We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little lodging with amazing view”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rock View Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalawana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rock View Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Kalawana B&B and Inns
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely little lodging with amazing view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Little nice motel, comfortable beds, breathtaking view from the terrace to the valley with tea plantations. Perfect to stay overnight. We asked for the blankets and extra sheets just because I needed to have something heavier to cover my body, and it turned out that they did not have blankets at all. They gave us couple of extra sheets instead and appared to be enough :)

Room Tip: They have only 3 rooms, they all have the same view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    15
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
dalwood
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

This Motel has absolutely amazing views, we had booked two rooms and I'm sorry to say they were both pretty dirty, the windows were filthy, there was a least a months worth of cobwebs under the bed and shelves. We had to ask for sheets, then they were reluctant to give us two even then they didn't look that clean, nor did the pillows. The bathroom towels were black, always suspect. Having made our own beds up and checked the rest out we decided not to stay the night and moved on.

Room Tip: Go for the view but don't stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kalawana hotels

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We (and 3 children aged 16, 13 and 9) stayed here for 2 nights, using it as a base for visiting Sinharaja. It is in an excellent location for this as it is a short drive to the main entrance. We found it to be very clean, with comfy beds and this place had the fluffiest towels we experienced in our whole stay in Sri Lanka (not the be all and end all I know, but very nice all the same)! The main building itself is quite echoey, though this wasn't a problem as everyone was in bed early. The staff were very helpful, and we managed to communicate our requests for meals etc using a mix of English, pointing and sign language, as English is not particularly well spoken here, but everything is done with a smile and it was fine. The food was lovely - rice and curry was delicious and we had coconut rotti for breakfast which were the best we had in our whole trip. The views and scenery out of our bedrooms and from the balconies were amazing - watching the varied wildlife and sun sets, from here was wonderful. There were no mosquito nets, but we didn't see any mozzies, though there were plenty of other insects in the rooms which whilst weren't the biting sort, certainly caused the kids a bit of a nuisance and I think they would have liked a mosquito net to avoid them in the night. There is a little shop just by the entrance to the motel, if you want to purchase small snacks and other items. We also enjoyed walking along the road, as it was not busy and was a pleasant way to take a stroll before dinner, and there was plenty of wildlife to spot like chameleons, snakes and birdlife. We also had some lovely conversations with people we chanced upon while walking along. All in all, a great place to stay for Sinharaja.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snooks_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Rock View Motel is not easy to find. It's not on major tourist routes nor major bus routes (tho a local bus passes the front door). However, it's an excellent base for visits to Sinharaja Forest Reserve.
The hotel/guest house is closest to Kalawana town and about 15 minutes from the main entrance to Sinharaja. It's located high on a slope in the tea country surrounding the rainforest reserve. The views from the room balconies are superb and to spend the evenings watching the daylight slip away and the lights of each small farm house appear, scattered on the slopes and valley, was one of the major pleasures of my visit to Sri Lanka.
The guest house itself is small (about 8 rooms) and facilities are basic, but decidedly adequate (clean bed linen, good sized rooms and private balconies). Hot water is included and welcome in the mornings, as the nights are cool enough (YAY - !) to enjoy. You can sleep with the balcony doors open, as there were no mosquitoes the whole 3 days and nights I was there.
Food is not gourmet and not elaborate - in other contexts it would be described as 'good, home cooking'. However, this simple food was a highlight as nearly all the ingredients are locally sourced and the freshness of the ginger, cardamon, gotu kola, coconut, tea and other spices and tastes lifted the meals into 'excellent'. The staff are more than willing to please and meals may be taken whenever is convenient (tho the request may need to be made by hand signals as English is a foreign language to most of the staff - all of whom are locals).
Finally, the tariff was very attractive and decidedly value for money.
Rock View is a gem

Room Tip: Choose one of the 4 upper level rooms for the best views from the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Davidrorippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalawana
4.9 mi away
Boulder Garden Hotel
Boulder Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kalawana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sinharaja Birder's Lodge
Sinharaja Birder's Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kalawana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
8.1 mi away
Sinharaja Rain Forest View Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Sinharaja Rest
Sinharaja Rest
#4 of 11 in Deniyaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sinharaja Adventure Resort
12.7 mi away
The Rainforest Ecolodge
The Rainforest Ecolodge
#1 of 11 in Deniyaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock View Motel

Property: Rock View Motel
Address: Rakwana Rd | Weddagala, Kalawana 70450, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Sabaragamuwa Province > Kalawana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kalawana
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Rock View Motel Sri Lanka/Kalawana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing