was good and the Egg Hoppers were delicious! They do feed you well, and it made you feel guilty when you left so much.

All in all a good experience, but a little more TLC in camp would enhance the experience.

Would I go again ........ Yes!

Room Tip: Ask for a tent at the front of camp - as there is a lovely breeze which is a godsend in the heat of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paula f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KuluSafaris, Manager at Kulu Safaris Sri Lanka, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Paula,

Many thank for the constructive and detailed review. Kulu Safaris aspire to meet all our clients expectations and give each client a special unique experience.

We do agree that Yala National Park is under great demand. However, our campsite being located on the Katagamuwa side of the park has given our clients the advantage of enjoying the park with the least amount of crowds. Kulu vehicles are comfortably designed to drive off the beaten track ensuring the safety of our clients. Our naturalists try to avoid traffic and congestion within the park whenever possible. I’m sorry that you had to experience the crowd during one of your safaris.

Our campsite is located close to a beautiful lake which during the rainy season is resplendent. During the dry season the lakes water level and lush vegetation reduces. The cattle you saw are owned by the surrounding villagers and they do tend to come for the water and scrub forest.

Due to the rules and regulations of the Wildlife Department we are required to have a tracker on every safari.

We are glad that overall you enjoyed your experience with Kulu Safaris. We have taken onboard the shortfalls of service you have highlighted and have addressed this with the staff concerned. Thank you for all the advice and recommending Kulu Safaris.

We look forward to welcoming you once again!

Management – Kulu Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yala National Park
9.8 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
1,652 reviews
9.6 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
368 reviews
1 mi away
Yala Safari Camping
Yala Safari Camping
#4 of 47 in Yala National Park
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Laya Safari
Laya Safari
#5 of 47 in Yala National Park
437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leopard Trails Camp Yala Sri Lanka
Leopard Trails Camp Yala Sri Lan...
#2 of 47 in Yala National Park
460 reviews
0 mi away
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala
#9 of 47 in Yala National Park
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kulu Safaris Sri Lanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kulu Safaris Sri Lanka

Address: Yala National Park, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Yala National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Yala National Park
Price Range: £584 - £967 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kulu Safaris - The Pioneers for mobile tented camping safaris.Deep in the jungle away from the hum drum of everyday life is the opportunity for man and nature to reconnect – the way it used to be. This opportunity has been made possible by Kulu Safaris Sri Lanka.In Sri Lanka Kulu Safaris redefined the concept of camping in the National Parks with mobile tents which allow you to immerse yourself in the wild with all the comforts that modern civilization can give you.As you go on sightings of elephants, leopards, bears and birds along with your own professional naturalist you can rest assured that you will have delicious cooking, a comfortable tent and even hot and cold showers when you get back to camp.Our mobile camping experience combines five star luxuries with natures wildest. Our spacious tents come fully equipped with hot and cold water showers, toilets and a huge bed to relax in. Cosy lounge chairs at the entrance to your tent provide you with the space to unwind and relax to the sounds of the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kulu Safaris Sri Lanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kulu Safari Company Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing